Here’s the deer!

Did you spot the deer in this morning’s photo? This was perhaps the hardest one we’ve had yet (I think Matthew is peevish because of Brexit). First, the original photo:


Matthew said this: “Tilt your screen. Its body is just a light brown patch, standing sideways.” And he’s circled the deer:


I put the picture into iPhoto and lightened it, getting this:



  1. Posted June 27, 2016 at 12:49 pm | Permalink

    I see the deer. First time I’ve ever been first to post.

  2. Posted June 27, 2016 at 12:52 pm | Permalink

    Oh deer!

    • John Frum
      Posted June 27, 2016 at 5:01 pm | Permalink

      As my mum would say –
      Deer, oh bloody deer.

  3. Posted June 27, 2016 at 12:52 pm | Permalink

    I used to think deer were cute, and opposed hunting of them until I moved to an area where they seem to enjoy jumping in front of my car.

    • Posted June 27, 2016 at 12:54 pm | Permalink

      I should have add that now they trigger me, and I demand safe spaces.

      • Posted June 27, 2016 at 12:56 pm | Permalink

        May I point out that your road is winding through their turf?

      • Posted June 27, 2016 at 12:58 pm | Permalink

        So I’m watching this stupid show on TV, and they have a recording of a call made to the highway department maybe? Some woman is complaining about deer crossing signs, asking why they put them in high traffic areas. She’s incensed that they are encouraging deer to cross there. :p

        • steve oberski
          Posted June 27, 2016 at 1:44 pm | Permalink

          At least the deer in your area know how to read.

    • dabertini
      Posted June 27, 2016 at 12:58 pm | Permalink

      I’ve had one jump in front of me when riding my bike and a big one crossed my path when xc skiing. Magical!!

    • Diana MacPherson
      Posted June 27, 2016 at 6:48 pm | Permalink

      And leaving ticks.

    • Michael Waterhouse
      Posted June 27, 2016 at 8:30 pm | Permalink

      Me too. With kangaroos.
      Exit one Subaru Impreza WRX 2000.

    • Michael Waterhouse
      Posted June 27, 2016 at 9:47 pm | Permalink

      And a just missed deer too.

      The worst is when a car is coming in opposite direction when most visibility is washed out.

  4. GBJames
    Posted June 27, 2016 at 12:54 pm | Permalink

    I refuse to comment just because I’ve been told to do so.

    Oh, wait…

    • Mary Sheumaker
      Posted June 27, 2016 at 2:19 pm | Permalink


  5. Posted June 27, 2016 at 12:54 pm | Permalink

    It felt like a Monty Python piece on how not to be seen. Why not give us one of a black bear at midnight on a moonless night? Without smellavision, it would be difficult. With smellavision the bear would find us first.

  6. Posted June 27, 2016 at 12:56 pm | Permalink

    I was misinformed.

  7. rudolphpaul
    Posted June 27, 2016 at 12:56 pm | Permalink

    Deer like to hide, it improves their longevity.

  8. Posted June 27, 2016 at 12:57 pm | Permalink

    Sorry! I almost always skip the “Spot the …”
    posts because I almost never see them. Too much shame from eons ago when in a psychology class, I ran out of time trying to spot whatever it was in a picture (probably intended to show my intelligence, but blew it.)

  9. Jari-Pekka Vuorela
    Posted June 27, 2016 at 12:59 pm | Permalink

    Frankly, my deer, I… Well, I do.

  10. Chris G
    Posted June 27, 2016 at 1:05 pm | Permalink

    As per Jerry’s offer to reply to “Ask Professor Ceiling Cat (Emeritus)” questions, as far as I recall, you’ve never posted anything on vegetarianism and the criticisms on meat-eating. Views/defence?
    Chris G

    • Posted June 27, 2016 at 1:16 pm | Permalink

      I am sure there was such a post, though I cannot remember enough of it to find it. Maybe someone else will help.

    • Posted June 27, 2016 at 1:32 pm | Permalink

      I have posted, and said that the moral thing to do is not to eat animals, but that I am a moral failure because I can’t bring myself to become a vegetarian.

