You won’t believe the cutest animal video ever!

Well, if there’s a mom-and-brood animal video cuter than this family of Procyon lotor, I don’t know what it is. Look at the solicitude with which Mom Lotor ensures that all her babies are inside, helping the clumsy and recalcitrant ones.

h/t: Taskin


  1. ploubere
    Posted May 29, 2016 at 2:12 pm | Permalink


  2. Alexander
    Posted May 29, 2016 at 3:24 pm | Permalink

    Reminds of something similar I watched when I lived in Princeton. Across the street was a tree with a similar hole that was inhabited by a pair of squirrels. Close to that tree was a house that got a big rug, rolled up, delivered on its porch, but the owners left it on the porch and left for a couple of days. When they returned they were in for a surprise, in the meantime, the two squirrels had chewed pieces from the rug and deposited them in their nest, and within twenty-four hours the whole rug had disappeared into the tree.

  3. jay
    Posted May 29, 2016 at 3:51 pm | Permalink

    About 20 years ago my wife was involved in wildlife rehab, primarily raccoons. Over the course of each spring and summer we’d have several broods to raise for release.

    They are fantastic animals, so clever, so much fun to watch.

    • jay
      Posted May 29, 2016 at 3:55 pm | Permalink

      On a couple of occasions when there were big family events (graduations etc) we’d arrive in the camper van with our ‘babies’. That way she could go out to the truck every few hours for feeding.

  4. Mark Loucks
    Posted May 29, 2016 at 5:31 pm | Permalink

    I remember a sad site on State Route 194 heading south from Route 193, a mother and five half grown P. lotor dead in the road a couple of years ago. It looked to me like she was trying to save them and it went bad. I hope a couple survived. I actually grieved for a day or two. Some vehicle should be renamed Family Devastator.

  5. Posted May 29, 2016 at 7:48 pm | Permalink

    I usually gripe when people make vertical videos with their smart phones, but I can see it was totally appropriate here.

  6. Rupinder
    Posted May 29, 2016 at 8:38 pm | Permalink

    Awwww…. So cute! Made my day!

  7. Gary Allan
    Posted May 29, 2016 at 9:51 pm | Permalink

    Am I the only one who sees no link in this post? How are you all seeing the video when I cannot see the link?

    • Posted May 30, 2016 at 12:22 am | Permalink

      Maybe the video’s homeopathic. But I don’t see it either …

      • Alexander
        Posted May 30, 2016 at 1:53 am | Permalink

        In the email that you have opened, click on “See all comments” at the bottom, and then click on the image.

    • Diane G.
      Posted May 30, 2016 at 1:53 am | Permalink

      It’s actually an embedded vid. Perhaps you have an ad blocker that’s preventing it from loading? I had to wait a few seconds for it to appear on my screen.

      • jwthomas
        Posted May 30, 2016 at 7:42 am | Permalink

        I had to turn off my ad blocker to access the video.

      • Posted May 30, 2016 at 6:00 pm | Permalink

        My email comes through AOL, and when videos won’t show inside the AOL window, I copy and paste their web address into Chrome, to see it there. The only time this doesn’t work well is with Twitter, possibly because of my ad-blocker.

