My rodential offspring: name him

I’ve seen only one young squirrel in this year’s crop, but I’m sure this one’s mine—that is, I am sure that, by feeding his mom copiously, I helped bring him into being. What pride!

And, today I verified that it’s a male, for he stood up while eating a peanut, and, sure enough, he had a penis.  So, I’m asking readers what I should call him. I’m sure he’ll be around for a while, for, as you can see, he’s in very good shape.  Here he is drinking water and nomming his seeds (he went for the birdseed, too):

115 Comments

  1. Ande
    Posted June 1, 2014 at 9:54 pm | Permalink

    How about Chew-Chew Charlie?

    Or Rock-a-Doodle-Doo?

    Or maybe Ratatosk / Ratatoskr, the squirrel who scampers up and down the tree Yggdrasil in order to spread gossip?

    Miko / Meeko / Mikew (lots of spelling variants) who, according to Abenaki and other folklore, was once a huge predator like a bear or wolf. He had to be shrunken down to his current size so that he would no longer be such a threat to humans.

    Anikwa – the Illini tribe’s word for squirrel. Maybe he’s related to Anikwa Skywalker. Don’t let him go over to the Dark Side. He might become Darth Invader of Noms.

    I like the Earl Grey Squirrel suggestion, too!

    Ande

    • Torbjörn Larsson, OM
      Posted June 2, 2014 at 12:06 am | Permalink

      Ratatosk is good! I think I need to reread the myths. How could I forget The Gossipy One!?

  2. Adrian Johnson
    Posted June 2, 2014 at 12:12 am | Permalink

    Tyrol.

  3. Posted June 2, 2014 at 1:37 am | Permalink

    Nigel. Stig. Prentis. Clive. Talfryn. Cedric. Dermot. Cyril. Giles. Biggles…

  4. David Duncan
    Posted June 2, 2014 at 2:12 am | Permalink

    MUNCHer, after what he’s obviously good at and one of my favourite painters.

  5. mrclaw69
    Posted June 2, 2014 at 2:27 am | Permalink

    How about Partario?

    …or Imhotep?

    …or Lord Scotland?

  6. Lurker111
    Posted June 2, 2014 at 4:34 am | Permalink

    Your comment on feeding the mom reminds me of what I call the (in-shell) peanuts that we buy for our critters: squirrel larvae.

  7. Posted June 2, 2014 at 4:58 am | Permalink

    I think he looks like a little Jupiter…

  8. Alex
    Posted June 2, 2014 at 5:31 am | Permalink

    George Bushy?


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 27,053 other followers