      • Chris G
        Posted June 27, 2016 at 1:39 pm | Permalink

        Thanks Jerry – can you provide a link to that post, I can’t find it by search.
        Personally, I’ve come to the conclusion there is nothing morally wrong, in principle, with raising the likes of chickens, pigs, sheep, and cattle for food, but plenty wrong with much of the current ‘industry’ with regard to animal welfare prior to slaughter.
        Can you clarify why you think the moral thing to do is not to eat animals, and why you’re unable to become a vegetarian?
        Thanks, Chris G

        • Posted June 27, 2016 at 1:46 pm | Permalink

          Because animals value their own lives, and if they could choose they would choose to live and not be eaten, even if they were farm-raised. I hate the way factory farming is done for animals, and try to avoid meat from such sources. Since humans can live adequately on a non-meat diet, why not spare the animals? (Bringing them into existence to kill them doesn’t seem like a moral solution to me).

          I’m unable to become a vegetarian for one simple reason: I like meat too much. Yes, I’m a horrible person.

          • Chris G
            Posted June 27, 2016 at 1:59 pm | Permalink

            Yep, I’m with you Jerry on liking meat too much, and think our omnivore nature shouldn’t be dismissed just because we can live ok on a non-meat diet; I think applying the ‘naturalistic fallacy’ argument is a step too far to dismiss our meat-eating nature.
            For a long time I felt I was letting myself off the hook in continuing to eat meat, and felt particularly guilty about the industrial nature of meat production.
            In an ideal world, where welfare of animals is fully considered and applied, I don’t see any principled argument against it.
            Are you saying an ideal world should outlaw meat-eating, and force meat-lovers such as yourself to toe the moral line?
            (Can you provide a link to your earlier post please),
            Chris G

            • Posted June 27, 2016 at 5:21 pm | Permalink

              I’m not sure where the post is, but I know I said on this site that I am a moral failure for not eating meat. Why are you so insistent that I give you the link? If my statement was in a comment, where it’s most likely to have been, putting it in the search box won’t locate it.

              • Chris G
                Posted June 28, 2016 at 1:53 am | Permalink

                Good morning Jerry.
                Sorry for any confusion, but you said above “I have posted” on this topic – I didn’t realise you meant you’d only commented.
                If you had written a full post on the issue, I was particularly interested in reading the ensuing comments from others.
                I appreciate the candidness in your replies here, how you feel ‘horrible’ and ‘a moral failure’ and accept you don’t wish to continue the discussion nor answer my question about outlawing meat-eating in an ideal world – I do accept and respect ‘da roolz’,
                regards, Chris G

            • Diane G.
              Posted June 27, 2016 at 5:41 pm | Permalink

              Chris, I may be wrong about this, but IIRC this discussion is one that’s arisen now and then in the comments of other threads rather than in a stand alone post about just this topic.

              (Apologies to Jerry if I’ve missed a post or two!)

              This is just my opinion–I think there are many subjects that an intelligent community like the WEIT commentariat feels strongly about and likes to discuss, but which are more or less tangential to the “theme” topics here–evolution, secularism, religious incursions into politics, etc.; not to mention cats,* boots, & noms! Worse, they have the potential to be fiercely divisive and thus to destroy a community that otherwise has much in common (see “theme” topics) which often leads to excellent discussions.

              But since many of the hot-button items are indeed related to theme topics they are broached again and again. (A good example would be the indoor/outdoor cat debate, thus the asterisk above.) I think Jerry’s reply to you indicates about how far he wants to get into a discussion of vegetarianism.

              As I’m typing though I seem to remember a discussion about vegetarianism in one of the “open threads” that get posted here now and then. Ring a bell with anyone else, or am I gonna have to get off my butt and google it? 😉

              • Posted June 27, 2016 at 6:17 pm | Permalink

                Nope. But I do know that one of the roolz is not to tell PCC what to eat.

              • Diane G.
                Posted June 27, 2016 at 10:16 pm | Permalink

                That too.

