Here’s the mantis!

Here’s the picture of a cryptic praying mantis, photographed by Mark Sturtevant, that I posted earlier today. Did you spot it? First the regular photo, then the reveal:




  1. Christopher
    Posted September 18, 2016 at 11:51 am | Permalink

    Well, as usual, I did not spot this mantis, but I did spot a Carolina Mantis, Stagmomantis carolina, hunting among my giant sunflowers this morning. When I caught it for closer examination, it spiked the hell out of my thumb with its vicious raptorial foreleg.

  2. rickflick
    Posted September 18, 2016 at 12:18 pm | Permalink

    I was right – for once! I’m going to paste this image into my scrapbook and keep it forever.

    • GBJames
      Posted September 18, 2016 at 3:37 pm | Permalink

      Me, too!

      Much better than the time with those pelicans!

  3. nicky
    Posted September 18, 2016 at 1:42 pm | Permalink

    Missed that one completely. Was looking for a green one. Most mantisses here are green.

    • infiniteimprobabilit
      Posted September 18, 2016 at 7:59 pm | Permalink

      Me too!



    • HaggisForBrains
      Posted September 19, 2016 at 6:25 am | Permalink

      Got it. Sometimes it helps being colour-blind!

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

