I have landed!

Don’t expect much out of Professor Ceiling Cat (Emeritus) today, as he got not a wink of sleep on the trip from Chicago to Poland. This was deliberate: I often stay up all night and all day after I arrive, counting on total exhaustion to reset my biological clock. And. . . it sometimes works. But right now I’m barely capable of an intelligible sentence, so enjoy this picture of Malgorzata’s cherry pie with a walnut crust, although you’ll enjoy the looking a lot less than I enjoyed the eating:


p.s. Hili greatly enjoyed the Japanese “cat’s snack” sent by Hiroko–a kind of meat or fish goo that you squeeze out of a small foil tube. She liked it so much that she got another. (See Hili dialogue tomorrow.) I still maintain that this is the first time in the history of our planet that a cat in Poland ate treats sent by a person in Japan to a person in America.

Movies watched on plane (the selection was dire; this was the best I could do):

The Lobster (2016) Two thumbs up. An imaginative drama about a dystopian future in which all single people are taken to a hotel where they’re given 45 days to find a partner—or be turned into animals. I liked it a lot, but it may not be everyone’s cup of tea.

The Book Thief (2013). One thumb up, one down. A workmanlike recounting of an orphaned girl’s life in Nazi Germany, where she learns to read, becomes infatuated with books, and hides a Jewish refugee. It holds your attention, but is far too mawkish and manipulative of the viewer’s emotions. It’s not helped by repeated voiceovers from the Grim Reaper (no kidding!).

This is Where I Leave You (2014). 2/3 thumb up, 4/3 thumb down. With an all star cast in including Jane Fonda, Tina Fey, Abigail Spencer, and Jason Bateman, the film manages to waste most of that talent (particularly Fey) by embroiling every character in an emotional roller-coaster (centered around a family reunion after the father’s death) accompanied by the emission of far too many bromides and tears. I did, however, discover a new inamorata in the form of Rose Byrne, who is unspeakably attractive and provided the best cameo of the lot.


  1. Peter Austin
    Posted July 29, 2016 at 10:42 am | Permalink

    Had to look up Rose Byrne (on Wikipedia):

    “Byrne stated that her mother is an atheist, while both she and her father are agnostics”

    That’s an interesting ‘dichotomy’ …😉

  2. Posted July 29, 2016 at 10:48 am | Permalink

    I still maintain that this is the first time in the history of our planet that a cat in Poland ate treats sent by a person in Japan to a person in America.

    I wouldn’t be certain, but I’ll certainly agree that, if you’re not the first, you’re one of the very few. It is a big planet, after all.

    Misa and I sometimes remark on similar rarities…like how many blue-eyed devils in the Southwest on a particular night are making miso soup from scratch for their Tokyo-born brides — and making better soup than the bride’s mother ever made, or so I’m told.

    …or how many cats get double handfulls of katsuobushi as dessert after eating tuna sashimi? And so on….


  3. Taskin
    Posted July 29, 2016 at 10:49 am | Permalink

    I want pie now.

  4. Randall Schenck
    Posted July 29, 2016 at 10:53 am | Permalink

    That’s a heck of a grind to go through but if it eliminates the jet lag, it’s worth it. I think I avoided the lag once, but never knew why.

  5. Xuuths
    Posted July 29, 2016 at 11:07 am | Permalink

    OT, but this was totally interesting, and biological (so perhaps of interest to Dr. Coyne):


    • darrelle
      Posted July 29, 2016 at 11:31 am | Permalink

      I recall seeing this same thing some years ago, gears to synchronize legs for jumping in some species of jumping insect. But I can’t recall many details including where I read the article and what species it was. I probably have it saved somewhere safe. So safe that even I’ll never find it again.

    • Posted July 29, 2016 at 11:57 am | Permalink

      Yeah, that’s an old one, but fascinating. I have a feeling that I’ve posted about it before, but can’t be sure.

  6. rickflick
    Posted July 29, 2016 at 11:13 am | Permalink

    Welcome back to the planet’s surface. Eat well and prosper.

  7. Ken Kukec
    Posted July 29, 2016 at 11:37 am | Permalink

    Where you been on Rose Byrne, Jerry? I been mackin’ after her ever since The Night We Called it a Day, the 2003 Aussie flick featuring Dennis Hopper’s turn as Sinatra.

    A damn fine actor, that Ms. Byrne.

