Peregrinations

As I posted a few days ago, I’m taking off tomorrow for two weeks. Destinations: Cambridge, Massachusetts; Stockbridge, Massachusetts (site of the small “Moving Naturalism Forward” meeting; and Mexico City, site of their second annual atheism conference.

I’ll return from Mexico November 7, and leave a week later for two talks in Scotland.  The upshot is that posting may be sparse, though I’m sure Matthew and Greg will step into the breach.

For those of you expecting books with hand-drawn cats and autographs, please be patient until I return from the UK at the end of November when, I hope, Obama will have been elected.

23 Comments

  1. gravelinspector
    Posted October 22, 2012 at 2:30 pm | Permalink

    Where are you going to in Scotland?

    • whyevolutionistrue
      Posted October 22, 2012 at 2:31 pm | Permalink

      E’burgh and Glasgow; the former an anti-theology talk, the latter a talk about my book.

      • Peter Wardley-Repen
        Posted October 22, 2012 at 2:59 pm | Permalink

        Not veering down towards Birmingham, by any chance…?

        Have a good time in Scotland, anyway – recently visited Edinburgh for the first time and had a blast. One of the most civilised cities I’ve ever been to – and the National Museum of Scotland is a wonder.

        • moleatthecounter
          Posted October 22, 2012 at 4:04 pm | Permalink

          Civilised, yes, but Jerry will still need a translator!

          • Billy
            Posted October 23, 2012 at 12:11 pm | Permalink

            Don’t forget to try the deep fried mars bars 🙂

      • MKray
        Posted October 23, 2012 at 5:04 am | Permalink

        There must be (should be) plaques or other things in E’burgh memorilizing James Hutton who, inter alia, said the world was older than 6000 years… without the benefit of radioactive dating.

        • Billy
          Posted October 23, 2012 at 12:08 pm | Permalink

          There is Agaziz rock and the unconformity at Siccar point (although this is much further down the coast, but well worth a visit. You even see fragments of eroded bedrock in the boundary layer, to further mock YEC claims that the rocks were soft when tilted.
          Hopefully I’ll get to see Jerry’s talk in Glasgow.
          If you are hanging about for a bit Jerry, I’ll happily recomend some good walks or scrambles for you via email

      • gravelinspector
        Posted October 23, 2012 at 6:08 am | Permalink

        The Glasgow event I think I’ve found – Monday 26th Nov, for the “Glasgow Sceptics” :

        Glasgow Skeptics is a grassroots, not-for-profit organisation committed to promoting science, critical thinking, and freedom of expression. We host fortnightly public understanding talks, in the informal environment of a Glasgow city centre pub.

        Is that right?
        The Edinburgh event … I’m getting caught up on your 2009 Book Festival appearance with Nick Lane. 21/08/2009. The Edinburgh Humanists don’t have their events section going beyond 6th November.

        • gravelinspector
          Posted October 23, 2012 at 6:10 am | Permalink

          Link didn’t link.
          Try again.
          Link to Glasgow event (?)

          • HaggisForBrains
            Posted October 24, 2012 at 2:22 am | Permalink

            Glasgow Skeptics, The Admiral Bar
            72a Waterloo Street, G2 7DA Glasgow, at 19.00 for 19.30, Monday 26 November.

        • HaggisForBrains
          Posted October 23, 2012 at 10:06 am | Permalink

          Info on the Edinburgh (pronounced Edinburu, for Americans :-))gig here: http://www.facebook.com/events/306376286136456/

          I intend to be there, and am looking forward to it.

          I saw PZ at a Glasgow Skeptics event last year – well worth the four hour round trip. It’s been said before, but he really is a pussycat, in spite of his predilection for cephalopods.

          Jerry, I’ll have my copy of WEIT with me, please will you sign it?

          Cheers,

          Colin.

          PS I definitely prefer cats!

          • whyevolutionistrue
            Posted October 23, 2012 at 1:17 pm | Permalink

            Yes, of course I’ll sign it. I’ve never refused to sign a book.

            And if you’re nice I’ll draw a cat in it!

            • HaggisForBrains
              Posted October 24, 2012 at 2:28 am | Permalink

              See you at the bar!

  2. Posted October 22, 2012 at 2:33 pm | Permalink

    Don’t miss in Mexico City some tacos at the Farolito and a great Mexican dinner at El Bajio. They will both be great experiences.

  3. Posted October 22, 2012 at 2:38 pm | Permalink

    May the TSA be gentle when they conduct your cavity searches….

    But I can’t help but notice: you’ll be out of the country on election day. One hopes you’ve already cast an early ballot…?

    b&

  4. E.A. Blair
    Posted October 22, 2012 at 2:47 pm | Permalink

    Don’t forget that Stockbridge is also the site of the infamous Alice’s Restaurant Massacree.

    • jwthomas
      Posted October 22, 2012 at 5:49 pm | Permalink

      And I believe Jonathan Edwards delivered his “Sinners in the Hands of an Angry God” sermon there. Stockbridge, that is, not Alice’s Restaurant.

    • gravelinspector
      Posted October 23, 2012 at 5:41 am | Permalink

      Is that the “Alice’s Restaurant”, of the song? In which case, who ordered THAT?
      (Someone of my acquaintance made a disparaging joke about that song recently, but apart from the ear-worm, I wasn’t aware that it had a real-world reference. […] OIC
      Actually, that’s quite funny. In a bureaucratic sort of way.

  5. jwthomas
    Posted October 22, 2012 at 5:45 pm | Permalink

    The “Moving Naturalism Forward” conference may be small, but from the list of conferees I saw on another site it will be include quite a number of distinguished participants. I’ll be looking forward to the promised video but I hope Jerry will have an opportunity to post here from the conference and provide photos of the food 🙂

  6. James
    Posted October 22, 2012 at 9:23 pm | Permalink

    Mr. Coyne! I’d like to attend your conference in mexico city. I’m a huge fan, and your book is one of my favorites. It will be a massive bus trip for me to get there (I’m teaching down here), so is there any chance I’d be able to get a picture and an autograph?

    • whyevolutionistrue
      Posted October 23, 2012 at 3:00 am | Permalink

      Yes, of course. Just see me before my talk (it would probably be easier then). I suppose I’ll be sitting down front.

      • James
        Posted October 23, 2012 at 10:06 pm | Permalink

        Ok that’s great! I’ll try my best to come. I’m gonna bring one of my students who is still learning english but she’s an atheist and a chemical engineer. Do we have register online or can we just show up? Maybe you don’t have that info…