              • Chris G
                Posted June 28, 2016 at 2:55 am | Permalink

                Morning Diane,
                I agree: some subjects discussed on this website are sometimes ‘fiercely divisive’.
                But I don’t feel this inevitably risks ‘destroying a community’. Nor do I think any perceived risk should make us fearful of addressing difficult topics.
                If this common-readership can’t find ways to ‘agree to differ’, what chance have the wider, less homogeneous, communities?
                ‘Da roolz’ are very clear concerning the conduct we should adopt in our conversations – I can’t see why anything should be off-topic.
                In fact I think it’s the issues where we reveal genuine disagreement that are the most interesting – so long as we all ensure we’re polite and thoughtful, open honest discussion should at least clarify the opposing positions that we can then agree to differ on.
                Just to be clear, I’m a guilt-free meat-eater, not here bashing Jerry with a handful of metaphorical vegetables, nor telling him what to eat.
                I’m genuinely interested in the views of others regarding the ‘It’s immoral to eat animals’ position, to learn more about the impact/downside of a vegan world (as Michael Waterhouse touches on below), and to have my views challenged.
                As I’ve acknowledged to Jerry above, I fully accept he doesn’t wish to discuss this any further.
                But does that mean the rest of us need to end the conversation too?
                regards, Chris G

              • Diane G.
                Posted June 28, 2016 at 3:57 am | Permalink

                I can’t see why anything should be off-topic.
                In fact I think it’s the issues where we reveal genuine disagreement that are the most interesting.

                Well, you’re absolutely right. I too think we could have the omnivore/vegetarian discussion here without much rancor–after all we somehow manage to debate gun control civilly! Sounds as if Jerry doesn’t mind if the topic comes up on open threads, if that works for you. I generally always learn something from the supporting data and/or modeling posted for both the pro- & anti- carnivore positions. One just has to hope that interested (and informed!) parties stumble across the topic if it arises in an open thread.

                Seems like the real hot-button issues here are the aforementioned cat debate and anything to do with feminism. Oh, and then there’re the fate-of-Israel discussions…which Jerry generally does let play out, as long as there’s a certain level of decorum.

                Well, I’m sure you’re aware of all that. FWIW, yes, I am aware of how nanny-ish some of my posts sound–sadly, only after having posted them, alas! Apologies.

                And I think it’s great that you brought this up and yet are not a vegetarian/vegan yourself. Of course I assumed otherwise!

          • Posted June 27, 2016 at 4:57 pm | Permalink

            I feel your pain. I salve my conscience by having three meatless days a week. I hope to increase it to four someday. But in any event I absolutely refuse to eat tofuburgers and tofurky.

            • Larry
              Posted June 27, 2016 at 8:34 pm | Permalink

              Looking at them from the outside, mammals are disgusting to think about eating, particularly cows and pigs. The first humans to have actually started with a whole cow to do with what they chose must have been absolutely famished to have chosen to eat it. Cutting through the outside in order to get to the meat is disgusting enough, but then to have to deal with the rest of what they found inside before separating out the meat would be impossible unless you were starving to death. I know we certainly started as scavengers and worked our way up to the whole animal, but still I think if all humans had been like me they would have starved to death and ended the species. Since I don’t ever have to be involved with meat processing, I’m afraid I’ll continue to enjoy eating meat without thinking about where it comes from very often just as I have most of my life. The truth is though that I’d prefer to eat nothing but jellybeans if I could get away with it.

              • Diane G.
                Posted June 27, 2016 at 9:17 pm | Permalink

                Srsly. Why can’t meat do the sensible thing and grow on plants like everything else we eat?

              • Christopher
                Posted June 27, 2016 at 10:56 pm | Permalink

                Just jelly beans? Surely you’d have to leave room for pie, right?

                As for telling PCC what to eat, I’d rather him tell me what to eat and where to eat it. I’ve started a list of places to go when I visit my son in Chicago next time. But, I am an 18-year vegetarian, so the recommendations are limited.

