How cats learn to mouse

I couldn’t resist reproducing this tw**t sent to me by Matthew Cobb, another Twi**er user whom I parasitize:


  1. Posted August 2, 2016 at 2:11 pm | Permalink

    I suppose getting pics and links from readers generally (not just from Twitter) is parasitizing the knowledge base of the readership. (PCC(E) is one of the smartest people I know. Now, if I could learn how to mimic some of his strategies and deploy them in public health venues, I’d be a happy critter.)

    Like the pic!🙂

  2. Alexander
    Posted August 2, 2016 at 2:17 pm | Permalink

    I think it is earlier than 1700, the painting might be inspired by Hieronymus Bosch, 1450-1516.

  3. Alexander
    Posted August 2, 2016 at 2:26 pm | Permalink

    I think this painting depicts a cat directing a chorus and orchestra, playing music. They have instruments or the cats seem to sing, forming a chorus. And replacing the depiction of musical notes by mice with tails makes sense.

  4. Peter
    Posted August 2, 2016 at 2:30 pm | Permalink

    Totally unrelated, but some good advice from Brisbane, Australia:

  5. darrelle
    Posted August 2, 2016 at 2:44 pm | Permalink

    What I want to know is what is going on with the winged creature above the book to the right of the owl? It appears to be playing a horn with its backside.

    • alexander
      Posted August 2, 2016 at 2:48 pm | Permalink

      Typical Hieronymus Bosch.

    • Jenny Haniver
      Posted August 2, 2016 at 4:15 pm | Permalink

      That must surely be the the devil or a demon playing his “posterior trumpet” as Alexander Pope would say. And surely Hieronymus Bosch as noted below, but I’d bet that such iconography is much older.

      • Doug
        Posted August 2, 2016 at 5:29 pm | Permalink

        Dante’s poem “Inferno,” which was written around 1310, has a scene in which a demon “made a trumpet of his ass,” so the image is at least that old. I’m not sure what that has to do with cats, though.

  6. Torbjörn Larsson
    Posted August 2, 2016 at 2:49 pm | Permalink


    Today we would see the cat mouse owl over a web page.

    • Ann German
      Posted August 2, 2016 at 2:56 pm | Permalink

      Today we would see a towel draped to cover the rear end of the winged creature.

  7. Posted August 3, 2016 at 2:15 am | Permalink

    Jerry, we’re all stronger together and life is better sharing what we have and what we know.

    “Parasitizing,” at least to me, has an utterly different connotation than what you are up to, though I’m sure you meant it in a self-deprecating way.

    Keep sharing. We’re all better for it.

    Carl Kruse

  8. Jeff J
    Posted August 3, 2016 at 8:48 am | Permalink

    Wow. I thought LSD wasn’t invented until the 20th century.

    • Posted August 3, 2016 at 12:05 pm | Permalink

      Hallucinogen usage generally though seems to be pretty ancient …

