Readers’ wildlife photographs (and video)

We have some diverse material today, but it’s nice. First up comes from reader Marilee, who sent these lovely flower with the caption, “Independence Day on a Maine island. Iris versicolor by the thousands.”


And an accompanying video, with the description “This few-second video is on the same Maine island of the Iris I photo I sent a few minutes ago. Not as many Iris in this picture, but you can hear the herring gulls on the island.”

From the wilds of Montreal (Brossard, to be exact), Anne-Marie Cournoyer sends this resplendent red-winged blackbird (Agelaius phoeniceus):

Anne-Marie Cournoyer

And Diana MacPherson from Ontario has some lovely photographs of American red squirrels, as well as a video. Her notes and captions are indented.

Here are some cute Red Squirrel Pictures and also a bonus video I took tonight of one of the formally juvenile red squirrels eating seeds on the deck. I thought he looked cute the way he eats the sunflower seeds. Pardon my moving video. I was using my 300 mm prime lens at dusk so that meant I couldn’t shoot very fast AND I was hand holding it.

American Red Squirrel (Tamiasciurus hudsonicus) Has a Secret:

American Red Squirrel %28Tamiasciurus hudsonicus%29 Has a Secret

American Red Squirrel Pauses Before Leap:

American Red Squirrel %28Tamiasciurus hudsonicus%29 Pauses Before Leap

American Red Squirrel Poses on Deck:

American Red Squirrel %28Tamiasciurus hudsonicus%29 Poses on Deck

American Red Squirrel Smiling:

American Red Squirrel %28Tamiasciurus hudsonicus%29 Smiling

The video (the squirrel seems to take about one second to open each seed):


  1. Mark Sturtevant
    Posted July 6, 2016 at 9:26 am | Permalink

    Are the Irises native to this region? I always think of them as garden flowers, so its a bit startling to see so many out there on their own. We have a smaller iris that I do see in marshy areas ’round here, though.

    Diana, that is one seriously big prime lens. I have a zoom lens that goes out that far, and I manage to somewhat steady my camera by using a pole and a sliding clamp. I think you have better control than I do, though.

    • Marilee Lovit
      Posted July 6, 2016 at 10:05 am | Permalink

      Iris versicolor is native and common here in Downeast Maine. It grows in quite wet places. That particular island has a lot of low, wet areas, just loaded with the Iris. A different species also grows on this island, Iris hookeri, but it blooms earlier and already had capsules formed but still green and not yet releasing seeds.

    • Diana MacPherson
      Posted July 6, 2016 at 10:19 am | Permalink

      My prime also has a 1.4x telextender on it too so it makes it heavier and longer. I also have a tele that goes out even further (Tameron). I want to use it when I take some remote pictures of hummingbirds this year (I have a gadget that hooks up to the camera and wirelessly sends what the camera sees to your iPad. You then focus by clicking on the area. It actually works quite well.

  2. Merilee
    Posted July 6, 2016 at 9:35 am | Permalink

    Um, Jerry, Diana Mac and her squirrels are NOT from Ottawa…more like southern Ontario.

    • Posted July 6, 2016 at 9:41 am | Permalink

      I meant that. I always get Ottawa and Ontario mixed up, which is just stupid. Fixed.

    • Diana MacPherson
      Posted July 6, 2016 at 10:20 am | Permalink

      That’s okay. If anyone wants to murder me, they’ll be looking in the wrong place.🙂

  3. Anna
    Posted July 6, 2016 at 10:50 am | Permalink

    Striking image of Iris versicolor, Marilee. I love seeing native irises in their proper habitat. As Mark pointed out, we’re mostly used to seeing horticultural varieties in gardens, or invasive yellow irises (the Eurasian Iris pseudacorus)in waterways.

  4. Jonathan Wallace
    Posted July 6, 2016 at 11:50 am | Permalink

    Love that low angle shot of the irises against the background of the clouds. Very beautiful!

  5. Mark R.
    Posted July 6, 2016 at 4:36 pm | Permalink

    A seed a second…that’s some fast shelling I must say.

    I don’t know if I’ve noticed the white under the red while a blackbird is not flying.

    Lovely flowers and video. I love the sound of gulls.

