Pet squirrel hijinks

From the backlog of 1,063 posts that I never posted, here’s one showing what you’re in for if you have a pet squirrel.

Which reminds me—it’s time for the last of my three daily squirrel feedings. . .

h/t: Barry


  1. Barry Lyons
    Posted July 18, 2016 at 3:08 pm | Permalink

    No way would I scratch a squirrel’s belly!

  2. mordacious1
    Posted July 18, 2016 at 3:23 pm | Permalink

    I kept thinking that this video would turn into the “Squirrel” horror movie trailer any second.

  3. Posted July 18, 2016 at 4:21 pm | Permalink

    Funny, I was also waiting for this clip to turn into the Squirrel horror flick at anz moment.

    We live in strange times.

    Carl Kruse

  4. gravelinspector-Aidan
    Posted July 18, 2016 at 4:41 pm | Permalink

    Like a kitten whose catnip got mixed with the PCP stash. Quite scary.
    I dread to think what his wiring repair bill is like.

    • pali
      Posted July 18, 2016 at 7:56 pm | Permalink

      I suspect the bill’s not bad at all. It looks like he’s taken his laundry room, which doesn’t have many (any?) appliances beyond the washer/dryer shown in the video, and set it up to also be a play room he can let the squirrel out of the cage in. I doubt it gets the run of the house when he’s not paying attention to it, and squirrel-proofing one room that already has few appliances probably isn’t much harder than childproofing one.

      • gravelinspector-Aidan
        Posted July 19, 2016 at 7:16 am | Permalink

        Sqrlz move somewhat faster and more flexibly than tortoises (where is that Youtube archive of tortoises raiding bird-feeders). Yet when the wife’s tortoise got out of it’s cage it took over a week to recapture her (I think it was a ‘her’) because the wife didn’t have the ‘grunt’ to haul the fridge and washing machine out from their corners. By the time I got back from the rig (3 stops down the line, about 250km), there was a broken phone line, and several broken power lines to be repaired.
        Having multiple friends who’ve been electricians on a variety of passenger ships, MODUs, cargo boats, trawlers, etc, they’ve all got tales of “when a cat got aboard.” They’re pretty damned good at chewing up wiring too, as I think people have reported here too.
        Nope, electrics and pets – particularly small ones who can get behind the infrastructure – are not generally a good mix. That the domesticated cat doesn’t cause much problems in most homes is a tribute to the care and attention they get from their staff to keep them satisfied on the sofa.
        PCC(E)’s logo on this site contains a warning. It’s a catling looking out of a slot cut in drywall to receive a power (or other electrical) outlet. Get a cat or sqrl in your drywall and you’re in for expensive trouble.

  5. Diana MacPherson
    Posted July 18, 2016 at 5:22 pm | Permalink

    I was expecting to see the squirrel rip up the place.

  6. Posted July 18, 2016 at 6:00 pm | Permalink

    It was so sweet–just what I’d hope a hand-raised squirrel to be🙂

    • rickflick
      Posted July 18, 2016 at 6:50 pm | Permalink

      Pray for it.

      • Posted July 18, 2016 at 8:13 pm | Permalink

        I’ve got my hands full with a ginormous cat, at the moment. Thanks to Jerry, it thinks I’m its staff. PCC(E) suggested I feed it Fancy Feast and offer it catnip. I did, and now I’ve got a cat for life, except that I’m moving! I keep my door open a lot to let him come and goes as he wishes (he actually belongs to someone down the street). He’s twice now awoken me by jumping on my back! If I had a squirrel, my life would be chaos!

        • rickflick
          Posted July 18, 2016 at 9:03 pm | Permalink

          Ha! That’s life.

          • Posted July 18, 2016 at 9:53 pm | Permalink


            And to make matters worse, I’m craving Chihuahuas. I saw a nine-week-old Chi pup a few days back and wanted to devoir it, make it mine, and eternally bond. Baby Chihuahuas look a lot like squirrels.

