Gems from the PuffHo food section

The Wall Street Journal reports that Arianna Huffington is leaving her odious website in about a year. Having never gotten anything but tsouris from it (and, I suppose, a lot of posts on this site), it can’t happen too soon for me, and I’m hoping that, as the most popular Regressive Leftist news aggregator, it will disappear:

Huffington Post’s practice of not paying many of its contributors—arguing that they were benefiting from exposure to the site’s large number of visitors—brought criticism. In 2011, the National Writers Union and the News Guild called for a boycott of the site.

Despite regularly drawing more than 100 million unique visitors a month, the site has failed to consistently turn a profit.

Arianna’s moving on to Bigger Things, like Life Improvement: a company devoted to “health and wellness” (is there a difference?). But I’ll shamefully admit that I still look at the site almost daily. It’s been a source of great merriment, and of course copious fodder for this site.

Here’s what I read at HuffPo:

1.) The religion section, so I can see the ludicrous lengths the site goes to osculate faith, like this (all screenshots have links if you must read the stuff):

Screen Shot 2016-08-13 at 10.25.50 AM

I also look forward to the daily pro-hijab post (on Arianna’s orders, there’s always one).

2.) The travel section. I’m always hoping to find good information on where to go, but I’ve almost never found any. Instead, there’s stuff like this:

Screen Shot 2016-08-13 at 11.14.49 AM

Well, the BBQ and fried chicken are good, but . . .

3.) The food section. Here I’ve derived occasional benefits from learning about new restaurants (usually through links), but the site has gone downhill since Arianna decided that it should deal largely with how to use leftover food. I went over there today, and here’s what I learned (again, screenshots have links):

They don’t know how to use apostrophes:

Screen Shot 2016-08-13 at 5.56.27 AM

That you can stuff cucumbers with things and make “sushi”, and it’s a “genius idea”:

Screen Shot 2016-08-13 at 5.58.12 AM

And finally, that we had better get used to a fork/chopstick combination called “chorks”. Or else!!

Screen Shot 2016-08-13 at 6.03.30 AM


  1. BobTerrace
    Posted August 13, 2016 at 2:44 pm | Permalink

    Have never gone to PuffHo but I do want chorks.

  2. JonLynnHarvey
    Posted August 13, 2016 at 2:55 pm | Permalink

    Some folks define wellness as a kind of optimal wellbeing rather than just the absence of disease, the latter being health.

    According to the UC Davis student health services,

    “Wellness is an active process of becoming aware of and making choices toward a healthy and fulfilling life. Wellness is more than being free from illness, it is a dynamic process of change and growth”. (Health is just a status of being disease-free.)

    However…., the World Health Organization has definitely NOT signed up for this dual definition, so I think this is a rather recent formulation (and a bit New Agey).

    In blue-collar circles in parts of the MidWest, “healthy” is a cat-call term used in for an attractive woman, like “This babe is healthy!!”. Are they going to have to change this to say “This babe is well!!”? It doesn’t sound the same.

    • Christopher
      Posted August 13, 2016 at 9:12 pm | Permalink

      I thought referring to a woman who was “healthy” meant she had ample breasts, but I’ve not heard that in a long time.
      I prefer the UK slang for someone being attractive, as in “she’s well fit!” Of course, any of these are better than “she appears to be lacking in any outward signs of venereal diseases or parasites”.

    • Posted August 14, 2016 at 2:25 pm | Permalink

      I think that language does not need the word “wellness”, and the realm of thought does not need the idea behind it.
      In my experience, it is invariably associated with quackery.

  3. Frank Bath
    Posted August 13, 2016 at 3:26 pm | Permalink

    I like the stab yourself in the eye ‘chorks’.

  4. Posted August 13, 2016 at 3:26 pm | Permalink

    The Puffington Host is like 1 big hipster fail, or success, depending on 5 easy ways you never saw coming to be way ahead of the haters.

