Upcoming book-related events and talks

Please excuse a bit of self-promotion: there will be an inordinate number of book-related announcements this week, just to keep people up to date.  This is a list of upcoming events, and I’ll add others when they materialize:

Thursday, May 21: Tomorrow I’ll be speaking at noon at the spiffy University Club of Chicago (76 E. Monroe St.). I believe tickets are $25, but that includes lunch. You can get more information at (312) 726-2840. There will be a book signing, I believe. The magic word to get a cat drawn in your book, as it will be for this whole series of talks, is “Maru.”

Friday, May 22: In two days I’ll be doing a reddit AMA (“Ask me anything”) event from 1 p.m. to at least 3 p.m. Eastern Time, and it may go on longer. You can post questions (in advance) or observe the goings-on here. The occasion of the conversation is the book, but the theme is, of course, that every issue is fair game. It’s your chance to ask about evolution, religion, or anything else; I’ll do my best to answer the substantive questions. (Don’t ask about boots!)

Wednesday, May 27: I’ll be giving a short (20-30 min) talk about the genesis of my book (excuse the pun) and a precis of the contents at the famous Politics & Prose bookstore in Washington D.C. The event (details here) is at 7 p.m., and there will be both a Q&A and a book-signing afterwards.

Sunday, June 7: I’ll be speaking at 10 a.m. at the Imagine No Religion 5 meeting in Vancouver (june 5-7), sandwiched between Harriet Hall and Lawrence Krauss. My topic won’t be science vs. religion, but “You don’t have free will.” The conference has a terrific line-up, with lots of science, but unfortunately the tickets are sold out and the waitlist is closed. Faith vs. Fact will be on sale, and I’ll be glad to sign it.

Wednesday, June 10: The Centre for Inquiry Canada is sponsoring a book talk in Toronto at 7:30 p.m.  Information is here; there will be a Q&A after the talk and then a book-signing (“Maru”).

And two pictures sent by readers. First, the book in Montreal, as a staff selection!:

Canada

And in the “new releases” section of Powell’s in Portland, the hippest bookstore around. I’m right beneath Underwater Babies!

Powell's

45 Comments

  1. Nwalsh
    Posted May 20, 2015 at 10:37 am | Permalink

    My local Chapters in Kelowna BC had nine copies yesterday. Very encouraging.

    • gravelinspector-Aidan
      Posted May 20, 2015 at 6:47 pm | Permalink

      More encouraging if it only had two copies today.

  2. John Conoboy
    Posted May 20, 2015 at 10:48 am | Permalink

    Events are too far from Albuquerque, but on the plus side, my favorite independent bookstore will have my copy for me by Friday.

  3. Dave Rosenman
    Posted May 20, 2015 at 10:56 am | Permalink

    I just received your book in the mail about an hour ago, and I’m looking forward to reading it. I’m not sure if this really matters… but I checked out your author page of amazon it only lists ‘Why Evolution Is True’ and your book on ‘Speciation’ under “Books Written by Jerry A. Coyne”. http://www.amazon.com/Jerry-A.-Coyne/e/B001JSCB22

    If you want to update update your amazon bibliography, I think you can update it here https://authorcentral.amazon.com/gp/landing?ie=UTF8&*Version*=1&*entries*=0

    • SA Gould
      Posted May 20, 2015 at 6:22 pm | Permalink

      Yes, please update. I noticed that, too. Many people do read the author bio.

    • Posted May 24, 2015 at 6:00 am | Permalink

      Apparently (I checked with Viking on this), only past books are on the biography, not ones that just came out. I haven’t checked that by looking at other bios, but I will. Thanks!

  4. DTaylor
    Posted May 20, 2015 at 10:57 am | Permalink

    It just popped up as a “New Arrival” in the Library of Science Book Club. Way to go, Jerry! This is all awesome–make that marvelous! Also, way cool!

    • DTaylor
      Posted May 20, 2015 at 11:11 am | Permalink

      Just wanted to add my particular admiration of the cover design: attractive, informative, very easy to read, and really stands out.

  5. Diana MacPherson
    Posted May 20, 2015 at 11:06 am | Permalink

    Jerry’s going to be all famous and Europa and the Pirate Twins all of us.

