Dinosaur cat

Reader Anne-Marie spotted this video on a French-Canadian website (click screenshot to go to the video). Besides the Stegosaurus Cat, there are also d*gs with different patterns (including a lion) clipped into their fur. You’ll have to endure a 19-second ad before you get to the good stuff.
Screen Shot 2016-07-04 at 7.17.18 AM


  1. Scote
    Posted July 4, 2016 at 2:51 pm | Permalink

    I’m going to put myself firmly in the don’t shave your kitteh for your own amusement camp. Shave yourself all you want, but leave your kittehs alone.

    I’m impressed by the artistry of the groomers, but not by their choice of canvas.

    • somer
      Posted July 5, 2016 at 12:22 am | Permalink


    • steve oberski
      Posted July 5, 2016 at 11:48 am | Permalink

      Our Himalayan cats would get their annual summer solstice lion king cut (pom-poms on the feet and tip of the tail) and be ready to endure heat and humidity of a southern Ontario summer.

      While not done for amusement, the owners were still amused.

  2. Billy Bl.
    Posted July 4, 2016 at 3:07 pm | Permalink

    Looks like abuse to me. Although if my youngest walks across my face in the middle of the night again, I’ll be tempted to cut her whiskers off.

  3. Achrachno
    Posted July 4, 2016 at 3:30 pm | Permalink

    It’s summer and the cats may enjoy a good trim, especially in the warmest regions. I doubt much humiliation results from being made to look like a mini dino.

    • Scote
      Posted July 4, 2016 at 3:43 pm | Permalink

      “It’s summer and the cats may enjoy a good trim”

      Sounds like a question…For Science!!!

      I haven’t seen any sound data on whether fluffy cats benefit from being shaved in summer. One of my neighbors gives his long haired orange and white kitty a squirrel cut each summer (head and tail left fluffy). But my quick google on the topic only got me opinions not sound science on the matter.

      Cats don’t pant or sweat, AFIK. How do they regulate body temp in the heat? They come from Africa (as do we humans), so I’d think they’d be able to deal with heat, but then, the fluffy house cat variety developed post Africa, so I have no idea.

      Do shaved cats get sunburned? Do they get annoyed as their instincts tell them to groom their bare skin with their scratchy tongue? Are they more comfy if shaved? If so, how closely do they need to be shaved?

      I’m for leaving them alone absent sound data to the contrary.

      • gravelinspector-Aidan
        Posted July 4, 2016 at 4:28 pm | Permalink

        They come from Africa (as do we humans)

        Proximally, the domesticated cat seems to be a bit of a mongrel, with contributions from Middle East (arid, but sometimes cold), from European forest cats (moist, but significantly seasonal), and possibly several (sub-) species of Eurasian cats.
        I’ll leave correspondents from the Americas to chip in with rumours of domesticated cats being caught “in flagrente” with some of the smaller wild cats of the area. I do know that such rumours are well founded for the Scottish Wild Cat – it’s very hard to ffind a “wild Cat” without evidence of some in-breeding with the domestic cat. To hear of substantiated evidence of similar in the Americas would surprise me less than finding that the Yeti exists and is our cousin (via H.erectus).

        Cats don’t pant or sweat, AFIK. How do they regulate body temp in the heat?

        But per my point on the origins of the cat, their antecedents cover quite a wide range of environments, which underpins the variety of coat textures available to the cat breeder. So I suspect the “correct” answer is that it depends on the cat. I certainly wouldn’t “shave” any (without a medical reason), because I know how bloody annoying it is as my bristles grow out. I probably wouldn’t go deeper than a #2 cut (I don’t know what that is in mm – 5-7?), and only if the cat were not objecting. Th patterning … probably fades out in a small number of days. If it’s not taken back to a uniform cut after the photography.
        Is it abuse? If the cat doesn’t object, and the weather conditions and fur are appropriate, probably not. It’s less abusive than the artificial hairless breeds. Or declawing.

        • Diane G.
          Posted July 4, 2016 at 8:29 pm | Permalink


        • somer
          Posted July 5, 2016 at 6:48 am | Permalink

          Agreed, though it might not quite be safe for the cat doing the ridges along its spine. Declawing is illegal in most places in Oz and I personally don’t feel artificial hairless breeds are a good idea.

          • gravelinspector-Aidan
            Posted July 5, 2016 at 4:27 pm | Permalink

            While the “Sphinx” breed (is it a trademark? I wouldn’t be surprised) is plainly a tour de force of the conventional breeder’s art, I still can’t imagine how the person (s?) involved could also self-identify as “cat lover”.

    • somer
      Posted July 5, 2016 at 12:26 am | Permalink

      True the cat will be cool but I would think theres a potential for injuring in not just shaving the back smooth – putting indents in it along the spine – and along the tail (would be better to leave the tail alone!) Also cat is shaved so close along the joints of the legs could cut part of the joint. Anyway … Im grumped.

  4. Posted July 4, 2016 at 6:30 pm | Permalink

    why torment a cat by treating it as a inanimate object to be subject to the whims of a human?

  5. Diane G.
    Posted July 4, 2016 at 8:33 pm | Permalink

    I wouldn’t do this to my cats, but I have a feeling the kitty in the vid is quite pampered and loved by his/her human(s).

    I agree that some cuts might be problematic if the cat’s allowed outside, but I don’t see much of a problem for indoor cats.

    All in all, most artistic! Who dreams this stuff up?😀

  6. chris moffatt
    Posted July 4, 2016 at 9:07 pm | Permalink

    How do they get the cat to remain still long enough to cut? I can’t see this working with Summer-the-stripey-cat…..

  7. Mike
    Posted July 7, 2016 at 7:00 am | Permalink

    I hope they got a severe clawing for their trouble.

