Talk in Poland

My arm was twisted by some genial Polish academics, so I’ll be giving one talk when I’m in Poland. Unless you’re in or near the ancient city of Poznań, you can ignore the rest of this.

The announcement in Polish is here, and here’s the relevant part of the English translation. (“UAM” stands for Adam Mickiewicz University in Poznań, where I’ll talk):

August 8, 2016, the Department of Biology, UAM will host Prof. Jerry Coyne, a world-renowned evolutionary biologist and professor emeritus at the University of Chicago. Prof. Coyne will give a lecture (in English) on Friday: “Evolution and atheism: the best of friends.” Welcome at the hour of 11.00 to the Small Hall of the Faculty of Biology, Adam Mickiewicz University, ul. Umultowska 89 in Poznan.

Poland, of course, is a very religious country, but I am assured by my hosts that a). I will not be shot, and b). I will get some good Polish food. What a twofer!



  1. Stephen Barnard
    Posted July 28, 2016 at 10:40 am | Permalink

    If you get a similar invitation from Bangladesh please decline, irrespective of food enticement.

    • gravelinspector-Aidan
      Posted July 28, 2016 at 4:36 pm | Permalink

      Mixed food and body-armour?

  2. Claudia Baker
    Posted July 28, 2016 at 10:50 am | Permalink

    Lucky them! And Bon voyage!

  3. Jenny Haniver
    Posted July 28, 2016 at 11:29 am | Permalink

    I think it’s a threefer. The Pope’s in Poland now, too. I’m sure his visit was timed just to bedevil you. If your paths cross, blow him a raspberry, fore and aft.

  4. Randall Schenck
    Posted July 28, 2016 at 12:11 pm | Permalink

    The Best of Friends – sounds like a book to me.

  5. John Harshman
    Posted July 28, 2016 at 3:34 pm | Permalink

    Oddly enough, the only good food I had in Poland was at an Indian restaurant in Warsaw. I must have had the wrong guides.

  6. somer
    Posted July 28, 2016 at 6:09 pm | Permalink

    I love the smiling heraldic eagle

  7. Posted July 28, 2016 at 7:07 pm | Permalink

    Have a good trip, Jerry, and stay safe out there. Wishing you grope-free traverses of all the airports…..

    • Posted July 28, 2016 at 7:45 pm | Permalink

      Oh, dear! I just read your new post that you got goosed again. Bullocks!

