Website matters


Metro goldwyn MayerJust a few notes to keep this site tidy:

Let me remind new readers here (or regulars who haven’t seen these guidelines) to read “Da Roolz” (the website posting rules) before you wade in and begin posting. You can find them on the sidebar, or at this link.  There are entirely too many people coming here for the first time and making nasty or uncivil remarks. Yes, I know the internet is a rough-and-tumble place, but I don’t allow commenters to behave rudely or uncivilly towards other readers on this site. Those who do will get a warning (usually) or a private email.

Also, if I find you changing your email address or name to circumvent a ban or moderation, you will be permanently banned. Several people have done that, and it doesn’t work for long. If you’ve been bounced, accept your fate and find some other websites.

Please don’t ask me to publicize your blogs, article, products, or other output; it puts me in an awkward position. If you’ve produced something that you think might interest readers, just send it to me and say that. (This is covered by Rule 17). I’ll be the judge of its relevance.

Please send me no more than one email per day, for it’s all I can do to keep on top of stuff right now. “Readers’ wildlife” photos, however, are an exception and can be sent any time. (Please make sure your photos are good ones, comparable to the quality of the stuff I put up most mornings. You do not have to be a professional, though!). Another exception are emails pointing out typos or other glitches in my posts; I am glad to get these and will fix the errors.

Finally, thanks to all the readers for contributing; so yes, if you find something that you think will interest all or most of it, email it to me. You can find my email address by Googling my name and the name of my university, or by clicking at the “Research Interests” link at the upper left of the main page.




  1. Damien McLeod
    Posted August 22, 2016 at 9:40 am | Permalink

    Right on Dr.Coyne.

  2. Posted August 22, 2016 at 9:52 am | Permalink

    Thank you!

  3. dabertini
    Posted August 22, 2016 at 11:14 am | Permalink

    I live by da roolz!!

  4. Sameer
    Posted August 22, 2016 at 11:40 am | Permalink

    How do I know if I am banned or not. I don’t comment very frequently and I think last couple of my comments didn’t show up. So I am wondering if I am banned for life.

    • Posted August 22, 2016 at 11:58 am | Permalink

      No, you’re moderated, which means I have to approve every comment you make. I’m usually generous about that, approving all comments that aren’t either off the wall or Roolz violations.

  5. Posted August 22, 2016 at 4:10 pm | Permalink

    Interesting article in last week’s Time Magazine on Internet trolls.