            • rickflick
              Posted July 18, 2016 at 10:05 pm | Permalink

              Sounds like you’ve got it bad.
              I can see you married one day with 7 kids.😉

              • Posted July 19, 2016 at 12:24 pm | Permalink

                Hah! Married would be nice. Seven mini-me’s sound like hades, though. And I have yet to meet an appropriate suitor who wants to mate with me. And in my head, that’s the driving benefit of marriage before you are postmenopausal.

                I’ll have to settle for squirrels, cats who adopt me, and fantasies about Chihuahuas, it seems, as ridiculous as all that sounds.

              • rickflick
                Posted July 19, 2016 at 1:07 pm | Permalink

                Not really so ridiculous. I think it is deeply human to feel nurturing toward small ‘souls’. It extends throughout the animal kingdom.


              • Posted July 19, 2016 at 9:05 pm | Permalink

                Your video reminded me that I recently read a blurb about milk and evolution. From it, I learned that various species’ milk contains different compositions of nutrients. My guess is that the critters in your video have similar enough body compositions of fat and whatnot for the nursing critter (was that a dog) to go for it.


              • rickflick
                Posted July 19, 2016 at 9:28 pm | Permalink

                Interesting. I note in the article that “closely related species were more likely to have similar milk than more distantly related species”. So, if we stick with ape species, we humans should do pretty well – giving or receiving.😎

              • Posted July 20, 2016 at 8:29 am | Permalink

                Yeah, and what’s always struck me as weird is the consumption of cow milk. Since we can get them to produce lots of the stuff, I can see why we do it, but I hate milk. Cheese and ice-cream are good, but whole milk makes me gag. I have a feeling that I wouldn’t feel the same about human breast milk. I recently saw a piece about this couple that has chosen to feed her husband on her milk. I don’t think they have children, but the suckling was apparently enough to induce milk. He has to suckle every so many hours to keep her producing. They claim it’s created an intense bond between them. She says she has no worries about him cheating. Made me wonder if there had been societies in hominid history that have set aside females for providing milk not just to infants but for the village. Having visited Papua New Guinea and seen women flinging their breasts up over their shoulders to feed kids riding on their backs, the idea of being a milking machine is repulsive. But it might be a way for populations to survive. Of course, they’d have to be providing the milkers with a lot of meat. So, maybe it’s a dead idea because you might as well just feed everyone a little meat rather than whatever nutrients can be gotten second hand from milk.

                Longish digression that’s been on my mind for a few weeks.

              • Posted July 20, 2016 at 10:12 am | Permalink

                Growing up, I didn’t tolerate whole cow’s milk well. Somewhere along the way, though, I tried skim milk and it was much more tolerable. Nowadays, to save money, time, and space, I buy powdered milk, the cheapest I can find, as it, too, is fat free, and it doesn’t dilute my coffee. You might want to try that.

                About the hominid milk producers, I’m not sure meat is a requirement. There are enough vegetarian Hindus and poor African and middle Eastern tribes who are lucky to afford a goat for its milk and can’t afford meat at all. They might be a source for comparison, regarding the resulting human milk quality.

                As for physically serving one’s milk to a child on one’s back, I hadn’t thought that possible!

  7. Posted July 18, 2016 at 8:35 pm | Permalink

    Needing to simplify life as much as possible, I was surprised and pleased to find tufted titmouses, cardinals, and even a young female squirrel on the (paint can) platform of the six foot ladder outside my window. I’d put dry cat food out for raccoons, oppossums, and stray cats (the latter for trap, neuter/spay, and release). Turns out, all the others like it, too. For the record, it’s Costco’s housebrand, good quality and low price. One pair of titmouse parents fed it to their young, wo perched nearby calling for more and more of it. Boy, did those young grow big!

One Trackback/Pingback

  1. Esta página de Internet

    Pet squirrel hijinks « Why Evolution Is True

