Here are the moths!

This morning I posted Mark Sturtevant’s photo of two underwing moths hiding on a dead tree? That was a hard one—at least if you aimed to find both moths. Here’s the reveal, which shows how effective the camouflage is. (Most predators are probably birds, who have both keen vision and, like us, color vision.). Click to enlarge.



  1. Avis James
    Posted August 28, 2016 at 1:28 pm | Permalink

    Mark- can I use this photo in my biology class slides? Thanks, Avis PS- It took me a long time- even with the reveal!

    • Mark Sturtevant
      Posted August 28, 2016 at 6:20 pm | Permalink

      You sure can. I would be flattered.
      There will be some katydid pix coming soon too.

      • Avis James
        Posted September 3, 2016 at 9:37 am | Permalink


  2. David Harper
    Posted August 28, 2016 at 3:00 pm | Permalink

    Is it coincidence, I wonder, that both moths are pointing head-downward? Is there a preferred direction? Does it make the camouflage more effective?

    • Mark Sturtevant
      Posted August 28, 2016 at 6:22 pm | Permalink

      I am not sure. But I maybe it makes a get-away a lot easier since they would launch downward with a gravity assist.
      I poked the lower one, hoping it would spread its wings for a picture. But it disappeared in a blink of the eye.

  3. Richard Portman
    Posted August 28, 2016 at 6:59 pm | Permalink

    I impressed myself! I got them both in about 3 minutes! I’ve always been interested in moths and is Catocala season here in S. Utah.

  4. Posted August 29, 2016 at 1:29 am | Permalink

    I found those two after quite a search, but I think there’s a third moth. It appears to be about 22% down from the top and 78% across from left to right. It’s also pointing downward.

    • Posted August 29, 2016 at 1:56 am | Permalink

      Oh, nevermind! That’s one of the originals! Then there was ANOTHER “third” one I thought I saw, but that’s just because I spent too long staring at the picture. Good night!!!

  5. jahigginbotham
    Posted August 30, 2016 at 12:00 am | Permalink

    I got them immediately only because i usually read this later in the day (just now) and the reveal wasn’t below the fold😦

