Larry the Chief Mouser defeated in battle

Larry the Cat is the Official Chief Mouser to the Cabinet Office, and his brief is to mouse at 10 Downing Street. (There has been such a mouser since the days of Henry VIII!) Sadly, Larry was an ineffectual mouser, and his job (but not his title) has been usurped by Palmerston, a tuxedo cat who mouses well.

As if that humiliation weren’t enough, Larry has now returned to 10 Downing Street after an overnight scrap that seriously damaged his paw and apparently made him lose his collar. Here’s a picture of the injured moggie from the Torygraph piece. He can’t put weight on that front paw.


Photo credit: Barcroft

It’s not yet clear how Larry came a cropper, but it could be that he’s gotten into yet another scrap with Palmerston, perhaps motivated by jealousy. The Torygraph has reported on and given photos of Larry’s recurrent scraps with his rival:



Stay tuned for further updates:

h/t: Aaron


  1. JonLynnHarvey
    Posted July 21, 2016 at 3:40 pm | Permalink

    So why does Buckingham Palace use human mouse control experts?

    (I learned this watching the marvelous stage play “The Audience” with Helen Mirren reprising HM E2 after playing her in the movie “The Queen” [by the same writer] but have confirmed it with Google.)

    • Karen Fierman
      Posted July 21, 2016 at 4:13 pm | Permalink

      Why does Buckingham Palace HAVE mice??? I live in a veritable hovel, but even I don’t need a mouser (not that I don’t have four, just in case, but never mind that). The Royal Cat should not be expected to WORK, especially at a job rounding up rodents. I mean, really!

  2. gravelinspector-Aidan
    Posted July 21, 2016 at 3:55 pm | Permalink

    So why does Buckingham Palace use human mouse control experts?

    Because the corgies don’t have any cows to worry, and so would disturb the work of diligent feline rodent controllers.

  3. Taz
    Posted July 21, 2016 at 4:14 pm | Permalink

    I don’t know why people care about Larry’s mousing ability. He is, after all, the “Chief Mouser” – all he has to do is supervise.

    (Apparently he has some disgruntled employees.)

  4. Edie Coon
    Posted July 21, 2016 at 4:43 pm | Permalink

    To Larry from Tigger, We look a lot alike, don’t we? Like you, I have a tendency to get into battle with neighborhood cats that wander into my turf ( and try to steal my food!). I’ve had some pretty serious injuries too, but save for a split ear, I’ve recovered nicely. Like you, my job was to rid the property of mice and gophers. I think I do a great job, but the humans may disagree😸 So far, I haven’t been replaced. Best wishes for a speedy recovery! Meow, Tigger Sent from my iPad


  5. Woof
    Posted July 21, 2016 at 4:44 pm | Permalink

    Man, British politics are TOUGH!

  6. Posted July 21, 2016 at 6:18 pm | Permalink

    I have had many cats and none were any good at catching house mice. In fact, they would bring in field mice from outside, which then quickly became indoor house mice.

    • Randall Schenck
      Posted July 21, 2016 at 7:29 pm | Permalink

      My outdoor cat (lives in the garage) is a very good mouser. He learned from his mother who was excellent. Tends to bring the kill into the garage which gets a little messy.

    • Posted July 22, 2016 at 3:16 pm | Permalink

      You may be witnessing a new step in cat evolution. Your cats seem to attempt domestication and husbandry of mice.

  7. Frank Bath
    Posted July 21, 2016 at 9:19 pm | Permalink

    Cats. Mice. They’ve conned us again.

  8. Damien McLeod
    Posted July 22, 2016 at 2:42 am | Permalink

    Poor Larry—Every time I hear of a cat getting hurt of injured I freak out and call Alice, my Cat, my sole companion, my only friend, into our disheveled old travel trailer. I pet her, check her out to make sure she’s OK, give her a treat, and seek comfort from her that we’re both still alive and making it—than if everything seems normal—she goes back out side to catch another lizard or bug or whatever, and I return to my keyboard—and time and old age roll on by. I don’t know when I’m going or where Alice is at the moment, but I sure hope Larry is alright and his paw recovers quickly. I salute you Larry, in all your struggles and endeavors. Live Long and Prosper kitty cat.

  9. Mike
    Posted July 22, 2016 at 6:54 am | Permalink

    My money’s on Palmerstonas. As for Mrs Windsors hovel, she can’t have Cats with those Corgis running around the place, like all little Terriers, theres a Rottie in there trying to get out, and I’m afraid the Cats wouldn’t have a very good time.

  10. Dave
    Posted July 22, 2016 at 8:10 am | Permalink

    How do we know Larry was defeated? Has anyone seen Palmerston lately? He might have come off worse!

    • Posted July 22, 2016 at 3:21 pm | Permalink

      I remember that I first read about this conflict in a comment of yours. I guess that, as a British, you are well informed about the Larry saga – please report when there is a new development!

