Here are the insects!

Here’s today’s “where’s the __” reveal. Above the fold I’ll show the original photos, and then click “Read more” at the very bottom to see the reveals.

From reader Barn Owl: there’s a stick insect here:


And a hidden grass moth from reader Gabe McNett:

Spot the grass moth_1

The reveals!

Here’s the stick insect, and if you can’t see it now, Ceiling Cat help you!:

Screen Shot 2016-07-11 at 6.40.17 AM


And here’s the grass moth:

Spot the grass moth_1-ANS


  1. keith cook + / -
    Posted July 11, 2016 at 3:22 pm | Permalink

    Found the stick insect, missed the moth by a metre… never mind I’ve had breakfast.

    • Torbjörn Larsson
      Posted July 11, 2016 at 3:55 pm | Permalink

      Same here. This moth bug me for some time…

  2. Posted July 11, 2016 at 4:17 pm | Permalink

    Had it been a peppered moth, I would have spotted it.

    • gravelinspector-Aidan
      Posted July 12, 2016 at 6:18 pm | Permalink

      I’ve got one of a peppered moth somewhere – but it’s on granite, so a bit obvious.

  3. barn owl
    Posted July 11, 2016 at 5:07 pm | Permalink

    Ceiling Cat help you indeed!

    Some walkingsticks spray an irritating chemical when disturbed – not sure about this species, but I wasn’t going disturb it to find out.

  4. Posted July 11, 2016 at 6:20 pm | Permalink

    The Walkingstick was easy. I never got close to the moth.

  5. Diane G.
    Posted July 12, 2016 at 12:40 am | Permalink

    Very cool stick insect, Barn Owl!

    Gabe, not that it would have helped, but where was this pic taken? The actual moth was one of the candidates I had in mind, but even after some contemplation I wasn’t sure!

  6. adrian
    Posted July 12, 2016 at 4:22 am | Permalink

    Now that the reveal is up (no, I didn’t find it) I’m not sure the moth is a Crambid. It looks more like a Scoparidae to me.
    Where was the photo taken? I do not know much about North American moths so I may be wrong if there are Crambids that look like this over the Pond.

  7. Posted July 12, 2016 at 10:01 am | Permalink

    Saw the walking insect right away but the moth? Squat!

