Litter box fail

It’s the end of a long day for me; I’ve written much of my chidren’s book, worked on my talk for Monday, finished a blurb for a book, wrote posts here, pulled weeds, and raked rotten apples. So forgive me if all I have to offer is a kitten who’s not yet mastered the Big Kitten Litter Box:


  1. Posted August 4, 2016 at 2:42 pm | Permalink

    I love the music! Such kitten music!

  2. Woof
    Posted August 4, 2016 at 2:49 pm | Permalink

    Is that the HVAC inlet right next to the litter box? FAIL!

  3. Sastra
    Posted August 4, 2016 at 2:51 pm | Permalink

    Trump trying to come up with a coherent policy.

    Naawww, what am I doing? It’s cute.

  4. merilee
    Posted August 4, 2016 at 2:53 pm | Permalink

    She looked as if she was going to poop right on her leg at first. Poor kitty.

  5. Randall Schenck
    Posted August 4, 2016 at 3:04 pm | Permalink

    I’ve been there…

  6. Posted August 4, 2016 at 3:21 pm | Permalink

    Oh my gosh, I can’t stop smiling especially when she is starting to stand! I have a cat too and I feel blessed everyday.

  7. mikeyc
    Posted August 4, 2016 at 3:33 pm | Permalink

    Hi Dr Coyne

    Sorry for the OT….and I’m sorry to have missed it prior…but you’re writing a children’s book?!?!

    How excellent! What a great idea and you seem to have the kind of “voice” for a book for children. Or is it more for “young people”? I hope it’s on evolution! I have just the nieces and nephews in mind.

    If you’ve already explained it, my apologies; I’ll try a more thorough search of WEIT tonight for the background on the book. But I was excited to see the mention just now. I look forward to it.

  8. bluemaas
    Posted August 4, 2016 at 3:58 pm | Permalink

    Thus, Mr mikeyc:


  9. P. Puk
    Posted August 4, 2016 at 4:16 pm | Permalink

    Sorry but I watched this twice to make sure I wasn’t missing anything. All I saw was a dumb animal doing nothing in particular. No smarter than a finch. What did I miss?

    • Randall Schenck
      Posted August 4, 2016 at 4:48 pm | Permalink

      You should probably watch it again. Maybe the dumb animal isn’t in the box.

  10. Posted August 4, 2016 at 5:17 pm | Permalink

    BTW, if you are in loco parentis of a young kitten, you should rub it under the tail with a wet piece of cotton (imitating the mother’s tongue) to help the process.

  11. Posted August 4, 2016 at 5:46 pm | Permalink

    Very cute. Poor kitty, constipation sucks. Glad it was only a few times before the kitty acclimated to the hard food. I can relate – I’m lucky no video exists of the positions I’ve adopted trying to expedite matters. Let’s just say I once had to clean footprints off the bathroom wall…

    • Posted August 5, 2016 at 5:20 am | Permalink

      It did appear to be an existential experience, one that requires a beer and a rubdown after.

  12. bluemaas
    Posted August 4, 2016 at 6:26 pm | Permalink

    Another tale of the tail: with Doc actually able to reach and scratch that itch o’his !


  13. Posted August 4, 2016 at 6:43 pm | Permalink

    As always, it’s all about leverage.

    • bluemaas
      Posted August 4, 2016 at 7:09 pm | Permalink

      Wull, that’s it !
      That’s exactly it !


  14. jeffery
    Posted August 4, 2016 at 9:12 pm | Permalink

    It’s funny; while I watched it, I could swear I smelled cat poop, and I don’t even HAVE a cat. They say that smell is the sense that’s the most evocative of memory; perhaps the opposite is true, too?

  15. Posted August 5, 2016 at 12:05 am | Permalink

    How do cats learn to scratch up the sand behind them? Do their mothers show them? It’s been 50 years since one of mine had kittens and I don’t remember it.

    • Posted August 5, 2016 at 1:22 am | Permalink

      I’m pretty sure it’s instinctive (i.e. hard wired).

    • Woof
      Posted August 5, 2016 at 4:58 am | Permalink

      Way many years ago we took in a stray tiny baby kitteh that we found covering up her poop… with snow.

      We called her “Critter” so we wouldn’t get so attached to her as we looked for a new home for her. We had her for the next 15 years.

  16. David Harper
    Posted August 5, 2016 at 12:21 am | Permalink

    Poor little baby cat. So pretty too.

    Our (adult) tabby had a problem with constipation on one occasion, and the vet gave us a tube of Katalax as a remedy. It’s a laxative based on petroleum jelly. The instructions said to place a small amount on the cat’s paw, and the cat would then lick it off. Well, we did that, and the tabby sat there for a moment with a look of utter disgust on her face, then she shook her paw vigorously, and the Katalax went everywhere, including halfway up the living room wall.

    It still makes me smile to remember it.

    (We had to resort to smearing the stuff around the sides of her mouth to get the Katalax into her. She didn’t much like that, either, but she over her constipation very quickly.)

    • Merilee
      Posted August 5, 2016 at 9:16 am | Permalink

      Typical kitteh🙀

