Hili Dialogue June 29

It’s the 180th day of 2016, so we’re nearly halfway through the year. And it’s Engineer’s Day in Ecuador! On this day in 1889, my own area of “Chicagoland”, Hyde Park, was annexed by the city of Chicago proper, making the city the largest in the U.S. by area. (I don’t think that’s true any longer.)  On June 29, 1975, Woz tested the first prototype of the Apple I personal computer, and exactly 32 years later the first iPhone was put on the market. .

Notables born on this day include Australian gangster Squizzy Taylor (1888), Nelson Eddy (1901), and Anne-Sophie Mutter (1963). Those who died on June 29 include Elizabeth Barrett Browning (1861), Paul Klee (1940), Eric Dolphy (1964) and Jayne Mansfield (1967). Meanwhile in Dobrzyn, Hili is showing Cyrus the art of forensic olfaction:

Hili: I’ve already sniffed that.
Cyrus: And?
Hili: It’s from yesterday.
In Polish:
Hili: Ja to już obwąchałam.
Cyrus: I co?
Hili: Wczorajsze.

And at Ten Cats, the new d*g bellhop at “Cats’ Inn” (the apostrophe changes position from strip to strip) learns the drill:



  1. rickflick
    Posted June 29, 2016 at 7:10 am | Permalink

    I wonder what my d*g is thinking as it goes from spot to spot sniffing. She seems so purposeful. Seemingly at random, she will add her own excretory odor to a spot and then move on. What could she be thinking? I’m inclined to think it has to do with identifying others of her kind to keep in touch with the local canine population. But occasionally she scares up a rabbit.

    • Diana MacPherson
      Posted June 29, 2016 at 1:54 pm | Permalink

      I imagine my dog forming the smell in her mind. Who knows what she thinks a bunny smell looks like!

