“Nuts for squirrels”

A while back the University of Chicago College Magazine, The Core, interviewed me by phone about my squirrels—the ones I feed on my windowsill. I gather they’d learned about my sciurophilia from this website, and they were doing a piece on the campus squirrels. Well, of course I obliged them with an interview as well as pictures I took of my adopted rodents. The result is an article that’s just appeared online (free): “Nuts for squirrels.” I talk a bit about my squirrels, and they show several  of my photos (there’s only one picture in the hard-copy magazine). Here are three. I particularly like the first one, as it’s actually a pile of three baby squirrels sleeping on my windowsill.





  1. GBJames
    Posted August 19, 2016 at 2:43 pm | Permalink


  2. Posted August 19, 2016 at 2:43 pm | Permalink



    They look so happy!

  3. Diana MacPherson
    Posted August 19, 2016 at 3:17 pm | Permalink

    The second to last photo is extra cute. I seem to recall a kind reader helped with the first photo to make it fancier.

  4. Alexander
    Posted August 19, 2016 at 3:23 pm | Permalink

    Do they really crack the walnuts open?

  5. Posted August 19, 2016 at 3:34 pm | Permalink

    They didn’t include the story about the one who purloined an entire bag of walnuts.

  6. Randall Schenck
    Posted August 19, 2016 at 4:29 pm | Permalink

    I am still getting good use from my Sneezy the Squirrel 2016 calendar. Nutty fact for August: A squirrel must bury a whopping 10,000 nuts each fall — and remember where they are. But thanks to their amazing memories, some squirrels can find 95% of the nuts they buried.

    • Torbjörn Larsson
      Posted August 19, 2016 at 5:41 pm | Permalink

      So, once you go nuts, you can (almost always) go back!?

    • Posted August 20, 2016 at 6:59 am | Permalink

      I vaguely remember reading, right here on this site, that squirrels don’t really remember where they’ve buried nuts. The explanation was that they dig for them in places that squirrels instinctively consider appropriate places to bury them (or something like that).

      It was probably about a year ago that I read it. Maybe someone can find it in the archives.

  7. Ken Elliott
    Posted August 19, 2016 at 5:15 pm | Permalink

    The history on your pet skunk shines some light on your affinity for the campus squirrels outside your window. Pretty cool.

    While I don’t have the same level of affinity, I am thoroughly enjoying the birds, squirrels, and rabbits outside and around our house. I look forward to the leaves falling off the trees in order to watch the squirrels get fat and furry again this winter. This past summer has been fun, watching the teeny, tiny, slim, trim squirrels frolic and play, watching a slew of rabbits avoid the stew, and especially the catching glimpses of cardinals and blue jays. Brilliant!

  8. Posted August 19, 2016 at 6:57 pm | Permalink

    I LOOOOOOOOVE squirrels!!!!! I have 13 that come to the feeders that I set out for them daily. I love seeing the baby squirrels playing and wrestling around in our yard. A few months ago a baby squirrel was wrestling with a pine cone…it was fun to see the pine cone overtake the baby squirrel at times. Heehee! I especially love the photo of your baby squirrels!!

  9. Alpha Neil
    Posted August 19, 2016 at 8:35 pm | Permalink

    My grandmother had squirrels that would climb up her screen door and shake it to let her know they wanted fed. So I guess the squirrels had a grandmother rather than the other way around.

  10. marlonrh
    Posted August 19, 2016 at 10:42 pm | Permalink

    I used to live a short walk from the University of Texas campus, home of many tame squirrels. Sometimes I would take a bag of nuts over to the student center and sit outside where some of the squirrels would climb up on my lap to beg for treats. That was cute until one of them decided to pee on my lap.

  11. gravelinspector-Aidan
    Posted August 20, 2016 at 8:18 am | Permalink

    The look of “where do I start?” on the face of the one contemplating a walnut not far off the size of it’s own head. There’s an advert in there : “Priceless.”

  12. Posted August 20, 2016 at 10:41 pm | Permalink

    My squirrels and wild birds are all eading dry cat food. Lucky for me, as it keeps things simple and economical. My cats watch as though the window is kitty TV.

