Wednesday: Hili dialogue

Welcome to June! When you read these words, I’ll already be on my way to Boston on the 6 a.m. flight. On this day in 1495, John Cor, a monk, recorded the production of the first known batch of Scotch whisky. And in 1967, the Beatles released their Sergeant Pepper, album; it was while I was listening to it that I had my atheist epiphany.

Notables born on this day include Marilyn Monroe (1926), Pat Boone (1934) and Charlene (1950), whose one big hit, “I’ve never been to me,” (1982) is possibly the worst song of all time. I can remember the moment I first heard it, just as I can remember the moment I learned that John F. Kennedy had been shot. Those who died on this day include Helen Keller (1968).  Meanwhile in Dobrzyn, Andrzej gives Hili some wise advice:

Hili: Can this creature sitting over there eat me?
A: No, it’s a woodpecker—it’s not interested in cats.
Hili: Can I eat it?
A: I wouldn’t advise it, it might drum the idea out of your head.
P1040331

In Polish:

Hili: Czy to, co tam siedzi może mnie zjeść?
Ja: Nie, to jest dzięcioł—on nie interesuje się kotami.
Hili: A czy ja mogę to zjeść?

Meanwhile in Montreal, Anne-Marie’s yard squirrel, “Le Petit Ami”, is resting in the heat:

DSCN3378

And lagniappe (from the great site Meanwhile in Canada): Baffroom Cat:

13315372_1032601573453540_711745984622689538_n

15 Comments

  1. Torbjörn Larsson
    Posted June 1, 2016 at 7:19 am | Permalink

    But does the cat roll outwards or inwards?

  2. infiniteimprobabilit
    Posted June 1, 2016 at 8:05 am | Permalink

    I have to disagree that “I’ve never been to me” is the worst song of all time.

    If you ignore the words (and particularly that godawful mawkish spoken bridge in the middle) the tune is actually quite catchy.

    Come to that, with just a little bit of adjustment to the lyrics, it could be turned into a paean to immorality by a lady of negotiable affection. Would somebody please oblige…

    (Umm. From Wikipedia: “In 1994, the film The Adventures of Priscilla, Queen of the Desert opened with Hugo Weaving lip-synching this song while in drag. The song is also featured in the first act of the stage musical where it is mimed onstage by two Sydney female impersonators at the Imperial Hotel in Erskineville, Australia.” Getting there….. )

    My nomination for worst goddy song of all time is the abysmal “Gimme that Christian side-hug” which should not only embarrass any Xtian who has a clue, but is musically atrocious. (Not sure whether ‘musical’ is even a word that can be used in that connection).

    cr

    • mordacious1
      Posted June 1, 2016 at 10:48 am | Permalink

      Christian music doesn’t count, because it’s supposed to be awful by definition.

      • infiniteimprobabilit
        Posted June 1, 2016 at 8:17 pm | Permalink

        🙂

        I thought ‘I’ve never been to me’ was considered Xtian music, or maybe that was just down to Charlene. It was originally written as a male song, I suppose a bit like those Kenny Rogers country ballad sort of thing.

        Being perverse, I’m trying to think of any Christian music that isn’t awful. I know the genre you mean and since I ‘turn off’ as soon as I hear it, I doubt I’ll have much luck.

        Umm, is ‘Knocking on Heaven’s Door’ Xtian music? (The Guns ‘n’ Roses version ain’t! But how about the Dunblane Massacre version as performed by Ted Christopher and played by Mark Knopfler, with an extra verse which even I (in the anti-gun camp) find tacky, and the Lords Prayer ffs! – I listen to it quite often, casually ignoring the words, so I can listen to Mark’s sublime guitar playing.

        I think we may be in a sort of reverse-No-True-Scotsman situation here, in that, if it’s any good, by definition it can’t be ‘Christian music’ 😉

        cr

        • Diane G.
          Posted June 2, 2016 at 3:34 am | Permalink

          “I’m trying to think of any Christian music that isn’t awful.”

          It’s probably just me, but I find some gospel and some folk Christian music most stirring and moving. Not to mention some of the classical pieces that were commissioned by the church or pious followers of same.

          But I suspect you were speaking of contemporary pop/rock Xtian music which is, almost exclusively, abominable.

          “Spirit in the Sky,” dammit, can be a real earworm, though.

          • infiniteimprobabilit
            Posted June 2, 2016 at 4:17 am | Permalink

            “I suspect you were speaking of contemporary pop/rock Xtian music”

            Absolutely correct.

            Obviously there’s a huge body of classical music (maybe even a majority of it?) which is Christian-influenced in one way or another. Like art and architecture, you can’t escape it.

            I just have to get used to ignoring the words or Biblical references and appreciate the music. e.g. Leonard Cohen’s ‘Hallelujah’ or ‘Suzanne’, or Blake/Parry’s ‘Jerusalem’, or Holst’s ‘Thaxted’ which is the most beautiful anthem I know, notwithstanding that the words (‘I Vow to Thee My Country’) are religious/jingoistic in the extreme.

            Not that every Biblical reference is necessarily Christian, of course.

            cr

            • HaggisForBrains
              Posted June 2, 2016 at 4:54 am | Permalink

              Not that every Biblical reference is necessarily Christian, of course.

              How about Stairway to Heaven? Just sublime. My late wife insisted that the intro (only) be played at her funeral as the coffin slowly slid towards the oven. The timing was perfect, and those who knew her got the reference.

              • infiniteimprobabilit
                Posted June 2, 2016 at 5:49 am | Permalink

                I know it well. She obviously had a sense of irony. I’m sorry for your loss.

                I long ago selected Dire Straits’ Wild Theme from Local Hero (also confusingly sometimes known as Going Home) as what I would like played. Specifically the one on their Sultans of Swing album (there are dozens of versions extant). http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=m-T51EUkNfU

                Anyone’s guess whether it will happen, though.

                cr

              • HaggisForBrains
                Posted June 2, 2016 at 7:07 am | Permalink

                She loved the irony of it!

                Dire Straits – good choice, and a lovely version!

              • infiniteimprobabilit
                Posted June 2, 2016 at 8:17 am | Permalink

                Thank you.

                cr

  3. Randall Schenck
    Posted June 1, 2016 at 8:38 am | Permalink

    Really good photos today, Hili and the rest.

    When JFK was assassinated. I was in the eighth grade at Supai elementary in Scottsdale, Az. They let school out and we did not go back until the following Monday.

  4. Ken Kukec
    Posted June 1, 2016 at 9:52 am | Permalink

    … in 1967, the Beatles released their Sergeant Pepper, album; it was while I was listening to it that I had my atheist epiphany.

    The medical literature reflects that the shaking and sweating you reported is a common reaction to hearing Ringo sing “With a Little Help From My Friends.”

    I have a similar reaction when listening to Ringo belt out “Act Naturally.”

  5. Posted June 1, 2016 at 5:03 pm | Permalink

    Marilyn dead and Pat still alive. Life is always just outside the foul pole.

  6. Posted June 2, 2016 at 12:49 am | Permalink

    If religions would spend less time religioning and more time doing useful things like inventing Scotch, I might consider going back to church. Scotch and wafers, yummy.

  7. HaggisForBrains
    Posted June 2, 2016 at 5:01 am | Permalink

    …it was while I was listening to it that I had my atheist epiphany.

    Presumably not the same time as your profound revelation on the colour of the walls?


