Spot the Philae lander!

Reader Coel called my attention to a picture (I won’t give the URL, as it also has the answer) showing the Philae lander resting on the comet Comet 67P/Churyumov–Gerasimenko. The picture was taken by the parent Rosetta spacecraft just three days ago as it came within 3 km of the comet surface.

Can you spot the lander? I would rate this one HARD! I’ll post the answer at noon.  Click twice (with a break between the clicks) to make the photo big.

If you spotted it, you can tout your success in the comments, but PLEASE DO NOT GIVE AWAY THE LOCATION IN THE COMMENTS.

OSIRIS_narrow-angle_camera_image_with_Philae_2_September_node_full_image_2

19 Comments

  1. Posted September 5, 2016 at 9:27 am | Permalink

    I reckon it is about ANSWER REDACTED BY JAC TO KEEP THE GUESSES COMING

  2. moleatthecounter
    Posted September 5, 2016 at 9:37 am | Permalink

    Very hard and I’m not sure… due to the low resolution of course.

    But I think it is REDACTED BY JAC AGAIN! My guess is there!

    But I am really not certain at all to be fair…

  3. moleatthecounter
    Posted September 5, 2016 at 9:38 am | Permalink

    Oops! Just ready the above properly… Apologies. I’m probably wrong anyway!

    • moleatthecounter
      Posted September 5, 2016 at 1:13 pm | Permalink

      *coughs* – Lucky guess on my part there!

      (Actually, a close examination in Photoshop did the trick…)

  4. Mark Sturtevant
    Posted September 5, 2016 at 9:48 am | Permalink

    Well, I have a hypothetical location, but I ain,t sayin’.

  5. TJR
    Posted September 5, 2016 at 9:56 am | Permalink

    I reckon its in the rocks.

  6. George
    Posted September 5, 2016 at 9:58 am | Permalink

    Back on May 4, Matthew Cobb had a spot the Philae lander picture on WEIT. You can go back and look at that one – it will not help with this one.
    https://whyevolutionistrue.wordpress.com/2016/05/04/heres-the-philae-lander/

    • George
      Posted September 5, 2016 at 10:03 am | Permalink

      I thought Philae was in my back yard which looks nothing like that picture. Although I spotted something in the pic that looks metallic, not rocky. Hint: Many rocks nearby.

  7. Graham Head
    Posted September 5, 2016 at 10:15 am | Permalink

    I’m usually hopeless at the spot the ___ pictures but I think I’ve got this one. Maybe a combination of knowing why there were problems with where it landed and it not being camouflaged.

    • serendipitydawg
      Posted September 5, 2016 at 10:47 am | Permalink

      Ditto… though I am still not 100% sure that what I think is the lander isn’t just part of the terrain 🙂

  8. mikeyc
    Posted September 5, 2016 at 10:51 am | Permalink

    I see it. It’s waving to us.

  9. David Harper
    Posted September 5, 2016 at 11:19 am | Permalink

    I can’t see the lander, but I’m pretty sure that’s a nightjar lurking beneath the potato-shaped boulder at the upper left.

  10. Posted September 5, 2016 at 11:20 am | Permalink

    Found it, too. I agree, it’s not easy, although if you followed the news around Philae’s landing you should have an idea of the general sort of place to start searching.

  11. Monika
    Posted September 5, 2016 at 11:28 am | Permalink

    That was a hard one, but I’m pretty sure I found it.

  12. Steve
    Posted September 5, 2016 at 11:41 am | Permalink

    Found it! Had to blow up the image and scan across multiple times before I saw it.

  13. Mike
    Posted September 5, 2016 at 11:41 am | Permalink

    This figure illustrates how useless images from space are if you have no idea the magnification involved.

    Make a Philae model 3 or 4mm tall and place it on an area of dirt and you could reproduce this figure.

  14. Damien McLeod
    Posted September 5, 2016 at 12:45 pm | Permalink

    Where the heck is that dad-burned lander, I surely can’t see it!

    • gravelinspector-Aidan
      Posted September 5, 2016 at 5:33 pm | Permalink

      In the Area-51 film studio, just behind Buzz Aldrin’s gym and punch bag.

  15. infiniteimprobabilit
    Posted September 5, 2016 at 6:14 pm | Permalink

    I reckon it’s in the aabcdhklosw at 0078%%doRwn

    cr


