“Safe university”: a short dystopian story

Quillette is where all the cool kids are publishing, and I recommend a very short piece of fiction there by Henry Rambow, once an evanglical missionary in China but now an atheist. The story, “Safe University,” is a bit over the top imagining what might happen if today’s Special Student Snowflakes and their craven faculty enablers actually came to dominate American universities, but it’s still an entertaining read.

18817_protestedwinf

Photo by Edwin Gano

9 Comments

  1. Posted June 25, 2016 at 4:19 pm | Permalink

    At first I thought I was reading Yevgeny Zamyatin’s “We,” but then I realised I was. 😉

  2. Geoffrey Howe
    Posted June 25, 2016 at 5:56 pm | Permalink

    I remember all the dystopian books I read as a kid. To me, they were about threats that had largely passed.

    I feel this story is a bit heavy handed, though perhaps I’d feel the same about Animal Farm if I read it when it first came out. Anyone have thoughts on this?

    Also, it’s been pointed out that Demolition Man is actually a pretty good movie portraying this kind of dystopia. It’s possibly better balanced, with curse words netting a small fine, as compared to offensive speech ruining a career. Also, it’s Sylvester Stalone in an action movie! So, got that going for it too 😀

  3. Posted June 25, 2016 at 6:45 pm | Permalink

    I repeat what I’ve said previously: Is Rambow a pseudonym?

    • Posted July 12, 2016 at 2:18 pm | Permalink

      Rimbaud
      Rambo
      Rambow

      All the same, no? 🙂

  4. Michael Waterhouse
    Posted June 25, 2016 at 7:17 pm | Permalink

    Very good. Good enough anyway.
    Map together few actual events, overlay a few more, add a little extrapolation and amplification and, there you go.

  5. Heather Hastie
    Posted June 25, 2016 at 9:40 pm | Permalink

    I can’t work out what I think about whether this is possible. The truth is there are places where this situation is all too real – think of feminists, atheists, apostates, and gays in Saudi Arabia.

    I like the story, and think it’s a cool idea for a TV series.

  6. somer
    Posted June 26, 2016 at 4:11 am | Permalink

    To me its part of the politics of blame and the perfect world. I hope there’s a kick back

    Half the Labour cabinet has called for a vote on Corbyn’s leadership given his lack of interest in supporting Remain. Some even suspect he’s secretly Brexit. His career has been anti west as its main theme, rather than pro his constituency.

    Jeremy Corbyn: the politician who never grew up.
    http://www.prospectmagazine.co.uk/features/jeremy-corbyn-the-politician-who-never-grew-up

  7. Indrani Roy
    Posted June 27, 2016 at 3:12 am | Permalink

    A great story and the kind which i love most…one with a happy ending.

    On Sun, Jun 26, 2016 at 1:00 AM, Why Evolution Is True wrote:

    > whyevolutionistrue posted: “Quillette is where all the cool kids are > publishing, and I recommend a very short piece of fiction there by Henry > Rambow, once an evanglical missionary in China but now an atheist. The > story, “Safe University,” is a bit over the top imagining what might h” >

  8. Posted June 27, 2016 at 11:46 am | Permalink

    What really ticks me off in all of this is that there are *genuine problems* to address, and the solutions proposed by the ‘safe spaces’ crowd (or whatever) are making it very difficult to deal with them.

    Where is a sociologist with his (or her) head on right to study this … movement and see what we really are up against. I don’t expect the “other sides” to even agree to be analyzed, but …


