Is this the most Canadian photo ever?

Even if it’s missing Tim Hortons coffee, I can’t imagine a cuter “Canadian” photo. From CBC News, thanks to reader Taskin, we have a wonderful short article called “Mountie + baby beaver = most Canadian photo ever?” The photo isn’t really staged, but grew out of a real encounter. As the CBC describes,

Sure enough, it happened recently at Regina’s Salthaven West wildlife rehabilitation centre.

The centre helps injured and abandoned birds and wild animals, and in May received four beaver kits whose mother had been killed near Fort Qu’Appelle.

Jason Pinder, who has volunteered his time with Salthaven for the past five years, works a day job as an RCMP corporal.

When he stopped by the centre a few days ago wearing his red serge uniform, staff couldn’t resist getting a shot with him and one of the furry critters.

The result: an iconic shot for the ages that delighted Salthaven’s Facebook followers.

Most Canadian photo ever? Many agreed.

“Just missing a double-double!” Kimberley Belhumeur said in the comments.


Photo: Megan Lawrence/Salthaven West

Well, when I posted it on Facebook some of my FB friends thought it was missing more than a double double (BTW, if you don’t know that term, read this explanation). Here’s my thread this morning (another comment just added by reader daveau: “I hope that beaver is bilingual.”) But as far as I know, beavers have only one tongue!

Screen Shot 2016-08-23 at 5.54.10 AM


  1. Posted August 23, 2016 at 8:25 am | Permalink

    Hilarious! But missing a few Canada icons, as noted in the comments. 🙂

  2. Matthew North
    Posted August 23, 2016 at 8:27 am | Permalink

    Nope, needs more ketchup potato chips and millions of kilometers of arctic desolation.

  3. tubby
    Posted August 23, 2016 at 8:30 am | Permalink

    It’s missing beer and hockey too.

  4. Matthew North
    Posted August 23, 2016 at 8:31 am | Permalink

    • Posted August 23, 2016 at 8:44 am | Permalink

      That photo lacks both beavers and Mounties!!!! Moreover, it’s a montage, while the photo I posted is REAL!

      • Matthew North
        Posted August 23, 2016 at 1:22 pm | Permalink

        Of course you’re right. I just thought it was funny. There is a beaver in the middle though.

    • Kevin
      Posted August 23, 2016 at 12:31 pm | Permalink

      It’s got Geddy, that’s a start.

  5. Posted August 23, 2016 at 8:35 am | Permalink

    Missing maple syrup and a picture of the queen eh!

  6. Peter
    Posted August 23, 2016 at 8:39 am | Permalink

    Mounty with a beaver needs a little updating… how about our Prime Minister attending the Tragically Hip concert:

    …or flipping pancakes at the Calgary Stampede:

  7. Diana MacPherson
    Posted August 23, 2016 at 9:18 am | Permalink

    As I said On Jerry’s FB post, it’s missing Swiss Chalet dipping sauce. I actually didn’t realize how Canadian Swiss Chalet is but it’s a Canadian chain and the dipping sauce is what you dip the chicken into when you eat it. I think there have been a few funny references to it as part of Canadiana on the Canadian Comedy Show This Hour Has 22 Minutes

    • Mark Reaume
      Posted August 23, 2016 at 10:22 am | Permalink

      Apparently you can get Swiss Chalet dipping sauce at Walmart:

    • Posted August 23, 2016 at 11:42 am | Permalink

      I was an *adult* before I realized that SC and Harvey’s were Canadian.

      • Diana MacPherson
        Posted August 23, 2016 at 11:54 am | Permalink

        Me too – in fact I think it was only a couple of years ago that I realized Swiss Chalet was Canadian. I also didn’t know that butter tarts were Canadian until someone on WEIT told me that no one would know what I was talking about because they were Canadian.

        • Mark Reaume
          Posted August 23, 2016 at 2:14 pm | Permalink

          Butter tarts are Canadian? I had no idea. My mother used to make them for her Church all of the time and we would get the rejects. She wasn’t impressed when we started calling them retarts.

          • Diana MacPherson
            Posted August 23, 2016 at 3:28 pm | Permalink

            Here is what Wikipedia says about butter tarts. I like the name, “retarts”.

            • HaggisForBrains
              Posted August 24, 2016 at 4:33 am | Permalink

              Circular link; try this.

          • Chris Simonite
            Posted August 23, 2016 at 3:31 pm | Permalink

            I didn’t know either! This thread has become quite informative!

