Ring-tailed lemur demands back scratches

At 4 pm Chicago time (1.5 hours from now), all the cats sent to me for the DemoCATic National Convention will be posted. In the meantime, here’s an Honorary Cat™.

I’ve had the pleasure of hand-feeding these guys (Lemur catta; note the name), which are absolutely gorgeous—and adorable when the babies ride on their mothers’ backs.  This one makes it clear that he wants some scratching. Who says lemurs aren’t smart?

h/t: Matthew Cobb


  1. rickflick
    Posted July 26, 2016 at 2:44 pm | Permalink

    That little guy has figured out a neat trick. He’s figured out how to tickle people’s sense of humor to get himself a tickle. Charming.

  2. merilee
    Posted July 26, 2016 at 3:11 pm | Permalink

    I’ve seen this before and LOVE it!!

    Anyone know the language?

    • rickflick
      Posted July 26, 2016 at 7:17 pm | Permalink

      It’s the same all over the world completely language independent. Like music. Scratching an itch.😎

    • Michael Fisher
      Posted July 26, 2016 at 10:49 pm | Permalink

      It sounds like Malagasy – the melodious language of Madagascar. I compared with YouTube videos that have that language spoken & it seems close to me.

      • Merilee
        Posted July 26, 2016 at 11:54 pm | Permalink

        Makes sense.

  3. Posted July 26, 2016 at 3:47 pm | Permalink

    I’ve seen similar behavior in a dog I had growing up. He loved having his ears scratched and would ask for scratches by coming up to you and pawing his ear.

  4. Posted July 26, 2016 at 3:54 pm | Permalink

    I suspect we all have a little lemur in us.🙂

    Carl Kruse

    • Merilee
      Posted July 26, 2016 at 11:55 pm | Permalink

      Baby woncha scratch my baaaack🎶

