Sunday: Hili dialogue

It’s Sunday, September 4, but only middle of the three-day Labor Day holiday weekend in the U.S. The weather is going to warm up again in Chicago, rising into the 90s in two days or so (32°C or more, so summer hasn’t left us yet). For the first time since I’ve been in Chicago, I’ll be glad when fall and winter come.  It’s Newspaper Carrier Day in the U.S., though paperboys are a dying breed, and in our building there’s a papergirl—a sign of the times.  It’s also National Wildlife Day and National Macadamia Nut Day (my favorite nuts, with cashews a close second).  Macadeamias, though grown largely in Hawaii, are an import from Australia.

On this day in 1957, the Ford Motor company introduced the Edsel (named after Henry Ford’s only “recognized” child). Although an innovative car, with seat belts, warning lights, and a push-button transmission on the steering wheel, the car lasted only two years, with production shutting down in 1959. There are various theories for its disappearance, and one was that it was just ugly. I remember someone saying that its grill “looked like a Mercury sucking a lemon”:


And on this day in 1998, Google was founded in California (I saw my first Google Street Imaging Car two days ago!). Notables born on this day include Max Delbrück (1906), Mitzi Gaynor (1931), and the larrikin Aussie swimmer Dawn Fraser (1937). Those who died on this day include Steve Irwin (2006; it’s been ten years since a stingray pierced his heart) and Joan Rivers (2014).  Meanwhile in Dobrzyn, Hili was weighed yesterday, and she’s 4.5 kg, or a tad less then ten pounds. Today we have a rare dialogue of her and Malgorzata, with Hili struggling as she is carried across the dangerous soccer field:

M: Why were you crying so piteously, and now you are trying to get loose?
Hili: Because I wanted to go in another direction and you didn’t understand anything.
In Polish:
Małgorzata: Czemu płakałaś, a teraz się wyrywasz?
Hili: Bo chciałam iść w inną stronę, a wy nic nie rozumiecie.
In the absence of other lagniappe, here’s a photo of me with the Princess two years ago:
P1050169.JPG – Version 2


  1. Hempenstein
    Posted September 4, 2016 at 7:43 am | Permalink

    Cool! My first automotive heartthrob – a ’58 Edsel – makes it to WEIT! And I would’ve owned a ’58 convertible if my father hadn’t vetoed it (once he saw the big honking V8 under the hood). I was just 15 then. Little-known is that there were 1960 models, too. They only made ~2800 before shutting production down after a month or so, but in my book they’re attractive than anything else that Ford produced for ’60. Only 76 of those were ragtops, but counterfeits (automotive Piltdown Forgeries?) exist, built by swapping sheetmetal from a ’60 Edsel sedan onto a ’60 Ford convertible.

    • John Conoboy
      Posted September 4, 2016 at 1:16 pm | Permalink

      There is an Edsel (dot) com site that includes classifieds if you want to buy one. Some are pretty cheap if you want to fix them up, but in a quick look I saw one model that was priced at $35,000!

      • Hempenstein
        Posted September 4, 2016 at 9:41 pm | Permalink

        Yep, & also an Edsel page on FB.

  2. bluemaas
    Posted September 4, 2016 at 7:51 am | Permalink

    From one of my feeds this morning, a wee bit of sea turtle – lagniappe here.

    Terrible plastic trash entanglement !
    Asking for help, not ?

    Gets it right up to the releasing kiss on its forehead !


  3. rickflick
    Posted September 4, 2016 at 7:54 am | Permalink

    Malgorzata is wearing a sweater (as is Hili). The frost, as they say, is on the pumpkin!

  4. Gregory Kusnick
    Posted September 4, 2016 at 10:23 am | Permalink

    (I saw my first Google Street Imaging Car two days ago!)

    I’m guessing it saw you as well. Perhaps you’ll tell us where, so we can look for you in Street View.

    • Posted September 4, 2016 at 3:12 pm | Permalink

      On the South Side of 57th Street somewhere in the two blocks between University Avenue and Kimbark Avenue.

      • Gregory Kusnick
        Posted September 4, 2016 at 3:55 pm | Permalink

        Thanks! Looks like we have a Spot the Professor contest.

    • gravelinspector-Aidan
      Posted September 4, 2016 at 6:29 pm | Permalink

      The only time I got buzzed by a GSV car, they seemed to merge the forward & backward views from the car to cut me and the secretary I was talking to when I said “Google car!” and pointed at it. Perhaps the pointing at it was the give-away. (We were on the public highway t the time, with no expectation of privacy.)

      • rickflick
        Posted September 4, 2016 at 7:09 pm | Permalink

        They blur the faces, don’t they?

        • gravelinspector-Aidan
          Posted September 5, 2016 at 5:40 pm | Permalink

          I think so (been months since I felt the need to look at GSV. I wasn’t particularly bothered – I’ve been know as a union activist for years, and the woman I was with was the union’s full-time secretary. but generally workers visiting the office were very chary of anyone hanging around in the street outside the office, let alone cameras. Something to do with the long history of people being sacked and blacklisted for even thinking about joining a union.

  5. Posted September 5, 2016 at 1:02 am | Permalink

    I still have fond memories of Steve Irwin’s shows. He was a unique individual.

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

