No braining today, as I have to direct my brains elsewhere. So let’s have some music.

Grania came across this song, “Suis-moi” (“Follow Me”) performed by the YouTube artists Nataly Dawn and Cyrille Aimée, and I found it delightfully addictive. It’s from last year’s animated French film The Little Prince, with music by Hans Zimmer and Richard Harvey. “Suis-moi” was performed in the movie by French singer Camille.

I believe I’ve featured Nataly Dawn before, but not Aimée, who contributes some nice scat singing to this version. The French lyrics and English translation are below; this seems to be one of those “Life is lovely” songs, which is not to denigrate it. The French is hard for me to understand, perhaps because it’s Canadian French—or perhaps there’s artistic license in how it’s pronounced. Anyway, I really like this version (TRIGGER WARNING: D*g at 2:37). The last minute features the singers talking about how they met and touting each other’s albums.

Below is the official music video with scenes from the movie, and you can see a live version of Camille singing the song (with a bass accompaniment) here. It’s been dog’s years since I read Le Petit Prince, so what’s with the sheep?

Suis moi, là où je sais sourd
Suis moi, et si j’y suis pas
Suis moi, là où niche le hibou
Suis moi, on y est ou presque
Suis moi, là où rien ne presse
Suis moi, et v’la qu’nous y voilà
S’pose (s’pose)
C’est si bon quand on s’pose (s’pose)
Plus d’question et qu’on ose
Ouvrir enfin les bras
S’perd, (s’perd)
C’est si bon quand on s’perd (s’perd)
Sans un espèce de per(vers)
Qui nous repère même pas
C’est si bon quand on s’pâme
D’être si beau ici bas
Suis moi, qui suis-je le sais tu ?
Suis moi, ton sosie salut
Suis moi, et si moi c’était toi ?
Suis moi, et si on s’salit
Suis moi, en sueur ou en suie
Suis moi, de si tôt s’assis là
S’peut (s’peut)
C’est si bon quand ça s’peut
Que qui peut l’plus peut l’mieux (mieux)
Mieux que qui mieux que quoi
S’plie (s’plie)
C’est si bon quand on s’plie (s’plie)
De rire et que la pluie
Pleure elle aussi de joie
C’est si bon quand on s’parle
Si haut ici bas
C’est si bon quand ça s’passe

et si beau ici bas

Follow me
Follow me, there where I’m deaf
Follow me, and if I don’t
Follow me, there where the owl nests
Follow me, we’re there or almost
Follow me, there where nothing hurries
Follow me, and here we are
It’s so nice when we raise
more questions and that we dare
to finally open our arms
Get lost
It’s so nice when we get lost
Without cash of the means
who can’t even spot us
It’s so nice when we swoon
To be so nice here below*
Follow me, who am I, do you know?
Follow me, your double**, hi
Follow me, and if I were you?
Follow me, and if we get dirty
Follow me, with sweat or carbon
Follow me, so soon, sit down here
It’s so nice when it can
that the one who does best can do better
Better than who, better than what
Lie down
It’s so nice when we lie down
to laugh and also the rain
it also cries with joy
It’s so nice when we talk
So high down below
It’s so nice when it happens
and so beautiful here below

*on Earth



  1. Posted September 10, 2016 at 12:09 pm | Permalink

    I agree they are difficult to understand. Sounds more like “sweet” or even “tw**t” than “suis”. And yet Cyrille is French, with various other influences — gypsy, jazz, maybe Dominican.

    Cute tune, tho, and cute singers. Thanks.

    Btw, I like d*gs too. So do my cats. The male cat plays with the d*g as if it was another cat. ‘Course, I’m not sure d*g knows the difference…😉

  2. Posted September 10, 2016 at 12:36 pm | Permalink

    Love the song!


    I don’t like it when Jerry is no-braining or brains going elsewhere.

  3. Jacques Beaudry
    Posted September 10, 2016 at 1:04 pm | Permalink

    You ask: “It’s been dog’s years since I read Le Petit Prince, so what’s with the sheep?”

    At the very beginning of the book, The aviator is woken up by the little prince saying: “S’il vous plaît … dessine-moi un mouton!” “Please … draw me a sheep!”

    All efforts by the aviator to draw a sheep are rejected. The little prince insists until the aviator draw him a box (with airholes) and declares that the sheep is inside.

    The little prince is now happy.

    I have been reading that book since I was a little kid and every time, I find something new in it.

    • Posted September 10, 2016 at 2:19 pm | Permalink

      Absolumment. A great book!

      • Merilee
        Posted September 10, 2016 at 3:09 pm | Permalink

        Moi, trois🐏 J’avais aimé ce mouton-là depuis que j’étais une toute petite fille🙋

  4. Kevin
    Posted September 10, 2016 at 1:30 pm | Permalink

    I love Natalie and everything she does with Pamplemousse.

    Great song.

  5. rickflick
    Posted September 10, 2016 at 3:08 pm | Permalink

    Wonderful. I’m telling all my friends.

  6. docbill1351
    Posted September 10, 2016 at 9:58 pm | Permalink

    I have been a Kickstarter supporter of Natalie Dawn for years and years. Her YouTube cover of the Angry Birds theme is a classic.

    Also, Monster Mask is a favorite. Congrats on Nat and Jack getting married this year.

    What a duo!

  7. johzek
    Posted September 11, 2016 at 7:26 am | Permalink

    Seeing Nataly Dawn, it was good to be reminded of Pomplamoose again. Her facial expressions on the video of “If you think you need some lovin'” are just wonderful.

  8. Mike
    Posted September 14, 2016 at 7:23 am | Permalink

    Nice catchy tune

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

