Spot the mantis!

Reader Mark Sturtevant sent us another stumper:

I found several praying mantises this summer, and one of them is here somewhere. This was taken when I had released it after taking a number of close up pictures. Can the readers of WEIT find it? Happy hunting!

I’ll post the answer at 11 a.m. Chicago time. If you spot it, please refrain from giving the location in the comments below, though feel free to pat yourself on the back! Note, though, that it is PRAYING mantis, not PREYING mantis; this is a mistake that is common. They do prey, but they look as if they’re praying.



  1. rickflick
    Posted September 18, 2016 at 7:50 am | Permalink

    I was preying it would be fairly easy and it was. Pat pat pat.

  2. somer
    Posted September 18, 2016 at 8:03 am | Permalink

    You’ve got better eyesight than me – found it after a Lot of searching

  3. Mark Sturtevant
    Posted September 18, 2016 at 8:22 am | Permalink

    Did I do that?? Holy crap.

  4. GBJames
    Posted September 18, 2016 at 9:05 am | Permalink

    I found it! But, damn, this one was hard.

  5. frednotfaith2
    Posted September 18, 2016 at 9:13 am | Permalink

    Too well hidden for my poor eyes.

    • Mark Sturtevant
      Posted September 18, 2016 at 9:31 am | Permalink

      I know the feeling. Double click to zoom in.

  6. dargndorp
    Posted September 18, 2016 at 9:16 am | Permalink

    Harmless hint: the mantis has approximately the same color as the stuff it’s sitting on.

  7. Diana MacPherson
    Posted September 18, 2016 at 9:51 am | Permalink

    I really like praying mantises. I just bothered one outside just now taking its picture with my iPhone. It is a beauty – big and green!

  8. Flemur
    Posted September 18, 2016 at 10:07 am | Permalink

    A few days ago the 4 inch mantis on my shirt collar found me.

  9. jaxkayaker
    Posted September 18, 2016 at 2:57 pm | Permalink

    I found the goldenrod, does that count for anything?

  10. Diane G.
    Posted September 18, 2016 at 11:58 pm | Permalink

    Found it! But not without enlarging and going over most of the whole shot very carefully (I would start looking from the farthest side from the mantis! Mark’s too savvy to center the item of interest.🙂 )

  11. HaggisForBrains
    Posted September 19, 2016 at 4:36 am | Permalink

    Ah, but does its prayers get answered? (Found it BTW, but impossible without enlargement).

  12. Posted September 23, 2016 at 1:20 pm | Permalink

    The mantis is probably Christian its praying to Jesus Christ

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