    Yes, I used the title of a Thomas Dolby song as a verb. I’m *that* abusive to English.

    • darrelle
      Posted May 20, 2015 at 11:44 am | Permalink

      You may be on to something. My vision has been going south recently. Suddenly I find myself needing reading glasses for up close if I am wearing my contacts for distant. And here I thought it was just another sign of aging.

  6. lkr
    Posted May 20, 2015 at 11:13 am | Permalink

    Politics and Prose book events are often taped for CSPAN’s weekend books and authors programming. Hope PCC is as well.

  7. Pete Moulton
    Posted May 20, 2015 at 11:30 am | Permalink

    Not only are you right below “Underwater Babies,” but you’re only two doors down from Ty Cobb. Good company, I’d say!

    • Nwalsh
      Posted May 20, 2015 at 3:39 pm | Permalink

      Once read a bio of Mr Cobb, he was one mean sob if I remember correctly.Don’t think anyone sharpens their spikes these days – Cause they’re rubber probably.

    • gravelinspector-Aidan
      Posted May 20, 2015 at 6:49 pm | Permalink

      I don’t know who or what a Ty Cobb is, but I liked the juxtaposition of a book about “the Happiness Industry” and one demolishing one of the larger “Happiness Industries”.

  8. Posted May 20, 2015 at 11:37 am | Permalink

    Next time I’m in a bookstore I’ll look out for it. (Though just for the sake of the record; I already have a copy.)

  9. darrelle
    Posted May 20, 2015 at 11:49 am | Permalink

    The bookstores in my town are unlikely to carry it. If they do, no more than one copy, which will undoubtedly end up on the clearance table. That is where I have picked up most books over the past couple of years by the likes of Dawkins, Harris, Hitchens Ayaan Hirsi Ali, Pinker, etc.. Actually, it has been a big help being able to pick up books that have been on my list for years for $5 or less. And typically hardcover too.

    • Posted May 20, 2015 at 12:31 pm | Permalink

      😦
      Dare we ask what benighted neck of the woods that is? (he says from London, aka Sin City!)

      • darrelle
        Posted May 20, 2015 at 7:24 pm | Permalink

        A small town on the Treasure Coast (central east coast) of Florida, USA. There are two majority demographics that dwarf all others, very conservative very weathy and redneck. Actually, there has been a slight, but noticable, dash of enlightenment over the past 5 years or so. There is even a vehicle I see around town regularly with a Darwin Fish bumper sticker. I was really surprised to see that.

        Heck, I remember once making a comment here on WEIT that there were a dozen churches within 3 miles of my house and someone pedantically scoffed at my claim. Just to be sure I wasn’t blowing things out of proportion, the next day I went for a drive and started a count. Once I got to 13 I couldn’t take any more. Took about 5 minutes. What the heck is a Primitive Baptist Church anyway?

        • Diane Langworthy
          Posted May 21, 2015 at 8:40 am | Permalink

          I know you’re not exaggerating. Once I was visiting my mom who lives along your coast. While driving about on a Sunday at gettingoutofchurch time, there were several traffic snags and police officers directing traffic for the huge volume of people exiting onto the single lane roads.

    • SA Gould
      Posted May 20, 2015 at 6:24 pm | Permalink

      Do you have a local library? You can donate one to them!

      • darrelle
        Posted May 20, 2015 at 7:25 pm | Permalink

        Not a bad idea at all. I’ll have to check on that.

  10. Cliff Melick
    Posted May 20, 2015 at 12:16 pm | Permalink

    Jerry, you’re lucky you aren’t just underwater! 🙂

    • Cliff Melick
      Posted May 20, 2015 at 12:24 pm | Permalink

      PS – I hope I can meet you at Prose & Politics – it’s about an hour or so drive from my summer place in Maryland to Washington.

  11. Ken Phelps
    Posted May 20, 2015 at 12:24 pm | Permalink

    So will the website get a new name?

    “Faith Versus the Fact That Evolution is True”, perhaps.