              • Chris G
                Posted June 28, 2016 at 3:13 am | Permalink

                Morning Larry,
                Not quite sure how far your tongue was inserted in cheek when you wrote your comment, but the combination of feeling ‘disgust’ at the idea of killing/cutting-into animals whilst still eating meat because you ‘don’t ever have to be involved with meat processing’ is a common one.
                I too feel squeamish about killing animals, but don’t consider this a key factor in the moral meat-eating debate – seems it’s more an indication of our cotton-wool culture and how the vast majority of us are screened from the more unpleasant tasks that need to be addressed.
                For example, I’m pro-choice, but can’t imagine performing an abortion; nor working as a coroner or funeral-director; or the challenge emergency-services face dealing with horrific car-accident fatalities.
                Not sure how morality applies to the few hunter-gatherer societies that still exist around the world.
                Nor whether hunting for your own meat in the First-world is more moral e.g. the US pod-caster Joe Rogan who shoots wild deer in California,
                Chris G

        • Michael Waterhouse
          Posted June 27, 2016 at 8:47 pm | Permalink

          There is an argument that producing the crops needed for a vegan existence results in land degradation and, more importantly, a large loss of animal life. A larger loss than an omnivorous diet.
          That they are small, like mice, or insects, or reptiles doesn’t mean they are not worth consideration.
          The whole thing is not nearly as clear cut as some would have you believe.

          • Dale Franzwa
            Posted June 27, 2016 at 11:45 pm | Permalink

            For all you guilt plagued meat eaters (I eat meat but don’t feel guilty about it), there is hope. Some day meat (at least beef) will be manufactured. The huge herds of beef on the hoof will disappear along with poetry-writing cowboys (cowmen?). A substantial source of methane gas will disappear. A few cattle will remain to kick-start the manufacturing process but all that grazing land can be reallocated to condos and houses or whatever. Research is already in progress but when this utopia will arrive is anybody’s guess. (Sorry, I can’t remember my source for all this–no, I didn’t make it all up.)

            • Diane G.
              Posted June 27, 2016 at 11:59 pm | Permalink

              Wired had a good article on in vitro meat a while back.

              • Chris G
                Posted June 28, 2016 at 3:21 am | Permalink

                Hi Diane,
                Interesting podcast conversation here too, with a company working on the development of ‘lab meat’:
                Chris G

              • Chris G
                Posted June 28, 2016 at 4:01 am | Permalink

                Hi Diane,
                Interesting podcast conversation here too, with a company working on the development of ‘lab meat’:
                Podcast conversation on lab meat
                Chris G

              • Diane G.
                Posted June 28, 2016 at 4:02 am | Permalink

                Oh, that looks great! I usually love Sam’s podcasts when I get around to listening to them (though I much prefer transcripts). I look forward to this one.

  11. Craw
    Posted June 27, 2016 at 1:08 pm | Permalink

    The WaPo has just published an appalling piece on sharia.

    “Yes, corporal punishment for extramarital sex is Koranic in origin, but it comes with an extremely high evidentiary burden of proof: four eye-witnesses.”

    This is false. Four eye witnesses, counting a woman as half a witness and the victim as no witness at all, are required to prove *rape*. Many women have been punished by Sharia courts for extra-marital sex after they were raped and could not provide the requisite number of witnesses.

  12. BobTerrace
    Posted June 27, 2016 at 1:09 pm | Permalink

    Way too easy.

    • Diane G.
      Posted June 27, 2016 at 1:43 pm | Permalink

      Perhaps it depends on whether you have a device with an easily tiltable screen or not. (I’m to used to tilting I doubt I could readjust to a stand-alone monitor.)

      (Hmm, think of all the find-the subjects we could submit with a little bit of illumination fiddling…)

      • Diane G.
        Posted June 27, 2016 at 1:44 pm | Permalink

        “to” should be “so”

  13. Ken Kukec
    Posted June 27, 2016 at 1:10 pm | Permalink

    Even De Niro in The Deer Hunter wouldn’t have seen that one coming without night-vision goggles.

  14. rickflick
    Posted June 27, 2016 at 1:11 pm | Permalink

    I too lightened the image to look for the “deer”.

