Thursday: Hili dialogue

It’s Thursday, June 23, and it stormed a treat last night: sheets of rain, booming thunder, and there were even tornado warnings in Chicago (none materialized).  Even now it is drizzly with thick fog, but at least it’s cooled down. The good news is that I have a new electric toothbrush–my first–and I never have to move my arms again while brushing! On this day in 1868, the first typewriter was patented by Christopher Ltham Sholes, and, in 1926, the first SAT exam (the “college boards”) was given in the US. On a more somber note, on June 23, 1942, a train full of Jews arrived at Auschwitz from Paris, and the Nazis made their first selections for the gas chamber. If you’re ever near Krakow, Poland, do make the trip to Auschwitz.

Notables born on this day include sex worker Alfred Kinsey (1894), Alan Turing (1912, died by suicide in 1954), Wilma Rudolph (1940), Joss Whedon (1964) and Zinedine Zidane (1972). Those who died on this day include my hero Jonas Salk (1995). Meanwhile in Dobrzyn, Hili spied two strange dogs in the field on her walk to the river, which spooked her (she doesn’t like strange dogs at all), so she returned to the safety of her orchard.

Hili: I’m going home.
A: Why?
Hili: I do not associate with strange dogs.


 In Polish:

Hili: Wracam do domu.
Ja: Dlaczego?
Hili: Nie zadaję się z obcymi psami.

And here’s noble Gus, proud after flushing a sparrow from under the barbecue (it escaped):



  1. Dominic
    Posted June 23, 2016 at 6:40 am | Permalink

    snap! London also had thunderstorms last night – which are not that common here. 40mm of rain in some parts of central London – I LOVE rain!

  2. Randall Schenck
    Posted June 23, 2016 at 7:28 am | Permalink

    Electric toothbrush. Welcome to the 21st century and say hello to Braun.

  3. Ken Kukec
    Posted June 23, 2016 at 9:47 am | Permalink

    My earliest memory regarding televised sports is watching the 1960 Rome Olympics with my dad. It wasn’t until years later, after reading how she had overcome childhood polio, that I understood why he had jumped out of his easy chair screaming “Go, Wilma, go!” when Ms. Rudolph took the baton from her teammate and headed for her third gold medal running the anchor leg of the women’s 4 X 100 meter relay.

    The only other time I remember the old man coming out of his chair screaming at the tube like that, he was yelling “Stop!” at the video of the thuggish Alabama state troopers raining nightsticks down upon the protestors crossing the Edmund Pettus Bridge during the Selma-to-Montgomery march. That event has been on my mind lately, too, watching John Lewis on C-Span leading the sit-in of the House of Representatives, trying to shame the Republicans into holding a vote on gun-control.

  4. Ken Kukec
    Posted June 23, 2016 at 9:58 am | Permalink

    Referring to Dr. Kinsey as a “sex worker” — is that an inside joke among research scientists?

  5. Heather Hastie
    Posted June 23, 2016 at 11:38 am | Permalink

    Hili looks especially beautiful when she’s alarmed.🙂

  6. Diana MacPherson
    Posted June 23, 2016 at 12:31 pm | Permalink

    Careful not to push at all on an electric brush. You can subconsciously do this if you’re right handed and brushes your left teeth and vice versa if you’re left handed. I have very sensitive the meets because I brushed away some gums and they never come back so I have receding gums all over. Jeez, the dentist didn’t tell me that could happen; I just knew it was good to have really clean teeth!