  12. MarkT
    Posted May 20, 2015 at 1:03 pm | Permalink

    Politics and Prose is only 15 minutes from my place in DC so I’ll try to get there. Not sure how to get my Kindle copy signed though 🙂

    • gravelinspector-Aidan
      Posted May 20, 2015 at 6:53 pm | Permalink

      Get Jerry to write the dedication on a sheet of paper and scan it. I’m sure there will be a way to combine “notes” (“annotations”, perhaps ? ; my Kindle died of an airport trolley through the screen about a year ago, and I never used it for anything other than PDFs and text files) with the original document.

  13. Steven Obrebski
    Posted May 20, 2015 at 1:12 pm | Permalink

    I got my cop7y just now!
    Whoopee!!

  14. Hempenstein
    Posted May 20, 2015 at 1:24 pm | Permalink

    It… has been… released! (Didn’t someone write a song about that?)

    Anyway, out mowing the front grass strip so the boro nebbishes don’t get on my ass for the natural appearance of my front yard, I notice a fresh truck tire print. That means a UPS truck (since otherwise all USPS parcels go to my PO Box). Just confirmed that that meant Deliverance – from Barnes & Noble!

    • Hempenstein
      Posted May 20, 2015 at 1:47 pm | Permalink

      And just looking closer at the second pic – there’s graphic proof. Faith vs. Fact: it ain’t Rocket Science.

  15. Richard Jones
    Posted May 20, 2015 at 1:29 pm | Permalink

    Automatically downloaded on Monday and I am into it. Great reading. Thanks to PCC.

  16. DrBrydon
    Posted May 20, 2015 at 2:17 pm | Permalink

    I’m traveling, and my book is sitting at home waiting for me to come back. 😦

  17. Posted May 20, 2015 at 3:34 pm | Permalink

    Just started reading Faith vs Fact. I know it’s going to be good!

    Thanks
    Duane

  18. Filippo
    Posted May 20, 2015 at 4:13 pm | Permalink

    Picked up my copy at my independent bookseller about an hour ago; read the liner in the car before departing. It’s sitting here at arm’s length while I chill from dealing with juvenile human primates all day, pigging out on “classic” Lays potato chips while the chardonnay chills.

  19. thompjs
    Posted May 20, 2015 at 4:47 pm | Permalink

    When are you coming to Texas

  20. Keith Cook or less
    Posted May 20, 2015 at 5:37 pm | Permalink

    I have been told my copy has been sent, ho hum, tweedledum, good luck with the promotions
    Professor.

  21. Werner H Baur
    Posted May 20, 2015 at 6:45 pm | Permalink

    Congratulations! The book must have been sold out two months ago, right when I ordered it. Today I got this from Barnes and Noble:
    “We want to give you an update about the pre-ordered item(s) listed below. We apologize, but due to an unexpected delay, we are unable to ship the item(s) listed below in the time frame we stated in our previous email. We expect to ship the item(s) soon and will email you when it is ready to leave our warehouse.”
    Do I get it from a second printing?

  22. squidmaster
    Posted May 20, 2015 at 6:55 pm | Permalink

    got my first copy today! Second is on the way. I’ll gift it to someone on the edge…

  23. Mark Sturtevant
    Posted May 20, 2015 at 8:04 pm | Permalink

    I am happy to say I am now reading the book between my various duties. I carry it around with me for when I have a moment.

  24. Debbie
    Posted May 20, 2015 at 10:29 pm | Permalink

    So thrilled to come home from Portland and see my copies waiting for me at the door.
    Maybe you will come to San Diego and sign them.

  25. Posted May 21, 2015 at 3:49 am | Permalink

    No. 1 in Germany too —

    http://www.amazon.de/gp/bestsellers/books-intl-de/1323409031/ref=zg_b_bs_1323409031_1

    Beating some idiot I’d never heard of before who explains how you can “unlock the higher purpose in your DNA”. Maybe he’ll follow it up with unlocking the higher purpose of everyday household objects and office equipment.

  26. Bruce Gorton
    Posted May 21, 2015 at 11:17 am | Permalink

    I am having trouble getting the e-book edition through Amazon.

  27. Posted May 22, 2015 at 12:53 pm | Permalink

    Reblogged this on WORLD WIDE WRITERS' WEB [WWWW].

  28. Diane G.
    Posted May 23, 2015 at 11:13 pm | Permalink

    Have had my books for a couple of days, now.

    It’s every bit as good as I’d hoped (and expected) it would be!


