Facebook’s hypocritical double standards put egg on its face

Does anyone at Facebook really care about policing its “community standards” in an equitable way? They allow the worst sort of Der Stürmer-ish anti-Semitism, but regularly ban Zionist sites. And now they’ve removed a post from the Facebook page of my friend Melissa Chen, secular activist and a moderator of the Global Secular Humanist Movement Facebook page (I’m a mod there too).

Melissa had reposted a post by Alishba Zarmeen defending the woman I wrote about yesterday, Qandeel Baloch, a Pakistani actress/model/activist who was murdered by her brother in an “honor killing.” Melissa’s repost, below, was removed by Facebook as a violation of those famous “community standards” (the “community,” of course, is that of easily offended Muslims). Alishba Zarmeen had to face 30 days in Facebook Jail for her transgression, but she’s fighting back as well (see here).

Melissa then reposted her original post as an attachment:

Screen Shot 2016-07-19 at 7.30.50 AM

That’s really offensive, isn’t it? Melissa had the proper reply:
Screen Shot 2016-07-19 at 7.31.39 AM

As far as I know, Facebook “community standards” are determined by a bunch of farmed-out factotums who simply determine off the cuff whether something is “offensive” to community standards that are not only murky, but enforced only after a complaint. Since Muslims are more liable to complain than others, I suspect, it’s posts like Melissa’s that get removed.  Yet her post is, if anything, a form of free speech: a call for women in repressive Muslim countries to follow Baloch’s example and defy their woman-hating culture.

Seriously, Facebook, you count “stupid Pakistani men who try to justify honor killings” as a violation of community standards? What community are you living in?

Melissa’s tweet can be found here; retweet it if you wish.


  1. Rich Sanderson
    Posted July 19, 2016 at 8:49 am | Permalink

    The major social media websites dole out “community policing” to teams of regressive left social justice warriors, hence the problems you highlight.

    This is why pro-Islamist, pro-violence pages are often left alone, while progressive, liberal pages that call out violence, SJW hypocrisy, are modded very quickly.

  2. Randall Schenck
    Posted July 19, 2016 at 8:57 am | Permalink

    Fortunate that they don’t get to police me because I do not participate. Whatever standards they believe they have, I do not want them. Frankly, all the free time I have is spent right here.

    • Posted July 19, 2016 at 10:51 am | Permalink

      I am one hundred percent with you, as someone stated on this site I think “you are never a Facebook customer, just a product”

      • Randall Schenck
        Posted July 19, 2016 at 11:50 am | Permalink

        I suspect the sensor police around email are too busy reading and re-reading Hilary’s email to care about anything I might say. Possibly in 5 or 10 years they will finish with that and then, watch out.

  3. Alexandra Moffat
    Posted July 19, 2016 at 9:13 am | Permalink

    May I try forwarding this to my own friends on FB myself? It probably won’t work but then I can be doubly furious at their policies. Power sure does corrupt!!!

  4. Posted July 19, 2016 at 11:09 am | Permalink

    I got off Facebook (for all but a log-in) the morning after a post of mine was removed. In it, I had said that I didn’t share the “quasi-Christian” values of someone who shamed me for talking to my niece about the importance of prioritizing college over having a baby. (The niece is 16 and enamored with babies and babysitting and the allure of motherhood.) Apparently, my use of the word “quasi-Christian” was banish-worthy by the Facebook standard setters. One cannot even associate religion with choices.

  5. rickflick
    Posted July 19, 2016 at 12:11 pm | Permalink

    Is it Mark Zuckerberg who has some kind of complex?

  6. Posted July 19, 2016 at 12:57 pm | Permalink

    I really don’t believe this is about double standards. The enforcement of Facebook’s policies largely depends on complaints. If people complain about posts they get reviewed, and removed if they are don’t meet “community standards”, if they do they aren’t. If people don’t complain, they aren’t reviewed, and aren’t removed. I think we know what groups spend their time looking for things to complain about, and what groups support an open market place of ideas.

  7. Posted July 19, 2016 at 1:41 pm | Permalink

    I almost never use facebook (even for family.)I think I will change that use to “NEVER!” I am so sick of certain people telling me what I can or can’t say, can or can’t read, can or can’t believe.

  8. gravelinspector-Aidan
    Posted July 19, 2016 at 2:42 pm | Permalink

    Has anyone who read the T&Cs ever confused Facebook with a platform for free expression? Srsly?

  9. jeffery
    Posted July 19, 2016 at 3:25 pm | Permalink

    I’ve said for years that I plan on being the last person on Earth to join Facebook; now I have several more reasons not to do so….

  10. Posted July 19, 2016 at 5:46 pm | Permalink

    Facebook is nearing the point of being unbearable. I keep it because there are a number of people with whom this is my sole means of contact, including some group conversations that FB is very good at facilitating. But between the anti-free speech stances and the increasing number of ads masquerading as posts whether it be the New York Times or New Yorker (sometimes if actually like to see posts from people take priority), there will be a tipping point. I think Facebook is running full throttle towards it.

  11. Ullrich Fischer
    Posted July 20, 2016 at 2:32 am | Permalink

    Are we sure this isn’t a bot that does the removing? I looks like these kind of posts do get re-instated when people complain about the removal. It could just be that Islamists have teams of people monitoring FB for “offensive” posts and report them while those of us who are offended by Islamists’ posts tend to be reluctant to report anything because of our support for the concept of free speech.

  12. Hempenstein
    Posted July 20, 2016 at 9:34 am | Permalink

    I posted this on FB this morning. So far, at least one friend has followed the instructions and knows about it now:

    Brother in Pakistan murders sister in “honor” killing.
    Women there decry this.
    Men tell women they should shut up.
    Woman takes exception to said men.
    Another woman reposts exception on FB.
    FB suspends her.


    (Go to whyevolutionistrue.com and search zarmeen in the box at left. Click on what comes up.)

