Thursday: Hili dialogue

A week ago I was in Dobrzyn with my friends, eating cherry pie and having a good petting session with Hili. Today I’m in Chicago, catless, and will have peanut butter sandwiches for lunch. So it goes on August 18, 2016.  In Thailand, it’s National Sciences Day, commemorating, according to Wikipedia, “King Mongkut’s prediction and observation of a total solar eclipse in 1868.”

On this day in 1920, the Nineteenth Amendment to the Constitution was ratified by the requisite 36 states (3/4 of the 48 states), finally guaranteeing women the right to vote. (It was ultimately ratified by all 48 states existing then, with Mississippi, the Backward State, ratifying as late at 1984!). It amazes me that it took so long, but of course Switzerland granted women suffrage only in 1971! How did Swiss women tolerate that?

Notables born on this day include Robert Redford, who, born in 1936, turns 80 today. Hard to believe. As I’ve said frequently, if I could have looked like any man, it would be either Steve Stills in his early 20s or Robert Redford in his early 30s. The handsomest living actor! On this day in 1990, B. F. Skinner died at the age of 86. He was buried in a Skinner Box LOL. Meanwhile in Dobrzyn, Andrzej and Hili have a dialogue that nobody–including Malgorzata–understands. I apologize for its opacity!

A: What are you musing about?
Hili: About the problem of freedom and responsibility.
A: Meaning?
Hili: If I went there I wouldn’t be here and I’m fine here.
In Polish:
Ja: Nad czym dumasz?
Hili: Nad problemem wolności i odpowiedzialności.
Ja: To znaczy?
Hili: Jak pójdę tam, to mnie nie będzie tu, a tu mi dobrze.
And, as respite and lagniappe, I present you with The Peace of the Sleeping Gus:


  1. darrelle
    Posted August 18, 2016 at 6:34 am | Permalink


  2. Lee Beringsmith
    Posted August 18, 2016 at 6:53 am | Permalink

    Welcome home, guess all good things must end, but a peanut butter sandwich after eating cherry pie for a week. That is so sad, I feel your pain.

  3. Posted August 18, 2016 at 7:24 am | Permalink

    There is nothing wrong with peanut butter sandwiches, or better still peanut butter and JAM sandwiches.
    The depressing thing about a British schoolchild’s life is that he/she never is given a staple diet of peanut butter sandwiches. I believe this is why the USA is first at the Olympics and the British only second.

    • bluemaas
      Posted August 18, 2016 at 8:12 am | Permalink

      — — pb with .CHERRY. jam, not ?!

      Peanut butter and jam sandwiches got me through a lotta.lotta higher ed and, he himself states as so, one of my sons, who still nine years out shoulders quite a gargantuan heft of its debt, through law school.


      • Posted August 18, 2016 at 8:37 am | Permalink

        Oh I do remember it so well… me just a little tyke at school, opening my lunchbox yet again only to discover that it was…YES… it was again yet another peanut and jelly sandwich! And I was ever so happy – and never at all bored with it. Halcyon days!

        • bluemaas
          Posted August 18, 2016 at 9:18 am | Permalink

          Oooo: ‘halcyon’ ! What a fiiiine adjective !

          Ya’ know, on and from W E I T Dr Coyne and howiekornstein, I for one have in just a short span of time learned far more new – to – me words, researched their definitions and figured out their vast verbiage uses than, for developing and possessing my own lexicon, I ever did learn during formal schooling !

          Thank you, All !

  4. Randall Schenck
    Posted August 18, 2016 at 7:36 am | Permalink

    Don’t feel so bad. You could be married and still eating peanut butter sandwiches. Think I will take a Gus nap.

  5. Heather Hastie
    Posted August 18, 2016 at 12:04 pm | Permalink

    If I’ve got the geography of Hili’s home correct, she is looking towards where Malgorzata and Andrzej sit to produce ‘Listy’. Perhaps Hili is thinking of her responsibilities as editor, and acknowledging that’s where she should be, but she’s perfectly happy to remain on the sofa.

  6. Posted August 18, 2016 at 2:09 pm | Permalink

    Shermer reports that the 19th amendment passed because (seemingly) one young senator (?) got a letter from his mother …

    • bluemaas
      Posted August 18, 2016 at 4:56 pm | Permalink

      Mr Douglas: re 18 August y1920 ?

      You know, do you, the wholly exciting and utterly fantastic story behind the violently chased and nearly bludgeoned – to – death, 24 – year – old son, Harry, and Phoebe (Febb) (his eastern Tennessee, at – the – last – minute – telegram – sending mama) Burn, do you ? !

      Of thus: ?!

      I am so inspirited ! Almost no one, now in my wider sphere, knows of it. And this story, as mama to three sons of my own, is one of the very, very few favored sagas of my whole life !

      An entire ( sadly, only virtual / e – ) bouquet of YELLOW ROSES to you, Sir !


