Cat drums with its staff!

I’m braining on other stuff today, including upcoming talks in Pittsburgh, Singapore, and Hong Kong (I always get my talks done way in advance), so you’ll have to be satisfied with persiflage. As Thomas Wolfe once wrote, though, “I have a thing to tell you” (one of his great set pieces., go here and advance with the arrows), and I’ll do that tomorrow. In the meantime, have a cat!

I saw this video posted on Facebook, a great source of cat videos (though a poorer source of rational thought), and asked if it was on YouTube. And Voilà: it was!

I have a hard time believing that this video is real, but it seems to be.

h/t: daveau

19 Comments

  1. jknath1
    Posted September 1, 2016 at 3:33 pm | Permalink

    When and where will you be in Pittsburgh? I would love to hear you speak.

    • gravelinspector-Aidan
      Posted September 2, 2016 at 12:53 pm | Permalink

      Isn’t that where … WC Fields?? would rather have been?

      • rickflick
        Posted September 2, 2016 at 2:45 pm | Permalink

        Speaking of WC Fields, I came across this in Wikipedia:

        Although a staunch atheist—or perhaps because of it—he studied theology and owned several volumes on the subject. According to a popular story (possibly apocryphal, according to biographer James Curtis), Fields once told someone who caught him reading a Bible that he was “looking for loopholes”.

        • rickflick
          Posted September 2, 2016 at 2:52 pm | Permalink

          Another bit of WC lore involving his last will:

          …leaving a portion of his estate to establish a “W. C. Fields College for Orphan White Boys and Girls, where no religion of any sort is to be preached”.

        • gravelinspector-Aidan
          Posted September 2, 2016 at 5:27 pm | Permalink

          Although a staunch atheist—or perhaps because of it—he studied theology

          Why would being an atheist prevent one from being able to study theology? As Fields says, “looking for loopholes”.
          I remember my last school report card on Religious Education : “100% exam sore. Top of the year! As an atheist, Gravel-Inspector should be ashamed of himself!”
          I told the RE master – a preacher himself – that I was looking for holes.

          • rickflick
            Posted September 2, 2016 at 7:14 pm | Permalink

            “I was looking for holes”

            Consider yourself in damn good company.

            • gravelinspector-Aidan
              Posted September 3, 2016 at 1:58 pm | Permalink

              “This side is done – turn me over!” (At least two dry-roast saints.)

  2. Merilee
    Posted September 1, 2016 at 4:21 pm | Permalink

    🐾🐾🎼

  3. Leslie
    Posted September 1, 2016 at 4:26 pm | Permalink

    I suspected computer enhancement until the cat just up and walked away 🐱

    • klf
      Posted September 2, 2016 at 1:27 am | Permalink

      Yeah, me too! That clinched it as real.

    • Posted September 2, 2016 at 8:00 am | Permalink

      I have a cat who does that with cardboard boxes all the time. It’s definitely real. And for me the real clincher (besides my personal experience) is that the guy lets the cat lead. The cat is just doing its thing with a box and the guy is accompanying on drums.

  4. rickflick
    Posted September 1, 2016 at 6:36 pm | Permalink

    I’ll let all my FB friends learn some respect.

  5. Mark Sturtevant
    Posted September 1, 2016 at 7:21 pm | Permalink

    The cat is leading, and the human is following. This is as it should be.

  6. Larry
    Posted September 1, 2016 at 8:38 pm | Permalink

    And Taiwan is so close to Hong Kong…just a hop-and-a-skip. Would be nice.

  7. Taskin
    Posted September 1, 2016 at 8:57 pm | Permalink

    Hilarious!

  8. KP
    Posted September 1, 2016 at 9:14 pm | Permalink

    When are you coming to Singapore? Where will you be speaking at?

    • Posted September 2, 2016 at 4:22 am | Permalink

      I’ll be there the last week in October; no formal arrangements yet though I’ll be giving two talks. Details announced later.

  9. Jonathan Wallace
    Posted September 2, 2016 at 6:17 am | Permalink

    Ginger Baker!

    (colour of the cat is not very clear in the video but I think I have it right)

    • frednotfaith2
      Posted September 21, 2016 at 3:54 pm | Permalink

      Give that kitty some Cream! Ok, he’d first have to find a cat to play guitar and another to play bass, then they could play “Cat’s Squirrel”.


