Spot the snipe!

No Readers’ Wildlife photos today as I have to conserve what I have (send yours in), and Stephen Barnard also sent me a “spot the. . ” photograph. His notes:

I was taking some calibration shots with my digiscoping setup, trying to get the exposure right, when this bird popped into view. The rig was fixed on a tripod and I had no idea the bird was there until I saw the photo. Pretty sure it’s a Wilson’s Snipe (Gallinago delicata). Not a great photo, but I thought the serendipity was cool.

Can you spot it? I classify this one as “pretty easy”.

p1090847

8 Comments

  1. Randall Schenck
    Posted September 12, 2016 at 7:37 am | Permalink

    Oh Yes. Just a tad out of focus on the snipe.

  2. GBJames
    Posted September 12, 2016 at 7:39 am | Permalink

    I see a snipe. But I can not see the snipe’s legs!

    • Monika
      Posted September 12, 2016 at 11:43 am | Permalink

      It’s Hoover Snipe!

  3. Mark Sturtevant
    Posted September 12, 2016 at 8:19 am | Permalink

    Got it.

  4. busterggi
    Posted September 12, 2016 at 9:16 am | Permalink

    Too bad I can’t count the photos here as sightings for my life-list.

  5. David Harper
    Posted September 12, 2016 at 9:59 am | Permalink

    I don’t see a snipe, but isn’t that the Philae lander peeking out from the shadows on the left?

  6. enl
    Posted September 12, 2016 at 10:15 am | Permalink

    Really? A snip hunt at this hour?

    Oh, wait, I see it.

  7. Frank Bath
    Posted September 12, 2016 at 10:27 am | Permalink

    I can only find the head of the furry mammal looking to camera!


