Here are the klipspringers!



To see where they are, go below the fold (click “read more”).

Here are the klipspringers! If there are more than two, let us know.

Screen Shot 2016-07-23 at 11.08.41 AM


  1. Hempenstein
    Posted July 23, 2016 at 1:21 pm | Permalink

    OK, good. Got one, entertained the possibility of the silhouette.

  2. Alexander
    Posted July 23, 2016 at 1:38 pm | Permalink

    Yes, you had to search on the top of cliffs, klipspringer is Dutch for “cliff jumper”

    • Grania Spingies
      Posted July 23, 2016 at 2:19 pm | Permalink

      In this case “Klip” is stone though, from the Afrikaans. I think in Dutch it can be translated as cliff.

      • nicky
        Posted July 23, 2016 at 2:43 pm | Permalink

        Well yes, you are very right: stone,rock etc.. In Dutch it is more like a cliff, including underwater ones.
        In Afrikaans it is any stone, particularly, as it appears, the ones thrown, often to the detriment of the receiving eye (but that is another story, albeit close to me)

  3. Posted July 23, 2016 at 1:38 pm | Permalink

    I still don’t see the one on the right. Maybe I need new glasses — better yet, new eyes.

    • Alexander
      Posted July 23, 2016 at 1:44 pm | Permalink

      Yes, if you enlarge the image, you can see the head with it’s big eye and the two (almost) parallel horns sticking up.

      • Alexander
        Posted July 23, 2016 at 1:50 pm | Permalink

        Of course, I didn’t mean with “yes” that you need new eyes. I just meant that you can see the animal.

  4. Damien McLeod
    Posted July 23, 2016 at 2:17 pm | Permalink

    The little so and so’s are hiding. I never would have spotted them without the red circles.

  5. nicky
    Posted July 23, 2016 at 2:21 pm | Permalink

    Only found the one on the left. )n the right, even after pointing out, I see but a dubious shoulder.
    On the routes through the Outeniqua and Swartberg mountains, they are a not really a common sighting. When I spot one my day is made. Over >10 years driving through these mountains I spotted them only 4 times,
    They do not appear to be very shy at all, I presume they probably are rather scarce.

  6. ploubere
    Posted July 23, 2016 at 3:11 pm | Permalink

    I did see that thing on the right, but it’s pretty hard to tell for sure that it is an animal.

    • Torbjörn Larsson
      Posted July 23, 2016 at 3:45 pm | Permalink

      Yes, I winged that one – but then I can now crow a little.

    • Posted July 23, 2016 at 4:28 pm | Permalink

      It is a klipspringer as vouched for by the woman who sent me the picture. It’s in front of a log or something, which makes it look weird.

  7. ladyatheist
    Posted July 24, 2016 at 9:35 am | Permalink

    This one was a toughie. I thought I found on but it was a log with a weird “face”

