Readers’ wildlife photographs

We have a potpourri  of urban wildlife today, starting with reader Anne-Marie Cournoyer’s photos of a red-winged blackbird  (Agelaius phoeniceus) feeding its young in a Montreal backyard:







A chipmunk flight and then a red squirrel fight, all from reader Diana MacPherson:

Just when I told you that I had no good baby red squirrel pictures, two red squirrel siblings [Tamiasicurus hudsonicus] showed up at the bird feeder tonight. There were a couple of Eastern chipmunks too [Tamias striatus] but the chipmunks were startled by me sitting on my deck (including one that thought I didn’t notice him sneaking around me on the deck. The first picture happened after the chipmunk was startled by the sound of a screechy bird overhead. There is then a red squirrel sibling fight sequence & then one of the siblings gets scared and leaves but the other stays the whole time with me fairly close. A chipmunk returns at one point & stays near the red squirrel.


The brawl begins!










  1. darrelle
    Posted June 23, 2016 at 7:48 am | Permalink

    The fight pics look like a Kaiju battle scene from a classic Godzilla movie.

  2. rickflick
    Posted June 23, 2016 at 9:10 am | Permalink

    Feeding the baby redwing: Looks like she’s going to suck momma down with the meal!
    Squirrels: MMA!

  3. Posted June 23, 2016 at 9:54 am | Permalink

    The second pic of the wrestling squirrels is especially great!

    • Diana MacPherson
      Posted June 23, 2016 at 12:36 pm | Permalink

      I like the one when you mostly see a little red hand grasping in the air.

  4. barn owl
    Posted June 23, 2016 at 11:09 am | Permalink


    The squirrel brawl sequence is hilarious!🙂

    • Mark Sturtevant
      Posted June 23, 2016 at 1:25 pm | Permalink

      I was making sound effects like %&%*#%($)#!!!

      But I wonder if this is really just playing.

      • Diana MacPherson
        Posted June 23, 2016 at 1:35 pm | Permalink

        I think they are getting old enough that they are territorial. One suddenly jumped on the other. This is the age I see chipmunks & squirrels become less brotherly.

  5. Mark R.
    Posted June 23, 2016 at 1:27 pm | Permalink

    Ahhh, reminds me of fights with my older brother as a kid. He always won…🙂

    It always amazes me how different adult birds look compared to their chicks.

  6. Posted June 24, 2016 at 7:35 am | Permalink

    Great photos!

  7. keith cook + / -
    Posted June 27, 2016 at 8:45 pm | Permalink

    The thing I like about the birds posted is quite a few of them I am seeing for the first time… thanks and then there’s
    LET’S RUMBLE! Ok that was fun, let’s eat!