    • Mike McCants
      Posted June 28, 2016 at 12:26 am | Permalink

      Wait. What? A blue deer? I’ve seen quite a few deer in my neighborhood – never more than a dozen at one time I think. And we had a doe present us with a new fawn next to our driveway last week. But I’ve never seen a blue deer that looked like that.

    • Diane G.
      Posted June 28, 2016 at 12:55 am | Permalink

      Nice one, rickflick! 😀

  15. Posted June 27, 2016 at 1:17 pm | Permalink

    What are the light-colored objects filling the air?

    • Mark Sturtevant
      Posted June 27, 2016 at 1:22 pm | Permalink

      Fireflies. I think that these are not known in some parts of the world. They would be a marvel to see for the first time.

  16. Mark Sturtevant
    Posted June 27, 2016 at 1:20 pm | Permalink

    Well, I was going to go back and enter some comment, but I see that I am not needed.

  17. Posted June 27, 2016 at 1:25 pm | Permalink

    One time I took a photo of a deer I saw in the shade (during the day). Only after I posted the photo did I notice it was a mother with a young fawn right next to her; I was completely unaware of that when I saw them.

  18. Kevin
    Posted June 27, 2016 at 1:27 pm | Permalink

    Are those firefights? I used to put a grating in front of a camera and check out the spectra…as I recall broad atomic lines (not many) but definitely a fluorescence or photo-luminescent signal.

    • Diane G.
      Posted June 27, 2016 at 1:47 pm | Permalink

      See Mark’s reply @ 15 above.

      Whatever you’re talking about, it sounds pretty cool.😀

    • Diana MacPherson
      Posted June 27, 2016 at 6:51 pm | Permalink

      Spooky. Maybe the baby deer was a ghost. 👻

  19. Chris B
    Posted June 27, 2016 at 1:29 pm | Permalink

    Okay, an off topic comment: I was just listening to the Friendly Atheist podcast and I believe you mentioned something about a branching tree of religions? Just wanted to point out that there’s a video for the Rush instrumental Malignant Narcissism that is a cool animated version of this concept. Not sure if I can link to a YouTube video here but you can search for it if interested!

    • Posted June 27, 2016 at 1:48 pm | Permalink

      I found it and it does make the point, but it’s easier to use a static figure on Powerpoint. The video is here:

      • Diane G.
        Posted June 27, 2016 at 1:59 pm | Permalink

        Though some might find branching ophidians more gripping than a Power Point slide.

        (Actually, the ancient & eastern trees are annelidian…)

  20. Stephen Barnard
    Posted June 27, 2016 at 1:30 pm | Permalink

    I had an unusual deer encounter this morning.

    I was in the creek in a float tube, fishing to a pod of trout feeding on tricos. I heard a loud bleating noise across the creek and couldn’t tell what it was but it was getting closer. Then a mule deer fawn came crashing into the pool with my dog, Deets, close on its heels, with a majorly pissed off doe close behind. They were coming right at me. It was scary. I called off Deets and the doe peeled away at the last moment. The fawn continued swimming downstream around a bend. Needless to say, the pod of fish was ruined, as well as everything else for about 200 yards downstream.

    • Posted June 27, 2016 at 1:33 pm | Permalink

      Was the fawn okay and reunited with its mom?

      • Stephen Barnard
        Posted June 27, 2016 at 1:35 pm | Permalink

        The doe crossed back over the creek while the fawn swan downstream out of sight. I don’t know where it got out. They’re probably OK.

        • Stephen Barnard
          Posted June 27, 2016 at 1:36 pm | Permalink

          swan => swam

    • Diane G.
      Posted June 27, 2016 at 1:50 pm | Permalink

      Do “tricos” = caddisflies?

      • Stephen Barnard
        Posted June 27, 2016 at 1:58 pm | Permalink

        No, tricos are very small mayflies. They emerge in the morning, spend the night in the bushes, and mate in thick swarms and die late next morning. When the “spinners” fall in the water the trout go nuts, abandoning their normal territorial lies, gathering in pods to feed. It’s really fun flyfishing.

        • Diane G.
          Posted June 27, 2016 at 2:03 pm | Permalink

          Thanks, Stephen, sounds wonderful. I mean, I’ve been through several mayfly blooms, but never while sitting in the middle of a creek, fishing!

