Tuesday: Hili Dialogue

by Grania

Good morning! Jerry is in the skies at the moment, the holiday is sadly over. He will check in with us when he can, wifi permitting.

Today is the anniversary of the death of Elvis Presley back in 1977 (remember the Elvis is still alive conspiracy theories that used to abound?)

His music was never particularly my taste (although I have a few friends who will disown me for that admission) however he had an undeniable influence on rock and roll and other genres both contemporaneously and for decades afterwards.

Here is Jailhouse Rock from 1957 where he is all young and fresh-faced and innocent looking.

This is probably the Presley track I like the most, the JXL bowdlerised version of A little less conversation from 2002.

Hili is acknowledging the end of her holidays as well, although I suspect that her business as usual days look suspiciously similar to her leisure days.

A: You haven’t been here for a long time.
Hili: The holiday is over, it’s time to get back to the duties of the editor-in-chief.

In Polish:

Ja: Dawno cię tu nie było.
Hili: Wakacje się skończyły, trzeba wrócić do obowiązków naczelnej.

The bold explorer Leon is still on his travels though.

Leon: I will just check whether we are going in the right direction.




Since I posted the Elvis video this morning, Youtube has updated my Recommended Viewing lists and has completely repopulated the My Mix lists. It’s my own fault. I literally brought this on myself.



  1. Dominic
    Posted August 16, 2016 at 6:37 am | Permalink

    On(BBC)Radio 4’s Sunday 7.15 religious programme (I like to know what the religions are up to now & then) the ‘cult’ of Presley was likened to a religion, having many of the trappings of a religion – pilgrimage, priests -Elvis impersonators (!), etc.
    Here is website about that –

    • gravelinspector-Aidan
      Posted August 16, 2016 at 10:45 am | Permalink

      Didn’t Python do a sketch on those lines. Or maybe it was Disaster Area in H2G2. Or Spinal Tap?
      No, it was the Ruttles, and their “we’re bigger than God” comments.
      I would be severely disappointed in the Bikers and Greebos of the world if there weren’t an obscure Scottish Island somewhere where Britt Eklund-alikes were regularly burned in a 40ft tall wicker (Wicca?) Lemmy.

    • infiniteimprobabilit
      Posted August 16, 2016 at 7:19 am | Permalink

      With Bruce Campbell, I believe (not that I’ve seen the movie)


      • steve oberski
        Posted August 16, 2016 at 7:40 am | Permalink

        Well worth watching.

        Transcends genres, brilliant performances and great musical soundtrack.

  2. infiniteimprobabilit
    Posted August 16, 2016 at 7:36 am | Permalink

    Elvis was a favourite of my wife’s, not mine. There’s just one song of his that I think was great, You Were Always on my Mind.

    (As frequently happens, someone else recorded the song first, but Elvis had the hit with it. I’m not sure Elvis’s version is the best one though.)

    Obligatory link:


    • bluemaas
      Posted August 16, 2016 at 8:50 am | Permalink

      I, although not an across – his – entire – repertoire one, am like your spouse, infiniteimprobabilit, an Elvis fan.

      And my favored and obligatory link is thus ! http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Zf-fORxQvW0

      I know, I know: it is Mr Sinatra’s paean, but I very much prefer Elvis’ renditions thereof ! His of “My Way” and because for me the “Way” Elvis handles its lyrics so, so resonates, I actually adore !


    • Vaal
      Posted August 16, 2016 at 10:27 am | Permalink

      You beat me by one: there isn’t any Elvis song I think of as great. But then, he was never part of an idiom that spoke to me. Whereas many of Jerry’s musical selections have been compelling, Elvis leaves me completely cold and unmoved.

      His Karate moves were fun, though😉

    • Saul Sorrell-Till
      Posted August 16, 2016 at 11:37 am | Permalink

      Elvis always felt like cardboard cut-out rock & roll to me, ‘though he was very important for my dad when he was growing up.

      However! If I can recommend any one song ever recorded it’s a song by Spiritualized, an English psychedelic band, and it’s called Ladies And Gentlemen We Are Floating In Space. Its underlying chord structure is based on Pachelbel’s Canon In D(the wedding march), it incorporates a section of Elvis’s ‘I Can’t Help Falling In Love With You’ and it remains the most perfect piece of music I’ve ever heard.

      There was a big legal hullabaloo after its release when the Presley estate outlawed the original version of the song, but it was resolved a decade or so later, and if I could get the world to listen to one song it would be the full, Elvis-incorporating version of Ladies And Gentlemen We Are Floating In Space. So, although I’ve never really liked The King I can appreciate the gravitas of his voice and his iconic status, and that some of his songs have a kind of mythical quality that better artists still revere, and even want to co-opt.

  3. E.A. Blair
    Posted August 16, 2016 at 7:58 am | Permalink

    I never cared for Presley, and wasn’t even particularly saddened by his death. When he recorded Heartbreak Hotel, he didn’t even have the decency to sing it like he was even slightly upset – in fact, he almost sounded cheerful. It took John Cale, along with Kevin Ayers, Eno and Nico, to make the song not only depressing but downright suicidal.

