Spot the dragonfly!

There are more “Spot the. . . . ” features coming in, so I’ll put up one today at the expense of “Readers’ Wildlife Photos,” which I still need more of. This puzzler comes from reader Mark Sturtevant, who contributed yesterday’s photos of butterflies. I’ll put up the reveal at noon Chicago time, and I’d place this one in the “pretty hard” category. You’ll surely have to enlarge the photo to find the odonate.

Mark’s notes:

Reader Barbara Wilson had recently posted a very good ‘spot the dragonfly’ picture. I regularly go out to take pictures of insects, and I chanced upon an opportunity to do this as well. So, spot the dragonfly in this picture. Oh, and for fun natural selection decided to make this dragonfly green. Mwa ha ha haaa.’

As usual, if you find it by all means gloat in the comments, but please don’t reveal the location!



  1. lizwinfreyventura
    Posted July 13, 2016 at 7:37 am | Permalink


  2. lizwinfreyventura
    Posted July 13, 2016 at 7:42 am | Permalink

    Damn, I didn’t read the whole post before searching. I’m so sorry.

    • Posted July 13, 2016 at 8:16 am | Permalink

      NO harm done. I still can’t find it! Come on, there’s no dragonfly in there.

      • rickflick
        Posted July 13, 2016 at 4:04 pm | Permalink

        Well, there is but it flew out of frame before the shutter was released. Join me in suing Mr. Sturtevant?

  3. darrelle
    Posted July 13, 2016 at 7:42 am | Permalink

    Not too difficult, but definitely more so than the snake yesterday.

  4. Posted July 13, 2016 at 7:46 am | Permalink

    I’m usually terrible at these, but I found this one right away.

  5. Ken Elliott
    Posted July 13, 2016 at 8:41 am | Permalink

    It was in an area opposite of where I began my search. I was beginning to think I wouldn’t find it. She’s a beaut!

  6. kansaskitty
    Posted July 13, 2016 at 8:55 am | Permalink

    Found it finally! Nice one!

  7. John Harshman
    Posted July 13, 2016 at 9:25 am | Permalink

    I believe that nobody could possibly have found it without serious embiggening. I’m looking at it right now and it’s just too tiny to make out. Even at max magnification, the wings are hard to see.

    • Mark Sturtevant
      Posted July 13, 2016 at 10:25 am | Permalink

      I think the focus on that particular spot could be a teeny bit better.

      • rickflick
        Posted July 13, 2016 at 4:05 pm | Permalink

        That’s grounds for a replay.😎

  8. Jonathan Wallace
    Posted July 13, 2016 at 9:39 am | Permalink

    Eastern Pondhawk? (female)

  9. Posted July 13, 2016 at 10:30 am | Permalink

    I was about to write, “Nice photo of a weedy field! But no dragonfly.” Therefore, I was actually disappointed when I saw it.

  10. Rupinder Sayal
    Posted July 13, 2016 at 11:47 am | Permalink

    Wow! Found it! Had to zoom and check frame by frame to make sure I wasn’t missing anything! Amazing!

  11. Taskin
    Posted July 13, 2016 at 12:49 pm | Permalink

    I found it as well. Zooming in was critical.

  12. Diane G.
    Posted July 14, 2016 at 3:31 am | Permalink

    Found it my first time through by embiggening and searching methodically. Very helpful that it happens to have alighted on one of the more contrasty colors of green in the pic! Great fun!

