Here’s the dragonfly!

I’m guessing that not many people found the green dragonfly from this morning, but maybe I’m wrong. I’ll put the original photo below, and you can then click on the arrow at bottom that says “Read more” to see the elusive odonate.


Ready? Go ahead and click.



  1. Posted July 13, 2016 at 12:13 pm | Permalink

    Sigh. Every time one of these “spot the…” posts appear, I resolve not to waste my time looking, and then I do just that. Maybe you are right about us not having free will.

    • Mark Sturtevant
      Posted July 13, 2016 at 12:44 pm | Permalink

      Admit it. You get a little rush when you find the critter.

  2. CB
    Posted July 13, 2016 at 12:54 pm | Permalink

    Hey, I found it. Took maybe 5 minutes

  3. Posted July 13, 2016 at 1:31 pm | Permalink

    It took a while but I did find it.

  4. Mike McCants
    Posted July 13, 2016 at 5:59 pm | Permalink

    Well, if you blow up the original and search carefully, it was not all that hard to spot. Of course the problem was that the body of the dragonfly was aligned with the grass and not at an angle.

    • jahigginbotham
      Posted July 15, 2016 at 6:16 pm | Permalink

      Got to agree. Blew it up (my vision’s not too good) and found it in first pass in 10 seconds or less. I seldom find them, even in 10 or 20 minutes.
      There seems to be more of a sharpness and contrast with this one, rather than the fuzzy is that really something even when identified.

  5. nicky
    Posted July 14, 2016 at 3:27 pm | Permalink

    Another one I didn’t find.

  6. Josh
    Posted July 15, 2016 at 10:37 am | Permalink

    Erythemis simplicicollis

  7. Mike
    Posted July 16, 2016 at 6:01 am | Permalink

    Nope, not a

