Talks in the offing

Just in case you want to see Professor Ceiling Cat (Emeritus), here’s my schedule for the near future. Note that not all of these are finalized, so I’ve indicated which talks are tentative.

Oct 7-9:  PittsburghFreedom from Religion Foundation Convention, Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania.  I talk on Saturday, October 8, at 4 p.m.

Oct 14-15. Chicago. My student Daniel Matute, in collaboration with others, has organized a “Coyneapalooza” (that’s what I call it) symposium in honor of my retirement. It will be a day and a half of talks on speciation and related subjects her at the University of Chicago. (Friday and Saturday a.m.). Speakers will include students, colleagues, and other people associated with my career. Big names will be speaking from all around, so I am very touched. Stay tuned.

Oct. 28-Nov. 3: Singapore. I’ll be giving two talks during my visit there for the Humanist Society of Singapore. When I know the dates, times, and locations, I’ll let you know, or you can contact Tatt Si, President of the Society, via the contact form.

Nov. 3- Nov. 16: Hong Kong and China. I’ll be in Hong Kong to talk about Faith Versus Fact, and probably do some other events, for the Hong Kong International Literary Festival. I’ll also be talking in China, but don’t have dates or times for any of these events. Stay tuned. There will be plenty of noms for me in these places!

Jan. 13-16: Los Angeles, California. I’m speaking at a new conference, LogiCAL LA, organized by Margaret Downey, and there will be some interesting speakers. Stay tuned. I’ll also be on the Dave Rubin show on Monday, January 16, but that’s a taping in a studio.

∼Feb. 12?. 2017: Toronto, Canada. I was invited to speak this year at Darwin Day at the Royal Ontario Museum in Toronto, but had already committed to do a Darwin day talk in London for the British Humanists.  I offered to do it next year (2017), and they said “yes.” But I haven’t heard from their people yet, so this may not take place. Stay tuned.

Feb. 18-19, 2017: Ankara, Turkey. I’ll probably be speaking about evolution at the 11th Aykut Kence Evolution Conference to be held in the Middle East Technical University (METU). I spoke there several years ago at this Conference and had a great time. I’m almost certainly going, but have to firm up arrangements with METU.

Late Feb or March, 2017: New Zealand. I’m planning to travel there for a month for leisure, but I’m surely not averse to meeting readers in those lovely islands (where I’ve never been!)

June 2-4, 2017. Toronto, Canada (again). I’ll be speaking at “INR7”, the Imagine No Religion conference—one of my all-time favorite meetings. I’m not sure who the other speakers are, but they always have a great roster. Note that the conference is not in its usual location of Kamloops, British Columbia.



  1. Posted September 7, 2016 at 2:12 pm | Permalink

    Wow, you are really going to be busy! Safe travels!

  2. Posted September 7, 2016 at 2:12 pm | Permalink





  3. Stephen Barnard
    Posted September 7, 2016 at 2:20 pm | Permalink

    Great itinerary. You’re going to put some FF miles in the bank.

    I’ll be in New Zealand all of February (South Island) and the first week of March (North Island).

    • John Frum
      Posted September 7, 2016 at 3:59 pm | Permalink

      Will you be doing any of the great walks?
      I have done the Milford Track twice now no plan to again.
      It is truly beautiful.

      • Posted September 7, 2016 at 4:04 pm | Permalink

        I think so. I’m bringing my sleeping bag and tent.

      • Stephen Barnard
        Posted September 7, 2016 at 4:37 pm | Permalink

        I won’t be doing any major tramping at my age, but I taking a two-day boat tour out of Te Anau. I want to see fjords.

        I’m renting a caravan and fishing and touring all around South Island during February. Then I’m going to North Island for a solid week of fishing.

        • Stephen Barnard
          Posted September 7, 2016 at 5:49 pm | Permalink

          I’m pining for the fjords.🙂

        • een
          Posted September 7, 2016 at 6:21 pm | Permalink

          Trout fishing?

          • Stephen Barnard
            Posted September 7, 2016 at 7:24 pm | Permalink

            Yes. If you didn’t already know, New Zealand is famous for its large trout.

  4. GBJames
    Posted September 7, 2016 at 2:27 pm | Permalink

    FFRF this year is chock full of greatness. In addition to PCC[E], we’ll be hearing from Lawrence Krauss, Dan Dennett, Linda LaScola, and Susan Jacoby. (In addition to all of the FFRF people, of course.) Usually I skip the not-near-Wisconsin FFRF conventions, but this one demands plane ride.

  5. gravelinspector-Aidan
    Posted September 7, 2016 at 2:30 pm | Permalink

    I’ll be speaking at “INR7”, the Imagine No Religion conference

    As I glanced over the page, something about that “INR7” caught my eye and my brain parsed it as “INRI.” Then took a couple of seconds to dig the referent out of the third braincell from the left. The inscription allegedly on the top of “The Cross”.
    I’m sure that the first of those conferences played with that one from time to time. Sadly, I can’t think of any further to go down that line.

  6. Joseph Stans
    Posted September 7, 2016 at 2:36 pm | Permalink

    Dr. Coyne;

    Be sure to check sith the Freshman Student Speakers Committee and smake sure you are allowed to speak at your school.

