Today only: DemoCATic convention—post your cat and its vote

I am so terribly bored with the political conventions; I’m not going to watch any convention live this year, though (as you’ll see), I’ll watch YouTube videos of some good speeches.  I already know who I’m going to vote for, I already know that Donald Trump is a bigoted ignoramus, and I don’t need to hear any more lauding of Hillary Clinton or demonizing of Trump. Frankly, I’d rather read a good book than listen to more Trump-bashing or the chastising of Bernie Sanders supporters who rightly feel Berned.

Today we have an alternative: The DemoCATic convention. This is the chance to show your moggie to the world, and without much work. Just send me a photo of your cat along with its name, and a sentence about who your cat would be voting for. (Foreign cats can weigh in too!)

The deadline is 4 p.m. Chicago time. All real moggies will be displayed. But get yours in before the deadline.

16 Comments

  1. Posted July 26, 2016 at 8:07 am | Permalink

    The Moggie Intercontinental Convention has commenced!

  2. Merilee
    Posted July 26, 2016 at 8:33 am | Permalink

    🐾🐾🐾🐾

  3. tubby
    Posted July 26, 2016 at 8:34 am | Permalink

    Wait, there are fake moggies?

  4. vnectar
    Posted July 26, 2016 at 8:39 am | Permalink

    Submit it how? Comments don’t allow pictures. I’ll tweet it! I’ll FB it! I’ll email it!

    Quite frankly, I’ll do anything to share pics of my cat(s).

    • Posted July 26, 2016 at 8:48 am | Permalink

      Just google my name and university, and you’ll go to my webpage with the address. Alternatively, click “research interests” at upper right, which is that page and has my email address.

      • vnectar
        Posted July 26, 2016 at 8:51 am | Permalink

        Thanks, Dr. Coyne!

  5. Chris Barron
    Posted July 26, 2016 at 8:49 am | Permalink

    Theo is tired of the top 1% of cats getting 90% of the new snackies (please don’t tell her that Bernie won’t be on the ballot).

    (Chris Barron, Tega Cay, SC)

    On Tue, Jul 26, 2016 at 8:45 AM, Why Evolution Is True wrote:

    > whyevolutionistrue posted: “I am so terribly bored with the political > conventions; I’m not going to watch any convention live this year, though > (as you’ll see), I’ll watch YouTube videos of some good speeches. I > already know who I’m going to vote for, I already know that Donald Tru” >

  6. kieran
    Posted July 26, 2016 at 8:57 am | Permalink

    My cat was called dangler, she had three legs and the last had been caught or broken and dangled. She arrived to us as a stray and then stayed with us for another ten years. No picture as she was pre digital photography.

    She’d be voting for Michelle Obama

  7. Steve
    Posted July 26, 2016 at 9:20 am | Permalink

    I understand your boredom, but actually, last night was remarkable. Booker, Warren, and Sanders delivered, and Michelle Obama was off the charts.
    Watch them

  8. Marion Hansen
    Posted July 26, 2016 at 10:54 am | Permalink

    Lucy casts her vote for Clinton. Marion

  9. Mark R.
    Posted July 26, 2016 at 1:59 pm | Permalink

    I already know who I’m going to vote for…

    Yeah, this is one of those Presidential elections that the vast majority of people have already made up their mind. I don’t know anyone who is “on the fence”.