  5. Heather Hastie
    Posted August 13, 2016 at 3:31 pm | Permalink

    I never look at HuffPo unless someone refers me to an article. I never read so-called “women’s magazines” either. And I never watch reality TV. I feel like I can’t complain these things exist if I’m a consumer of them.

    For the same reason I DO watch Fox News (although there are some shows I can’t stomach like Hannity and Judge Jenine). Most of the people who complain about Fox actually never watch it. They’re just spouting other people’s opinions.

    I want to make it clear though that I’m not being self-righteous here or judging other people. This is just one of my things. We all have our things where we make a stand and which others don’t think are worth worrying about.

    • Randall Schenck
      Posted August 13, 2016 at 4:37 pm | Permalink

      I must say that I do not watch fox news because the news and people there are about as unbalanced as is gets. Can’t even tell you what channel it is on. I realize you go there because it’s your job, kind of. I also do not watch MSNBC for the same reasons. I stomach a little CNN but wish they had continued with Al Jazeera America because it was better than any of these others. Sure, I was probably one of 5 people in America that watched but so what, it was better than the other crap. Billy Bob from anywhere U.S.A. would never watch anything with Al Jazeera in the name unless all the news people were female and naked.

      One of the main reasons it failed besides, no ratings is that they were too objective. Imagine, objective news.

      • Heather Hastie
        Posted August 13, 2016 at 5:28 pm | Permalink

        We don’t get MSNBC here, but we get Al Jazeera English so I watch that sometimes, as well as CNN. I find they both depend on the presenter and the topic whether or not they’re fair. Even Fox can be fair sometimes – some presenters make a genuine effort. I’d say that when it comes to Republicans and conservatives the ones who try and get it right and reasonably fair, but it’s rare to see fairness accorded to a Democratic politician or cause.

  6. jaxkayaker
    Posted August 13, 2016 at 3:32 pm | Permalink

    Maybe the inability to use apostrophes properly, along with other linguistic failures, is evidence the writers don’t deserve to be paid for their dreck, and wouldn’t otherwise be published.

  7. ed hessler
    Posted August 13, 2016 at 4:00 pm | Permalink

    HuffPo has been a quick and easy, near-daily scan for me. I’ve taken advantage of their packrat intent. It has led me through their links to stuff I would miss.

    It was the first paper to put news about Trump in the entertainment section (as a candidate among the several) and there is never an article about him which doesn’t end without a summary of who he is.

  8. kansaskitty
    Posted August 13, 2016 at 4:06 pm | Permalink

    Well, I do agree that Kansas City is a most lovable city! It has much more to offer than BBQ & fried chicken! KC Royals, Nelson-Atkins Museum of Art, Crossroads art district, Kauffman Center for the Performing Arts, the Country Club Plaza, Sprint Center, Harry S. Truman Library, National World War 1 Museum & Memorial, Sporting KC, Chiefs, etc etc. The best part, a laid back atmosphere & friendly people.

    • Posted August 14, 2016 at 12:10 am | Permalink

      I didnt say it was A loveble city; I took issue with the claim that it was THE most lovable. Paris and Prague, for instance, would give it a good run for the money. . .

      • Posted August 14, 2016 at 2:28 pm | Permalink

        Maybe the reference opinion was of Dorothy from The Wizard of Oz.

  9. John Conoboy
    Posted August 13, 2016 at 4:07 pm | Permalink

    I have little use for the site and only look at it if someone posts a link that looks mildly interesting. I do, however, have a lot of use for Kansas City BBQ, especially Arthur Bryant’s.

  10. Kevin
    Posted August 13, 2016 at 4:43 pm | Permalink

    I discovered HuffPo almost the same week it came out and had great hopes. I turned away after six months and it was hard to stop reading since it is very addictive but now it is clear that it is such a deleterious unenrichment for almost all that wants to inspire.

