Still moar Joni

Don’t expect intellectual fireworks today; if you knew what’s on my plate, you’d be grateful just for pictures of cats.

To finish off the week, here are three of my favorite Joni Mitchell songs, all from the “For the Roses” album, and all, to my mind, underappreciated compared to her other songs. They’re all cuts from the album, for I couldn’t find any suitable live versions.

You hardly ever hear this one, but “Electricity” is a great song, fantastically inventive:

I know very little about “Blonde in the Bleachers,” but I suspect it was written about Stephen Stills, who happens to be playing the piano on this track (I’m not 100% sure of that, but , the style of playing is Stills’s, and he’s given instrumental credit for “rock and roll band” on that track, which may well mean that he’s playing every instrument, something he’s perfectly capable of doing (as on this track).*

“Woman of Heart and Mind” is simply a gorgeous song, and her voice on this one gives me the shivers:

And, if you have 90 minutes to spare, here’s a documentary about Mitchell’s life, “Woman of Heart and Mind,” made in 2003:

___________

*If I could trade places with one male rock and roller in the history of the genre, it would probably be Stills. Superb on guitar, a great songwriter, a perfect blues voice, and perhaps the handsomest of all rock stars when he was young.

8 Comments

  1. Ry
    Posted April 25, 2014 at 11:35 am | Permalink

    I loved the Joni posts. Thanks for sharing these.

    When I was fourteen I bought a copy of “Miles of Aisles” for my mother, and she showed me the back and said that “The Last Time I Saw Richard,” was about my dad.

    Turns out he knew Joni in 1968 in Detroit when they lived in the same apartment complex.

    I asked him if it was really about him, and all he would say was, “Yep,” and kept mowing the lawn.

    Love your blog,

    Ry

    • JBlilie
      Posted April 25, 2014 at 12:35 pm | Permalink

      Cool story about Last Time. Miles of Aisles is my favorite of her records and one of the best live albums, period.

  2. JonLynnHarvey
    Posted April 25, 2014 at 12:23 pm | Permalink

    I liked the way that JM in addition to a “Hits” album had a “Misses” album of songs that didn’t do well but she still thought were great.

    None of these are on it, so maybe on a “Misses…Volume 2″

  3. JBlilie
    Posted April 25, 2014 at 12:34 pm | Permalink

    Agreed on Stills sir. He was/is amazing.

  4. Posted April 25, 2014 at 12:47 pm | Permalink

    all, to my mind, underappreciated compared to her other songs

    A while back, Mitchell issued a pair of compilation albums, Hits and Misses, the latter collecting those songs she herself thought had been given too little attention. They’re both great collections, but Misses is far and away the better of the two.

    Oh! Just noticed that JonLynnHarvey has pre-empted the first part of that para.

  5. Posted April 25, 2014 at 1:51 pm | Permalink

    Don’t expect intellectual fireworks today; if you knew what’s on my plate, you’d be grateful just for pictures of cats.

    Pictures of cats would be acceptable. So, where are they?

    b&

  6. Vikki
    Posted April 25, 2014 at 9:47 pm | Permalink

    Love Joni… and to my mind, most of her stuff is under appreciated. She’s probably one of the most talented musicians of her time.

    Blond in the Bleachers is about groupies. I believe it had to do with one, or more, of them throwing themselves at band members.

    Here’s a link to a really excellent interview that Jian Ghomeshi did with her on Q Radio last year. It’s in three parts. She almost never does interviews, and in this one she is very peckish at times…total Joni.
    http://www.cbc.ca/player/Shows/Shows/Q+with+Jian+Ghomeshi/Joni+Mitchell/

  7. qo
    Posted April 28, 2014 at 9:04 pm | Permalink

    For us Atheists, Joni’s Tax Free from Dog Eat Dog should be required listening. Wonderful imagery and absolutely cutting lyrics.


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 27,074 other followers