            Also, fellow Canadians, we have to stop the Tim Hortons thing. It’s embarrassing! Especially if you order a double double. A medium double double has a lot more than two teaspoons of sugar in it! Full disclosure though – I went to Tim’s yesterday. Small dark roast – black.🙂

            • Posted August 24, 2016 at 11:17 am | Permalink

              Why is the fact that most Canadians are crazy about coffee embarrassing? (I’m not, I can’t stand even the smell.) But as far as recreational drugs go we could do worse than caffeine.

  8. gravelinspector-Aidan
    Posted August 23, 2016 at 9:33 am | Permalink

    Someone in that photo is desperately trying (and failing) to keep a straight face. It’s not the beaver.
    On the missing icons of Canadiana, it would be gneiss if the bedrock of Canadiana were there.

  9. Randall Schenck
    Posted August 23, 2016 at 9:34 am | Permalink

    At least it’s a beaver and not a Bieber, eh.

  10. steve oberski
    Posted August 23, 2016 at 9:44 am | Permalink

    So I was sitting on my chesterfield wondering what’s all the fuss aboot, eh ?

  11. Torbjörn Larsson
    Posted August 23, 2016 at 9:51 am | Permalink

    Canada for beaver!

  12. Posted August 23, 2016 at 10:30 am | Permalink

    just to add to Diana’s comment: Swiss Chalet dipping sauce is basically a type of gravy, with a strong rosemary flavour, too weird for non-Canadians perhaps, since I didn’t like it at first, and after 20+ years living in Canada I now enjoy it very much, but my wife still won’t even smell it, and when we have family visiting from abroad, their reaction is the same: they try it once, but don’t like it.

  13. John Taylor
    Posted August 23, 2016 at 10:40 am | Permalink

    Swiss Chalet dipping sauce??? You must mean St. Hubert dipping sauce. It was a sad, sad day for the people of Quebec when Cara’s bought out St. Hubert’s.

    They had better not mess with the dipping sauce.

  14. mordacious1
    Posted August 23, 2016 at 10:44 am | Permalink

    Round bacon…

  15. Dean
    Posted August 23, 2016 at 10:45 am | Permalink

    I think the Mountie is just hoping the beaver doesn’t poop on his red serge!

    So many of the so-called icons of Canadian-ness embarrass me. Our mass-market beer is just a different variety of garbage from everyone else’s mass-market beer. Tim Hortons is bad coffee and boring doughnuts. Swiss Chalet? I’ve eaten there once in my life, and I don’t even remember the gravy.

    Of all the things Canadians can be proud of, these aren’t them.

    • Diana MacPherson
      Posted August 23, 2016 at 11:56 am | Permalink

      What about Optimum Points?

    • Diana MacPherson
      Posted August 23, 2016 at 2:05 pm | Permalink

      Once at work, I looked over, while cleaning the snow off my car with a snow brush, and saw my friend cleaning the snow off her car with a hockey stick. What an everyday Canadian moment!

  16. Alpha Neil
    Posted August 23, 2016 at 11:31 am | Permalink

    Nice beaver

  17. Christoph
    Posted August 23, 2016 at 2:06 pm | Permalink

    The story doesn’t mention if the Mountie apologized to the beaver for picking him up.

  18. Posted August 23, 2016 at 2:24 pm | Permalink

    Even with those gloves, I’d be a bit nervous holding an animal whose teeth can fell trees.

  19. John Dentinger
    Posted August 23, 2016 at 4:52 pm | Permalink

    If you grew up Canadian, you know about grabbin’ your buddies and a two-four and goin’ sideroadin’.

  20. Billy Bl.
    Posted August 23, 2016 at 6:55 pm | Permalink

    I must be a bad Canadian. I had to Google “double double” to find out what it was. But I remember when Tim Horton put a puck right through the net on a slapshot.

    • Moishe
      Posted August 24, 2016 at 1:11 am | Permalink

      I remember when Tim Horton had his leg and jaw broken from a body check by Bill Gadsby.

      The ref said it was the hardest clean hit he’d ever seen.

  21. chrism
    Posted August 24, 2016 at 5:31 am | Permalink

    True story: some years ago I was interviewed by a mountie investigating a crime in which a patient of mine was allegedly involved. His name? Sgt. Keith Beaver! I’m sure his name had some slight influence on his attainment of that rank…

