Wednesday: Hili dialogue

It’s Wednesday, September 14 in the U.S., we’ve made it halfway though the week.  Assuming you haven’t died this week, you’re still alive!  The other good news is that it’s National Eat A Hoagie day (see post from two days ago) as well as National Cream Filled Donut Day. I wonder why they don’t have National Kale Day or National Quinoa Day. . .

It’s also the birthday of Amy Winehouse (♥♥born 1983, died 2011), which I’ll celebrate by embedding one of her videos below. Also on this day in history, Theodore Roosevelt became President in 1901 after William McKinley died from an assassin’s bullet.

Other notables besides Amy born on this day include Clayton Moore, who played the Lone Ranger (1914), and Kate Millett (1934). Those who died on this day include John Harvard (1638), Dom Pérignon (1715; I have one bottle!), Aaron Burr (1836), and Isadora Duncan (1927; strangled by a scarf caught in the wheel of her open-top car). Meanwhile in Dobrzyn, Hili continues with her enigmatic monologues. I would say she’s on ‘nip, but she doesn’t use the stuff:

Hili: When you look at reality you see that it is reality.
A: And what are you looking at?
Hili: Reality.
In Polish:
Hili: Kiedy przyglądasz się rzeczywistości, widzisz że to jest rzeczywistość.
Ja: A czemu się przyglądasz?
Hili: Rzeczywistości.

Meanwhile in frigid Winnipeg, where seals have invaded people’s ice-covered swimming pools, Gus has extracted the last crunchie from his food-filled ball, purchased to give the moggie some exercise. Disgusted, he slaps the empty ball away:

In memory of Amy, a good Jewish girl gone bad due to Evil Men and Drugs, here’s her rendition (I’ve posted this before) of Al Kooper’s song “I love you more than you’ll ever know”. She’s all glammed up:


  1. Posted September 14, 2016 at 6:56 am | Permalink

    Apparently, Isadora Duncan lost three children. Two of her kids also died by car accident but in 1913. Their nanny and a driver had them when the car rolled into water, drowning the nanny and the kids. Then Isadora had another child, but he died shortly after birth.

    The wiki article also notes that Isadora’s cause of death was a neck break. When the scarf got lodged in the spokes, it flung her from the car, breaking her neck.

    I wonder what the rate of car-related deaths was then in comparison to now. An epidemiologist somewhere knows.

  2. Dominic
    Posted September 14, 2016 at 7:43 am | Permalink

    I was dribbling in anticipation of today… Pavlov’s birthday!

  3. Dominic
    Posted September 14, 2016 at 7:53 am | Permalink

    Matthew got short listed for yet another book prize…

  4. bluemaas
    Posted September 14, 2016 at 7:55 am | Permalink

    O my ! My, my … … my, my, my: I know this date, 14 September, quite quite well: it was the birthday of my very second inamorato, Darling Larry Watts, for whom I immediately fell so so hard the first day of first grade … … the first grade being the one at where, for our first times, the country kiddos (me) came together in the same classroom as the town kiddos (him) after our thus – separated kindergarten year.

    I was around him for six glorious years, then was up and whisked away … … moved away due to circumstances certainly unforeseen (by me ! that is), then eventually was moved back into his proximity for my very last senior year in high school. I went on to adore Larry throughout all of this of my upheaval. (btw, my adoration went most unrequited: Larry for himself almost all of those years was smashingly in love with Ms Angie McAllister who, I hafta say, was a very, very nice person besides being herself the whole of when I knew her then … … quite the stunner. A girl I quite liked !)

    Well, we three, appropriately capped and gowned of course, graduated together to my piano rendition of Pomp and Circumstance in that high school’s gymnasium. Just in time our event was … … for thus:, and its draft picks headed for … … Viet Nam.

    Number #1 draft lottery pick: 14 September … … of within those birthed years’ worth.

    I had good reason to … … so’s I wept.

    • Dominic
      Posted September 14, 2016 at 8:39 am | Permalink


    • rickflick
      Posted September 14, 2016 at 9:08 am | Permalink

      Sounds like you have a decent novel coming out of it all.

  5. Posted September 14, 2016 at 11:46 am | Permalink

    Cream filled donuts *and* hoagies? Ow, my stomach!

  6. prinzler
    Posted September 14, 2016 at 11:58 am | Permalink

    Amy Winehouse is great, and Al Kooper’s song is great, but her use of back-phrasing (delaying the entrance of a line in a song for artistic effect) might have finally crossed the line for me. If it’s possible to use back-phrasing too much, and delay the entrance of the line too much, this might be it.

    I wonder why there isn’t a thing as front-phrasing – beginning a line in a song *early*? It’s not a thing, as far as I’m aware. I suppose the delay creates tension which is resolved when the line ends, and somehow front-phrasing doesn’t.

  7. Derek Freyberg
    Posted September 14, 2016 at 6:37 pm | Permalink

    Just marginally off-topic, but …
    Is there any day that isn’t a National Something-or-other Day?
    I mean, if you can descend to National Eat a Hoagie Day (that’s not a criticism of hoagies, just of having a day to commemorate them), are there any days left for just peace and quiet?
    Or do we have to name some inoffensive day National Peace and Quiet Day?

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