  11. Christopher
    Posted August 13, 2016 at 5:03 pm | Permalink

    If I were feeling charitable, I might correct the headline to read “6 Reasons Kansas City is an almost tolerable city”, but other earlier posts seem to differ. I can admit that it is improving, perhaps thanks to Mayor Sly James, but honestly, anything we have to offer can be found elsewhere, and usually is of higher quality. It’s midwestern “Meh”. but, to each their own.

    • Randybes
      Posted August 13, 2016 at 9:36 pm | Permalink

      World War 1 museum is also elsewhere? Truman Library is Independence but close enough to KC

  12. Posted August 13, 2016 at 5:06 pm | Permalink

    Chorks are the new sporks. Deal with it.

    I have only ever read three articles on the Huff Post since its inception. One by the new age motivational speaker James Ray where he was lecturing Obama about how the laws of physics mean we create our own reality and don’t need health care; a second by another motivational speaker saying that maybe James Ray killed three people but he’s not responsible creating for creating that reality and getting himself locked up; and a third by the new age cancer quack biologist Bruce Lipton, whose ideas I will not indicate on a site like this, on compassionate grounds.

    Okay, and a fourth — I just clicked on the Pope Francis link because it looked like a good chance for some pointing and laughing.

  13. Hempenstein
    Posted August 13, 2016 at 8:38 pm | Permalink

    Only read PuffHo if linked here or by a friend.

    Otherwise, unless those chorks snap apart, they’re just tweezers/forceps.

  14. kelskye
    Posted August 13, 2016 at 11:14 pm | Permalink

    Looking at those headlines and the information they don’t pay their contributors, the old adage “you get what you pay for” comes to mind.

  15. Dale Franzwa
    Posted August 14, 2016 at 12:42 am | Permalink

    I saw this story a day or two ago on CNBC. The anchors and guests then had a little fun speculating on what the new name for the site should be after Arianna’s departure. One anchor suggested: PostHuffington. I suppose that could be abbreviated: PHuff.

  16. infiniteimprobabilit
    Posted August 14, 2016 at 3:36 am | Permalink

    So what the hell is a ‘spork’?


    • HaggisForBrains
      Posted August 14, 2016 at 4:37 am | Permalink

      Doesn’t matter; it’s been replaced now. Pay attention!

      • infiniteimprobabilit
        Posted August 14, 2016 at 4:47 am | Permalink


        I usually find a degree of judicious inattention works quite well. Whenever they introduced some marvellous new system or documentation at work, I used to quietly ignore it as long as I could. At least half the time said system had quietly faded into disuse before anyone got around to forcing me to use it.


        • kelskye
          Posted August 14, 2016 at 8:23 am | Permalink


  17. Posted August 14, 2016 at 3:46 am | Permalink

    Jerry, you might be what’s called an “anti-fan” — a still poorly understood type of media consumer who is knowledgeable and engages with content she doesn’t approve of. The reason for this seemingly odd behaviour has been linked by Henry Jenkins (2006) to another concept called the “monitorial citizen” (Schudsen, 1998)

    A monitorial citizen scans (rather than reads) the informational environment in a way so that he or she may be alerted on a very wide variety of issues for a very wide variety of ends and may be mobilized around those issues in a large variety of ways.

    What you get is the curious effect that people monitor something they dislike (like “Right Wing Watch”). Perhaps its comparable to a physician keeping an eye on an infection. I suspect there is an element of using the opposite viewpoints as a whetstone to develop your own thought. Good sources probably already say and do agreeable things, they leave less to do for your own mind. Hence, some people derive pleasure from engaging with content that is opposite of what they like.

    In my observation, this type is especially common in atheism and skepticism, a “movement” that is practically built on an “anti-fan” mode of engagement. The Socratean style of debunking possibly fused both of once separate atheism and skepticism together in the a/s movement and which also played its part in the protracted trench war against “atheism plus” or still with (so-called) social justice movement.

  18. marvol19
    Posted August 14, 2016 at 4:43 am | Permalink

    Surely chorks are, horror of horrors, Cultural Appropriation (TM) :O?

    How will the PuffHo readers square that particular regressive left circle?