    • Saul Sorrell-Till
      Posted July 29, 2016 at 1:27 pm | Permalink

      I hadn’t really noticed her until fairly recently – she’s beautiful of course, but it was watching her in Paul Feig’s ‘Spy’ that impressed me… I wasn’t expecting much of it but it really is an extremely funny, fantastically stupid film. It contains quite a few scene-stealing moments from a whole host of actors and actresses(Jason Statham’s selfies will live long in my memory) but Rose Byrne walks off with the film. I had no idea how good she was at comedy until I saw her in this.

      Although speaking of The Lobster, it was always Rachel Weisz after whom I would find my personage mackin’.

      • Ken Kukec
        Posted July 29, 2016 at 6:09 pm | Permalink

        La femme Weisz is aces in my book, too.

  8. bluemaas
    Posted July 29, 2016 at 11:53 am | Permalink

    Likely not a part of too many airlines’ film libraries but certainly available through grounded public ones, interlibrary loans thereof and via basic Netflix is a mighty fine y2015 film simply entitled “Mustang.”

    setting = northern Turkey
    time period = the present day
    director = Deniz Gamze Ergüven

    Come the film’s closing few minutes is when, for me, I was able to clearly put its precise one – word, American West – like entitling, Mustang, … … and match it up* to the whole of this saga of the near – Middle East.


    *something important to me: figuring out why the artist(s) named & entitled their works what they did = the connection between a deal’s title and its actual content and context


  9. Posted July 29, 2016 at 11:56 am | Permalink

    Glad you got in! And glad you are with your adoptive family. But dang it. I need at least three posts from Jerry in the mornings now to feel like my brain is ready for the world.

    (I like the strategy on clock resetting, but the up-all-night business is a sorry state to experience. Circadian havoc.)

    • Posted July 29, 2016 at 12:50 pm | Permalink

      A side thought. I started seriously reading PCC(E) around this time last year. If memory serves, he had about 36k followers then. Thus in the last year, 5k more people have committed. Maybe that rate is normal in comparison to previous years’ accumulation of readers. But if he’s been posting for, what is it, nine years? 9×5=45. So, maybe 5k/yr is a slightly faster rate than some previous years, maybe owing to the reach of extant readers reposting. (Do not ask why I’m thinking of this. My head tracks everything I pay attention to. You should see what I do with my own life.)

  10. Posted July 29, 2016 at 12:34 pm | Permalink

    That pie looks amazing. I hope you enjoy it as much as Hili enjoyed that fishy paste. And your sentences, by the way, sound pretty coherent to me. Can’t tell you have not gotten sleep at all!

  11. Lev Bickers
    Posted July 29, 2016 at 1:16 pm | Permalink

    You say “I often stay up all night and all day after I arrive, counting on total exhaustion to reset my biological clock.”

    I’ve found the secret when traveling from the U.S. to Europe is to take an early-afternoon nap of 2-3 hours when you arrive, then get up and proceed with your afternoon/evening like you normally would. If you do this you won’t be as wiped out in the later afternoon and evening, but you’ll start getting very tired right around your normal bedtime, and the next day, voila, your internal clock will be reset.

    Might be too late this time, but give it a try next time!

  12. thompjs
    Posted July 29, 2016 at 1:23 pm | Permalink

    Dr. Coyne, I do hate it when you are in Poland and have to look at my favorite food in pictures every day.

    (Not the cat food!)

  13. jennyah46
    Posted July 29, 2016 at 2:54 pm | Permalink

    I love all of your stories and photos from Poland. It sounds like an idyllic life. Keep the cherry pie photos coming and of course plenty of pics of the Princess to accompany her words of wisdom.
    I hope you will come and see us in London again soon.

  14. James Walker
    Posted July 30, 2016 at 5:39 am | Permalink

    My strategy is to sleep as much as I can on the plane (assisted by red wine) and upon arrival stay awake until bedtime (earliest 10pm) on the first day. This strategy usually limits my jetlag to the first day.

    I myself just arrived in Australia today after a horrible zigzag across North America thanks to American Airlines.

  15. RPGNo1
    Posted July 30, 2016 at 5:41 am | Permalink

    Oh my, what a wonderful cherry pie (with walnuts)! 😊
    I envy your, Professor Ceiling Cat (Emeritus).

  16. Mike
    Posted July 30, 2016 at 7:22 am | Permalink

    Damn, that pie looks good, looks like something significant happened yesterday, but I missed it.

  17. Diana MacPherson
    Posted July 30, 2016 at 10:27 am | Permalink

    Poor Jerry, forced to endure, without respite, a series of scrumptious pies!!