    • JonLynnHarvey
      Posted August 16, 2016 at 12:09 pm | Permalink

      I kinda sorta liked Presley but was saddened that his death got a LOT more year-end attention than that of Charlie Chaplin who died the same year on Christmas day with relatively little notice. I’m Ok with Presley but Chaplin is a hero of mine.

  4. Frank Bath
    Posted August 16, 2016 at 8:50 am | Permalink

    So pleased to see people dissing Elvis. ‘The King of Rock ‘n’ Roll’ had quite a nice voice but he failed to make it with me once he left Sun Records, where he, and Sam, did great things for black white crossover music. He recorded several good songs as it turned out but among so many that was almost certain to happen.

  5. George
    Posted August 16, 2016 at 9:00 am | Permalink

    Those are not conspiracy theories about Elvis – they are the TRUTH! Just a week ago, I saw Elvis buying a scratch off lottery ticket at Seven Eleven.

  6. Kevin
    Posted August 16, 2016 at 9:53 am | Permalink

    JXL bowdlerised version of A little less conversation is my favorite too.

  7. Merilee
    Posted August 16, 2016 at 10:04 am | Permalink

    Lay it on me daddy-o.

  8. Posted August 16, 2016 at 11:24 am | Permalink

    I too am not an Elvis fan, but he seems to have been one of those guys who just changed everything – for whatever reason.

  9. JonLynnHarvey
    Posted August 16, 2016 at 12:14 pm | Permalink

    I didn’t watch Jay Leno on the Tonight Show often, but one of my favorite cracks of his was about Elvis sightings.

    In 1990, there was a critically acclaimed but little-watched television series about the young Elvis before he got famous entitled simply “Elvis” that ran 13 episodes.

    Leno remarked that the Neilson ratings for this show were so low, that “more people have seen Elvis than have seen ‘Elvis'”.🙂

  10. Heather Hastie
    Posted August 16, 2016 at 3:27 pm | Permalink

    I don’t care what anyone else says; although not a big fan, I enjoyed listening to Elvis. Watching the Jailhouse Rock clip I realize he was the original pole dancer.

    Thanks for keeping things ticking over when Jerry couldn’t Grania! I need my morning fix of Hili and other WEIT stuff, and you do Jerry proud.🙂

  11. revelator60
    Posted August 16, 2016 at 4:41 pm | Permalink

    Wow, not many Elvis fans in the comments section. I will stick my neck out and say that Elvis Presley was a great artist–not merely because he was one of the first to combine country music with rhythm and blues, in his epochal Sun sessions (“Mystery Train,” “That’s Alright Mama,” “Blue Moon of Kentucky”)–but also because had one of the greatest voices in American popular music. He was far more than a rock’n’roller, being equally adept at blues (“Reconsider Baby,” “Tiger Man”), r&b (“Like a Baby,” “One Night”), country (“Long Black Limousine” and the entire “Elvis Country” album), operatic pop “It’s Now or Never,” “Surrender,” “Hurt”), soul (“Suspicious Minds,” “Any Day Now”), ballads (“That’s Someone You Never Forget,” “Anything That’s Part of You”) and gospel (his albums “His Hand in Mine” and “How Great Thou Art”). If you want to see him at his best, watch his 1968 Comeback Special, one of the greatest live performances in Rock and Roll, as seen in this version of “One Night”:

    • bluemaas
      Posted August 17, 2016 at 1:04 pm | Permalink

      O my, revelator60 ! MY thanks !

      .THAT. (link), indeed, was mighty fine !


    • Diane G.
      Posted August 23, 2016 at 3:53 pm | Permalink

      Finally a fan!

      I might add that when I was around middle-school age, he was about the sexiest guy alive. Plus, someone had to come along and shake (ahem) us out of our Leave It To Beaver/Ozzie & Harriet, pop-cultural stupor. Southern rockabilly was one of the first to sport that dangerous edge…

      Elvis would be far more venerated had he died young, like some subsequent rock stars. Or contemporaries, for that matter–Buddy Holly, et al., e.g.

  12. Richard
    Posted August 17, 2016 at 12:22 am | Permalink

    Cue very old joke:

    If Elvis were alive today, what would he be doing now? Tapping on the lid.

  13. Ken Daniels
    Posted August 22, 2016 at 9:39 pm | Permalink

    Everyone’s entitled to their opinions, of course, but there sure seem to be a lot of snooty haters on this thread.

    A little trivia:

    Elvis Presley is the only artist that I’m aware of that has been inducted into the American Rock, Country and Gospel music halls of fame.

    • Posted August 23, 2016 at 4:39 am | Permalink

      “Snooty haters”? You have no idea what you’re talking about; some people said they don’t care for his music. You call them “snooty” because they don’t like Elvis as much as you. And asserting that he’s in three halls of fame just means that a lot of people liked him and he was influential, but there are a lot of people who don’t care for his music, including me. Does that make us snooty haters?

      Nope; it makes you rude. I suggest you go elsewhere, perhaps to an Elvis-worship forum, to have your subjective tastes reinforced.