          Will have to research how the mayfly emergents got dubbed “tricos.”

          • Stephen Barnard
            Posted June 27, 2016 at 2:12 pm | Permalink

            They’re called tricos (genus Tricorythodes) because they have three tails. All other mayflies I know of have two.

  21. MP
    Posted June 27, 2016 at 1:53 pm | Permalink

    Do you plan to move to Canada once Trump gets elected?

    • Posted June 27, 2016 at 2:37 pm | Permalink

      He’s not going to be elected.

    • Christopher
      Posted June 27, 2016 at 4:18 pm | Permalink

      I’d move to canada just for the hell of it, Quebec preferably, but Ive not even visited. I have always considered it a major failure in my life that I have never lived in another country, heck I’ve only lived in two other states, 9 months across the state line in Kansas (doesn’t count for much) and three months in Illinois (Aurora, and I’d be happy to go back).

  22. Posted June 27, 2016 at 1:58 pm | Permalink

    You asked for AMA questions, and here are some of them. Pick any, ignore any, rephrase, repurpose as you like — just some sugggestions of what I’d find interesting. Thanks!

    01 AMAPCCE: Do you believe organized atheism, as it exists in the USA, is a worthwhile project, since nonbelief appears to grow just fine without the (mis)adventures of the movement?

    02 AMAPCCE: Richard Dawkins went “all in”, but many other public intellectuals who are vocal about their nonbelief seem to keep a distance to the Atheism brand (to name three, Steven Pinker, Robert Sapolsky and Neil DeGrasseTyson). Can you hazard a guess why public non-believer intellectuals seem hesitant?

    03 AMAPCCE: Lawrence Krauss interviewed Noam Chomsky and admires the man, Sam Harris believes Chomsky is a moonbat. The names are shorthand for a number of positions. Where would you place yourself on the map?

    • Diane G.
      Posted June 27, 2016 at 2:10 pm | Permalink

      since nonbelief appears to grow just fine without the (mis)adventures of the movement?

      How do you know that? Have we had an experimental control?

    • Posted June 27, 2016 at 2:40 pm | Permalink

      Brief answers:

      1. I think that some organization is useful insofar as it gives people a venue to meet like-minded people, and inspires those who are timid to come out. Unlike Europe, where atheists grows naturally, I think we need more of a push in the U.S. since we’re so religious.

      2. Various reasons. Steve makes no bones about his nonbelief, but (I am just guessing), doesn’t want that to distract from his greater projects about the Englightenment and grammar. For Tyson, I think he sees it as eroding his popularity and likeability.

      3. I don’t know enough about Chomsky to pass judgment on his linguistic accomplishments, but I don’t like his consistent “everything bad is due to the U.S.” political stance.

  23. Amy
    Posted June 27, 2016 at 2:05 pm | Permalink

    I just nevet like this game… I can’t find fun by looking at the blur screen on my palm, spending time to find something and feel great….:))) I like many other Mathew’s posts, though.

  24. Pliny the in Between
    Posted June 27, 2016 at 2:05 pm | Permalink

    My animal instincts suggested that I pass, but your request struck a cordate in me. PCC, being of huge fan of eutheria on so many topics in science and religion I had to consider it. Though crotchety mammal that I am, I had to ruminate a bit before I could comment percora your request and while I certainly would prefer that no one cervidae up venison to me at dinner time, I had to abide when asked to be a deer and comment.

    Be very careful what you ask for…

    • Diane G.
      Posted June 27, 2016 at 2:14 pm | Permalink

      Kudus! A vertebral masterpiece!

  25. David Duncan
    Posted June 27, 2016 at 2:19 pm | Permalink

    DEERly Beerloved!

  26. Posted June 27, 2016 at 2:21 pm | Permalink

    OT // Brexit: the next step. Island scores 2:1 against England in the Euro Soccer Championship, just now, but 70mins to play.

    • David Duncan
      Posted June 28, 2016 at 1:18 am | Permalink

      I demand a replay, and another one, and another one, until we get the right result!

