Readers’ wildlife photographs

Reader Anne-Marie Cournoyer in Montreal has named her backyard animal feeder “Le Cafe Sauvage” (I am honorary co-manager), and is documenting the customers. Here are a few:


There are also “early bird specials”. . .


A satisfied customer:


Today’s specials: shelled pumpkin seeds, sunflower seeds, and toasted coconut:



Monsieur Lapin gets carrots. Note the reflection in his eye:


Where’s my dinner?


And some robins of spring (actually summer) sent by reader David Twenhafel:

Some American robins built a nest on my front porch light earlier this year immediately adjacent to my front door.  When they first started nest-building, my wife pulled down their efforts the first few mornings.  But one day she forgot.  I came home for lunch and the nest was done.  Five hours max to build the nest.  We had a set of eggs and chicks in the spring. [JAC: They all successfully fledged.]  I left the nest up to see what might happen.  And now there is second set of eggs.  I’ve no idea if the adults are the same or a different pair (or even if robins pair up for more than one brood).

When someone goes through the door, the robin on the nests flies to a nearby branch, complains bit, and flies to the ground to hunt for food.  I’ve watched it through the windows.  It can take 5 minutes or more to return to the nest.

Nest 1

Nest 2

eggs 2


UPDATE: Friday noon. David said, “They just hatched!” Here’s a photo:




  1. nickswearsky
    Posted July 15, 2016 at 8:00 am | Permalink

    I have a pair of Cardinals that come by my condo every morning. I leave sunflower seeds on the window sill, where only they can reach them. They refuse to eat anything but striped sunflower seeds in the shell. They won’t take the black oil sunflower seeds or unshelled seeds. They are very picky.

  2. Posted July 15, 2016 at 8:01 am | Permalink

    Nice photos! Thanks!

  3. Debbie Coplan
    Posted July 15, 2016 at 8:14 am | Permalink

    Love the cafe, the customers and blue eggs on this somber day-

  4. Mark Sturtevant
    Posted July 15, 2016 at 8:23 am | Permalink

    A nice set of pictures. Robins will raise two generations over the summer, and at this site it is likely to be the same pair that set up the nest earlier. They are creatures of habit.

  5. Posted July 15, 2016 at 8:27 am | Permalink

    I am appalled at what happened in Nice, and saddened that a few human savages can use technology to inflict so much suffering on so many…for reasons of ideology, which are in themselves, delusions.

    Hewn I am feeling so sad, I turn to beauty for solace, and these photos foot the bill. Thank you.

  6. rickflick
    Posted July 15, 2016 at 8:28 am | Permalink

    Delightful images.

  7. chris moffatt
    Posted July 15, 2016 at 9:37 am | Permalink

    Please do not feed carrots or other root veggies to rabbits; it’s very bad for them – too much sugar and upsets their systems. In XS can even be toxic. Green carrot tops are OK and dark greens like romaine but they’ll mostly eat in your yard if you leave some grasses and dandelions etc. for them.

    • Posted July 15, 2016 at 12:08 pm | Permalink

      Leave clover growing in the lawn too… wabbits love that.

      • Anne-Marie Cournoyer
        Posted July 15, 2016 at 2:36 pm | Permalink

        Yep, we noticed how much a wabbit luvs clover and clover flowers!

    • Anne-Marie Cournoyer
      Posted July 15, 2016 at 2:34 pm | Permalink

      Thank you for the advice!
      Can the marmots eat carrots safely?
      Because there is one that comes at the café.

      • chris moffatt
        Posted July 16, 2016 at 9:33 am | Permalink

        I believe so, they seem to have a hardier digestive system than lagomorphs. It is not unknown for marmots out west to eat radiator hoses. Your marmot would be (in Montreal) likely a groundhog?

  8. Heather Hastie
    Posted July 15, 2016 at 3:05 pm | Permalink

    I enjoyed these vey much! Thank you both.🙂

  9. Diana MacPherson
    Posted July 15, 2016 at 3:55 pm | Permalink

    I dunno Anne-Marie, that French doesn’t look more prominent than the English so you could get an unpleasant visit from the Language Police.😉

    • James Walker
      Posted July 15, 2016 at 4:29 pm | Permalink

      lol I was about to make the same comment …

      My café sauvage only attracts dingy little brown birds (chickadees?) and black squirrels. (Although I did get some cute juncos(sp?) last winter.) I rarely get any colourful birds like cardinals.

      This spring I planted some ‘butterfly bush’ hoping to attract some … butterflies. False advertising!

    • Anne-Marie Cournoyer
      Posted July 15, 2016 at 5:13 pm | Permalink

      I put up another sign
      this afternoon, only in english… I am in danger!!

      • Diana MacPherson
        Posted July 15, 2016 at 6:30 pm | Permalink

        Ha ha! I’ll smuggle you out to Ontario!!

