Spot the katydid!

In lieu of “readers’ wildlife” today, and in view of my impending trip, we’ll have a modified reader’s wildlife:a “spot the X” quiz.

This qualifies as pretty hard, I think; it comes from reader Mark Sturtevant, who says this:

Katydids are really good at hiding. After I see one fly and settle into the weeds, I often have a hard time seeing them up close even when I know exactly where they should be. Most are much harder than this one. Can you spot the katydid?

I’ll put the answer below the line (click on “read more”, but I’ve learned that sometimes the reveal is on Twi**er, and there’s not much I can do about that.

SpotKatydid

Here’s the katydid!

ThereSheIs

16 Comments

  1. Jonathan Wallace
    Posted August 15, 2016 at 7:40 am | Permalink

    Found it! Not easy though…

  2. GBJames
    Posted August 15, 2016 at 8:07 am | Permalink

    Wow. Totally missed it.

  3. kansaskitty
    Posted August 15, 2016 at 8:34 am | Permalink

    Good one. I couldn’t find it, and I’m quite familiar with katydids – there are zillions in my neck of the woods.

  4. littleboybrew
    Posted August 15, 2016 at 9:22 am | Permalink

    I would not stop ’til I found it…

  5. Paul Matthews
    Posted August 15, 2016 at 9:27 am | Permalink

    Wow I actually found this one quickly. It helps to be able to enlarge the image. I’m usually pretty hopeless at these, though.

  6. darrelle
    Posted August 15, 2016 at 9:59 am | Permalink

    Good one, but found it. Though it took two scans.

  7. Posted August 15, 2016 at 2:22 pm | Permalink

    Does anyone else keep thinking “What katydid next?”

    • Heather Hastie
      Posted August 15, 2016 at 3:10 pm | Permalink

      Yes! I read those books as a kid, though I can’t remember them very well.

  8. Posted August 15, 2016 at 3:58 pm | Permalink

    Er… I think there are two. I found another one in a different part of the photo. I don’t know how to embed photos here, so I’ll send it to you separately.

    • JohnnieCanuck
      Posted August 15, 2016 at 4:35 pm | Permalink

      I found something about halfway up and one third in from the right. I think I can see two legs and part of a body. It doesn’t seem to be the same size as the highlighted one and is mostly hidden. An instar perhaps?

      • Mark Sturtevant
        Posted August 15, 2016 at 5:50 pm | Permalink

        I think I see it. Yes, it could be.

      • Mark Sturtevant
        Posted August 15, 2016 at 5:54 pm | Permalink

        Zooming in closer, I am pretty sure it is a snowy tree cricket. Cool!

      • Posted August 16, 2016 at 7:39 am | Permalink

        Yes, that’s what I saw.

  9. infiniteimprobabilit
    Posted August 15, 2016 at 6:15 pm | Permalink

    Easy. It’s green, and in the middle of the red box.

    cr

    • infiniteimprobabilit
      Posted August 15, 2016 at 6:16 pm | Permalink

      Oops, sorry for the spoiler!

      đŸ˜¦

      cr

    • HaggisForBrains
      Posted August 16, 2016 at 4:56 am | Permalink

      There’s a red box?! Red/green colour deficiency doesn’t help!