  7. Posted September 7, 2016 at 3:09 pm | Permalink

    Good onya, going to NZ. Lovely place, hard to beat, period. Enjoy!!!!!!

  8. John Harshman
    Posted September 7, 2016 at 4:17 pm | Permalink

    Sorry, what were you saying? I was distracted by the dim sum.

    • bluemaas
      Posted September 7, 2016 at 6:57 pm | Permalink

      heh.heh., that’s sweet, Dr Harshman.

      Me too → .that. distraction !

  9. Posted September 7, 2016 at 5:16 pm | Permalink

    I’ve referred to the Oct. 14-15 event as the “Coyneposium”.

  10. keith cook +/-
    Posted September 7, 2016 at 5:34 pm | Permalink

    New Zealand! well where is everyone?
    My humble self would be up for a meet and a little tour guiding around Auckland if required.

  11. Posted September 7, 2016 at 6:02 pm | Permalink

    I still have my July 1 1997 Hong Kong memorabilia, which marked the return of Hong Kong to China, albeit a special administrative district.

  12. Tom Walvik
    Posted September 7, 2016 at 6:59 pm | Permalink


    Dr. Coyne have you thought about comming to Norway to take in the sights, and also maybe give a lecture or two to an adudience of huminists, atheists, freethinkers, or the like. or maybe to students at the University of Stavanger, Bergen, or Oslo? I´m sure the people who arrange those talks would be delighted to have you speak about the incompatibility of science or religion, atheism in general, or in particular about your own field within evolutionary biology, speciation.

    I know that high profile speakers (e.g Dennett, Geoffrey Miller, Lawrence Krauss, etc) have gotten their travel and stay covered, and some money for speaking at the University of Bergen. in addition, it wouldnt suprise me if people visiting this site from norway would gladly take you into while your here.

    just a thought🙂

  13. Diana MacPherson
    Posted September 7, 2016 at 8:01 pm | Permalink

    Eat lots of cheese when you’re in NZ. I find NZ extra delicious for some reason.

    Get some nice greenstone too!

    • John Frum
      Posted September 7, 2016 at 8:25 pm | Permalink

      If PCC(E) goes to Queenstown and he probably will, I recommend Fergburger. The sweet bambi (venison) is fantastic as is most everything else. Don’t bother with fries though as the burgers are so big it’s a waste.
      Very nice NZ beer in the south too.

      • John Harshman
        Posted September 8, 2016 at 8:32 pm | Permalink

        Second the Fergburger. But the fries shouldn’t be missed either.

        And I hope you get a lot of cargo.

        • John Frum
          Posted September 8, 2016 at 9:38 pm | Permalink

          Oh yes, the fries are certainly excellent but I found that eating any meant I couldn’t finish the burger.
          I think I should know what ‘cargo’ is but for the life of me I can’t remember.

    • Posted September 7, 2016 at 8:46 pm | Permalink

      What is greenstone?

  14. Posted September 7, 2016 at 10:57 pm | Permalink

    I hope to meet you in Pittsburgh! I am a Life Member of FFRF and this will be my first conference with them. I was born in Sauk City, WI, home to Free Congregation of Sauk County, the last of the Freethinkers from Germany in America. The building dates from 1852 and it was where Dan Barker & Annie Laurie Gaylor were married ?? years ago.

    • GBJames
      Posted September 8, 2016 at 6:58 am | Permalink

      Cool. My wife and I recently stopped in Sauk City for a picnic lunch in August Derleth Park prior to a visit to the Wollersheim winery. Had I known I would have dropped by the Freethinkers Hall. Next time!

      And I’ll see you in Pittsburgh.

  15. Mark Joseph
    Posted September 7, 2016 at 11:27 pm | Permalink

    Finally! PCC in LA. I look forward to seeing you in January. Will I be able to get my copy of FvF autographed?

    Happy travels!

  16. David Duncan
    Posted September 8, 2016 at 12:29 am | Permalink

    “I’ll also be talking in China … Stay tuned. There will be plenty of noms for me in these places!”

    Plenty of pictures and descriptions please, or it won’t have happened.

  17. Barbara Radcliffe
    Posted September 8, 2016 at 12:40 am | Permalink

    Do have a great time in New Zealand. If you get to Queenstown, there is (or perhaps was) a great pizza shop called ‘The Cow’ in an obscure back street. Great food, but get there early, otherwise one has to wait in a queue (but the food is worth it!). I could find it if I were there, but can’t give an address. Perhaps ask a local….
    And when will you be visiting the land of OZ?

  18. Posted September 8, 2016 at 2:13 am | Permalink

    I look forward to catching some of your talks in Hong Kong and China. You will certainly be spoilt for choice on the culinary front down here! Just try to make sure your hosts don’t try to keep you fed on all the “Foreigner Friendly” Chinese food, or you will find yourself eating broccoli and Squirrel/Mandarin Fish every where you go!

  19. Posted September 8, 2016 at 11:49 am | Permalink

    Love the “gratuitous” dim sum. Hope you get plenty of that and other items!

    But what an itinerary!

  20. Mark
    Posted September 8, 2016 at 2:39 pm | Permalink

    Heya Jerry, Reach out when you are closer to dates for NZ. There are loads of locals (biologists even) who would be happy to meet greet and supply wine/food.

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

