Sunday: Hili dialogue

It’s a three-day weekend in the U.S., with tomorrow being the Fourth of July, aka Independence Day, when we happily separated ourselves from a country that ultimately voted for Brexit. On this day in 1775, George Washington took command of the revolutionary forces, the Continental Army. On July 3, 1844, the last pair of great auks was killed, and in 1996, twenty years ago, the Stone of Scone was returned to Scotland from Westminster Abbey; it now resides in the castle at Edinburgh.

Notables born on this day include George M. Cohan (1878), Tom Stoppard (1937), Tom Cruise (1962), and and Ludivine Sagnier (1979). Those who died on this day include Trigger (the horse, 1965), Brian Jones (1969), Jim Morrison (1971) and Andy Griffith (2012). I note sadly the passing of author and Holocaust “activist” Elie Wiesel yesterday. Meanwhile in Dobrzyn, Hili is kvetching about the gardening:

Hili: An unmown meadow is more ecological.
A: You think so…
Hili: A cat creeping stealthily is invisible there.

P1040498 (1)
In Polish:
Hili: Niekoszona łąka jest bardziej ekologiczna.
Ja: Tak uważasz?
Hili: Tak, nie widać na niej skradającego się kota.


  1. Sarah
    Posted July 3, 2016 at 7:11 am | Permalink

    GW and the revolutionary army in 1785??? He was never that unpunctual.

    • Posted July 3, 2016 at 8:29 am | Permalink

      1775. prob a typo.

    • E.A. Blair
      Posted July 3, 2016 at 9:15 am | Permalink

      The Continental Army was authorized on 14 June 1775, and George Washington was appointed as general and commander-in-chief by John Adams, so I suspect the 1785 date is a typo. One of my direct ancestors, one Thomas Stephens, was in Washington’s army. After the war, Stephens became Thomas Jefferson’s brother-in-law, making the third president my many-times-great uncle.

      • Diana MacPherson
        Posted July 3, 2016 at 9:58 am | Permalink

        And he was heard to proclaim, so eloquently, “let us Brexit before they Brexit”.😀

  2. rickflick
    Posted July 3, 2016 at 7:21 am | Permalink

    I remember when Trigger died in 1965. As I recall, Roy had the dead thing mounted ( I mean stuffed; taxidermified), which I thought was a bit weird.

    • jwthomas
      Posted July 3, 2016 at 9:30 am | Permalink

      I saw the beast in the Roy Rogers museum out in the California desert sometime in he late ’70’s. I think I still have the photo I took.

  3. jwthomas
    Posted July 3, 2016 at 9:25 am | Permalink

    1961 couldn’t have been Jim Morrison’s death date unless he recorded “The End” from within his grave.

    • Claudia Baker
      Posted July 3, 2016 at 9:50 am | Permalink


      Probably a typo.

    • ploubere
      Posted July 3, 2016 at 2:51 pm | Permalink

      I was about to post the same. Morrison was around for all of the sixties, which was the time of my adolescence. I remember his death in ’71.

  4. Posted July 3, 2016 at 1:58 pm | Permalink

    Hili my dear, I have had cats who would disagree with you. Some would claim that grass tall enough to tickle a kitty’s tummy is too long!

  5. barn owl
    Posted July 3, 2016 at 1:59 pm | Permalink

    Two of my grad school housemates made almost the exact same comment as Hili’s, about our backyard – they just didn’t want to have to mow it. As the only USAian in the household, I always had to mediate these things with the neighbors: the yard, the housemate who worked on his car in the driveway while wearing nothing but a Northern-European-skin-colored Speedo, etc.

