Note to readers

It’s time for my sporadic reminder about posting rules and other issues.

First, if you’re new here, or haven’t read the commenting guidelines, endearingly called “Da Roolz!”, please do so.  The link will take you there, or you can see a link on the left sidebar. Violations of these guidelines can be punished by warnings, by moderation, or by outright banning, depending on the degree of transgression.  Today, though, I want to emphasize two things:

1.  Rule #17:

Please do not use this site to promote your project, book, website, and so on, or to raise money for your cause. If you think there’s a cause that deserves my attention, by all means email me simply calling it to my attention. Please do not tell me that I should post about your pet project, or that my readers need to hear about it or would love to hear about it. A simple mention of the project, without the pressure or, especially, fulsome flattery, will suffice.

I am getting a fair number of people writing me and asking me to promote their projects, their websites, their articles, or their books. This website, however, is not an organ of publicity, and making such a request almost guarantees that you won’t get the publicity you desire. As the rule notes, if you have something you think the readers might be interested in, by all means send it to me. But do not say that you want publicity, or ask me to write about it. Making such a request won’t get you banned or moderated, as it doesn’t detract from the tone of the site, but it is not likely to help your cause.

2. Emails. It’s getting hard to keep up with the volume of email sent by readers. I welcome it, of course, as I get topics for many if not most of my posts from readers, and of course there are the wildlife photos. But please limit your emails to me to one per day. If you have several items to impart, please put them in a single email.  Thanks!

Finally, there is one post—on the hidden deer—that has received no comments. It is here. Never in the history of this website have we had a post with no comments. This cannot stand!!! Please go over and make a comment: you can say anything you want (within the Roolz, of course). Complain, praise, kvetch, whatever. . . You can even ask me questions—an “Ask Professor Ceiling Cat (Emeritus)” feature—and I will answer the ones that aren’t too personal, salacious, or unseemly.


  1. Steve
    Posted June 27, 2016 at 1:12 pm | Permalink

    Maybe there were no comments, because it was probably the easiest “spot it” you’ve ever had.

    • Posted June 27, 2016 at 1:35 pm | Permalink

      Exactly, for a cohort trained on nightjars this one was an insufficient challenge. Hence lack of interest.🙂

  2. Posted June 27, 2016 at 1:38 pm | Permalink

    When I visit this site I always see the solution to the “spot it” post before the challenge. That’s no fun. Please hide it somewhere from the main site.

    • Posted June 27, 2016 at 1:44 pm | Permalink

      Good idea; I can always put it below a fold so you have to click to see it. I don’t do that often, but this suggestions is sound. Thank you.

  3. Ariel Karlinsky
    Posted June 27, 2016 at 2:12 pm | Permalink

    How can one even email you? I wish to once with a story I thought you’d find interesting but all I found was university email (doesn’t seem appropriate) and publisher email (also). Is there some section with your “blog” email that I am not aware of? emailers of WEIT – enlighten me!

    • Diane G.
      Posted June 27, 2016 at 2:16 pm | Permalink

      Your first finding was the correct one. I agree that most of us are hesitant at first to use the university eddress. Jerry’s one who doesn’t mind us doing so.

    • Posted June 27, 2016 at 2:17 pm | Permalink

      PCC-E has suggested using the university email before.

  4. Randall Schenck
    Posted June 27, 2016 at 3:04 pm | Permalink

    There are tons of things I learn on this site but getting the proper email was never one of them. But, check and check on the rules.

  5. Diana MacPherson
    Posted June 27, 2016 at 6:47 pm | Permalink

    This is totes amazeballs😎

  6. ThyroidPlanet
    Posted June 28, 2016 at 6:38 am | Permalink

    Can we read an example of a violating email either real or made up?

