Spot the pelicans!

In lieu of readers’ wildlife today, we’ll have a beautiful landscape by Stephen Barnard, and in it somewhere is a passel of American White Pelicans (Pelecanus erythrorhynchos). Can you spot them? Stephen issues a challenge: “I doubt that anyone could spot the American White Pelicans this photo.”

Yes, I know that “passel” isn’t the proper term for a group of pelicans! The photo will be large, and will overlap the writing to the right when first posted, but I’ll quickly post something else to get the words out of the way. Wait ten minutes after posting before you try to find them.

Alternatively, you can click on the photo twice (with a break between the clicks) to get a standalone photo.

Now, gaze on the splendor of Idaho and find those pelicans! I’ll post the answer at 11 a.m. Chicago time. Don’t reveal the answer in the comments, though you can say if you’ve successfully found the birds.

RT9A0639-RT9A0641

18 Comments

  1. Posted August 31, 2016 at 7:48 am | Permalink

    I think so.

    /@ / Adelaide

  2. Posted August 31, 2016 at 7:51 am | Permalink

    I enjoy these “Find the _____” posts. It reminds me of the hidden pictures in “Highlights for Children.” I love this adult version! 🙂

    • bluemaas
      Posted August 31, 2016 at 8:16 am | Permalink

      O, I do, too. And exactly, Ms Schulz, for that “Highlights for Kiddos” – reason !

      That is a phenomenal landscape. I have seen your horseshoe channel, Mr Barnard, before. Is it swimmable ? by one human, I mean, and not by a passel thereof (as that’d be awfully disruptive of its passivity !) ? or so at a time, that is ?

      Blue

      • Stephen Barnard
        Posted August 31, 2016 at 8:58 am | Permalink

        The only swimming done there is by fly fishermen who make a misstep.

        • darrelle
          Posted August 31, 2016 at 9:50 am | Permalink

          The Voice Of Experience?

          • Stephen Barnard
            Posted August 31, 2016 at 10:23 am | Permalink

            I’ve taken a few dunks over the years, but never there.

  3. Merilee
    Posted August 31, 2016 at 7:53 am | Permalink

    A remarkable bird is the pelican
    His beak can hold more than his belly can…………..

    ……..
    How the hell he can.

    • barn owl
      Posted August 31, 2016 at 9:18 am | Permalink

      A bellycan of pelicans?

      • Christopher
        Posted August 31, 2016 at 8:09 pm | Permalink

        How about a “Gulp” of Pelicans?

      • Merilee
        Posted August 31, 2016 at 8:25 pm | Permalink

        😆

  4. Posted August 31, 2016 at 7:56 am | Permalink

    REDACTED BY JAC

    • Posted August 31, 2016 at 7:57 am | Permalink

      Whoops, should read posting first. Besides, I’m sure I’m wrong anyways. Apologies for breaking da roolz! 😦

    • Posted August 31, 2016 at 12:58 pm | Permalink

      Well done Jerry! But I got it! 🙂

  5. Posted August 31, 2016 at 7:57 am | Permalink

    Lovely landscape! Pretty clean sensor you have there Stephen! 🙂

  6. darrelle
    Posted August 31, 2016 at 8:18 am | Permalink

    I see them.

    Reminds me of a horrible duet by Dolly & Kenny.

  7. GBJames
    Posted August 31, 2016 at 8:41 am | Permalink

    Great pano shot. But I don’t see any birds.

  8. keith cook +/-
    Posted August 31, 2016 at 8:54 pm | Permalink

    Bugger the pelicans, look at that view.

  9. Mike
    Posted September 1, 2016 at 7:21 am | Permalink

    I stopped looking for them and got lost in the landscape, I could happily see out my days in that place.


