Spot the grasshopper!

Okay, this submission, sent by reader Gabe McNett, is definitely classified as HARD. His notes:

This is a second submission I’d like to offer for your “Spot the _____” series. In my last submission, a grass moth on a tree trunk, I joked how they reminded me of the way many banded-wing grasshoppers can disappear right in front of you. I just returned from the park with my kids where I took a picture of a banded-wing grasshopper.

I think this is a challenging one. It’s a Carolina grasshopper (Dissosteira carolina) resting on playground mulch. This species is often found in disturbed areas, such as fallow fields, unpaved roads, and barren soil where it feeds on grasses and other broadleaf plants. The crypsis of many banded-wing grasshoppers always amazes. Along with the picture key, I’ll also attach a slow-motion video (1/8thspeed) of the grasshopper taking flight as I approached it.

Dissosteira carolina_Banded-wing grasshopper_find

The reveals are below the fold (click “read more” below).

Here’s the hopper:

Dissosteira carolina_Banded-wing grasshopper_KEY

And the video:


  1. Posted August 7, 2016 at 8:36 am | Permalink

    Like the video.
    Nice challenge.

  2. Mark Sturtevant
    Posted August 7, 2016 at 8:51 am | Permalink

    Got it. Good ‘un!

  3. kansaskitty
    Posted August 7, 2016 at 9:00 am | Permalink

    Wow, I couldn’t find it. Good one.

  4. Myles Lawrence
    Posted August 7, 2016 at 10:04 am | Permalink

    Easy one. I saw it immediately. Probably from my youth chasing grasshoppers with my glass jars in tow. One thing to remember is these finds are usually in the center of the picture so no sense searching the perimeter – usually.

    • JohnnieCanuck
      Posted August 8, 2016 at 7:00 am | Permalink

      Likewise. The shadow gave it away.

  5. Ken Phelps
    Posted August 7, 2016 at 10:33 am | Permalink

    I see ten of them. Prove me wrong.

    [/theist mode]

    • rickflick
      Posted August 7, 2016 at 12:22 pm | Permalink

      You could be right. But it’s very unlikely.

      [/skeptic mode]

  6. ploubere
    Posted August 7, 2016 at 4:23 pm | Permalink

    I wasn’t entirely sure since the legs were hidden, but I did find it.

  7. infiniteimprobabilit
    Posted August 7, 2016 at 6:04 pm | Permalink

    Okay, so I looked at the ‘reveal’ picture with the red circle and clicked on it and blew it up to maximum magnification and I *still* can’t see the darn thing!


  8. Posted August 7, 2016 at 8:48 pm | Permalink

    Ha! Found it!

