Monday: Hili dialogue

Today’s date I won’t screw up, as I’m taking the noon train to Warsaw and spending the night at the airport hotel before a morning departure. I’ll be back in Chicago tomorrow afternoon. Posting will be light today and tomorrow.

And so it is August 15, 2016: Independence Day in both North and South Korea, though it’s meaningless in the North, and also Independence Day in the Republic of the Congo and in India. (In the case of India, the date and time for declaring independence from Britain—midnight at the end of August 14—was decided by Lord Mountbatten’s “lucky date” and by Indian astrologers). Finally, it’s Constitution Day in Equatorial Guinea and National Day in Liechtenstein (do we have any readers from either place?)

On this day in 1939, The Wizard of Oz opened at Grauman’s Chinese theater in Los Angeles, and exactly thirty years later the Woodstock Music and Art Fair began in upstate New York.

Notables born on this day include Napoleon Bonaparte (1769), Julia Child (1912), and Princess Anne (1950♥). Those who died on this day include Will Rogers (1939). Meanwhile in Dobrzyn, my solipsistic cat friend says farewell:

Jerry: It’s time to say goodbye.
Hili: That’s sad. I wonder what are you going to bring me next time.
In Polish:
Jerry: Pora się żegnać.
Hili: To smutne, zastanawiam się, co mi przywieziesz następnym razem.

And in Winnipeg, Gus is being cute (i.e., being himself):



  1. gravelinspector-Aidan
    Posted August 15, 2016 at 7:30 am | Permalink

    Today’s date I won’t screw up, as I’m taking the noon train to Warsaw

    Cue non-stop train to Lviv and a flight to Ulan Bataar. The misleading signs are being erected as we speak.

  2. Posted August 15, 2016 at 8:26 am | Permalink

    A lovely picture of Gus. Have a safe trip and we’ll miss your postings.

  3. bluemaas
    Posted August 15, 2016 at 3:16 pm | Permalink

    Out of all of the few things I have done within my lifetime,* .the. one accomplishment m’three kiddos use when introducing me to their friends is, “This is my mama, Blue. She was at Woodstock.”


    *including exactly nine years later, giving birth on 15 August to m’own one of those kiddos ! Jacob is, o’course, 38 today !