  27. JonLynnHarvey
    Posted June 27, 2016 at 2:31 pm | Permalink

    Doe a deer a female deer
    Re: No comments on this post
    Me oh my, a record low
    Far out for all the traffic here
    So stick by da roolz still
    La la say anything you want
    (By) Tea time comments here galore
    That will bring us back to Doe.
    (with apologies to Rodgers and Hammerstein and both fans and detractors of The Sound of Music)

  28. Michael Day
    Posted June 27, 2016 at 2:42 pm | Permalink

    What do you call a deer with no eyes?
    No eye-deer.

    What do you call a deer with no eyes and no legs?
    Still no eye-deer.

  29. Taylor Brown
    Posted June 27, 2016 at 4:12 pm | Permalink

    How do you go about organizing your writing? Do you form outlines? Do you just throw yourself at the material? How often do you review the stuff–if you do review it–prior to publication? Do you ask for others’ opinions first?

    • Posted June 27, 2016 at 5:28 pm | Permalink

      It’s very messy. First I read and read on the topic, and then reread what I’ve read before. If I’m writing a short essay for a magazine, or a book review, I’ll then make a sort-of-outline with thoughts loosely organized under headers.

      Then I’ll simply blurt everything out on the page; it is not recognizable as English. Then I get depressed.

      Then I put it away for a few days, and something mysterious happens: the thoughts gel in my head and the depression about the piece vanishes.

      Then I put it into English, and that is when the pleasure begins–fine-tuning the writing. I do that over and over and over and over again, sometimes changing only one word in a rewrite. I do this right up to the deadline.

      Then I fight with editors!

      I almost always show what I write to friends who know the area, and I do this before I submit it.

  30. Claudia Baker
    Posted June 27, 2016 at 5:49 pm | Permalink

    I spotted the deer right away. I think it’s the easiest one so far. Maybe that’s because I live in a heavily deer-populated area in Ontario. I constantly scan the road and sides of the road, especially at night, when driving. I have been lucky so far, but most people I know have hit a deer with their car at least once.

    We also have “fireflies” during the sultry nights in July/August. It’s a magical sight!

  31. Andrea Kenner
    Posted June 27, 2016 at 6:50 pm | Permalink

    Oh, deer!

  32. Posted June 27, 2016 at 7:58 pm | Permalink

    Commented on the other post… spotted the deer right away.

    Saw Messie messing up his penalty kick and now he’s said he’s retiring from the national team. He is distraught and feels he’s done all he can to help that team. Will likely continue with his club team Barcelona.

  33. Posted June 27, 2016 at 9:28 pm | Permalink

    I have an AMA question (or three), if it’s not too late…are you a fan of Salman Rushdie’s novels? Why or why not? And specifically, being such a fan of India, have you read (and what’s your opinion of) Midnight’s Children?

    I ask because I put off reading him for years thinking I wouldn’t enjoy the “magical” aspects of his “magical realism” style, but having read a few of his novels, I have come to deeply appreciate his writing. Also, he is an atheist and his writing, while “magical,” is clearly atheistic; and there’s such an Indian influence, it seems like a perfect match for Professor Ceiling Cat.

  34. Posted June 28, 2016 at 12:04 am | Permalink

    I couldn’t find it without help.

  35. Posted June 28, 2016 at 1:15 am | Permalink

    I came to post after Jerry’s exhortation to post a comment. I barely see the deer and that’s my comment. 🙂

    Carl Kruse

  36. Mike
    Posted June 28, 2016 at 7:25 am | Permalink

    Is that you Deer ?

  37. ThyroidPlanet
    Posted June 28, 2016 at 8:20 am | Permalink

    PCC(E) has spoken – I’m just following orders

  38. Avis James
    Posted June 28, 2016 at 1:17 pm | Permalink

    The fireflies are super cool!

  39. Helen Hollis
    Posted June 29, 2016 at 2:05 am | Permalink

    I have many questions, and do not want to be rude by asking too many. One on the top of my list would be asking you if you feel that you have helped change minds concerning evolution. The second question I would ask would be where does your passion for sharing your knowledge come from, if you want to share.

