Friday: Hili dialogue

It’s Friday—which seat can you take?

My talks in Davis are over now, and went well, I think. It was bittersweet to me that yesterday I gave what was almost certainly the last pure research talk of my career, but at least it was at Davis before many of my old friends. I have one more day of one-on-one meetings with scientists, and then tomorrow I’ll be free in Davis for Picnic Day, a renowned and annual campus celebration that includes something I love: the dachshund races. The sight of a pack of wiener d*gs racing at top speed down a track, tiny legs a blur, and, finally, bashing into hay bales, is hilarious:

Screen shot 2014-04-11 at 6.19.53 AM

There are many other demonstrations and events. When I was here as a postdoc in the early 80s, they used to display a “vegetarian cat” in a cage: a sad-looking tabby whose diet included no meat, as well as a fistulated cow whose innards you could inspect through a hole. I suspect those exhibits are long gone.

But on to Hili, who wouldn’t appreciate such shenanigans:

A: This is my armchair!
Hili: So what?

15161_10203130030678956_2338483507726143180_n

In Polish:
Ja: To jest mój fotel!
Hili: No to co?

 

 

12 Comments

  1. Hempenstein
    Posted April 11, 2014 at 6:38 am | Permalink

    Nice to see some dogs! Digging thru several layers from the Picnic Day link, I find:

    The UC Davis School of Veterinary Medicine Doxie Derby is a 30+ year tradition that is hosted annually during Picnic Day by the second year veterinary students.

    I wonder how it got started?

  2. Diana MacPherson
    Posted April 11, 2014 at 6:47 am | Permalink

    OMG those dachshunds look so cute! We have family friends in NZ that always has a couple long haired dachsunds and they will sneak into the guest room to see me in the morning. :)

  3. gravityfly
    Posted April 11, 2014 at 6:54 am | Permalink

    I hope that wasn’t your last research talk, Professor. :)

  4. AKS
    Posted April 11, 2014 at 6:59 am | Permalink

    At Cornell the vet school, too, had a fistulated cow and a day on which she was open for viewing. I think that tradition of a viewing still persists.

  5. Posted April 11, 2014 at 7:16 am | Permalink

    Mayhem has the same attitude about my chair

    Date: Fri, 11 Apr 2014 13:31:48 +0000 To: t_aid@hotmail.com

  6. marshallpoole
    Posted April 11, 2014 at 7:33 am | Permalink

    “last pure research talk of my career” sounds awfully final. Don’t want to pry, but have you announced something?

    • Diane G.
      Posted April 12, 2014 at 1:00 am | Permalink

      Yes, I was wondering about that too. But I have a lot of posts to catch up on…I’ve probably missed something.

      • Diane G.
        Posted April 12, 2014 at 1:00 am | Permalink

        and sub…

    • Posted April 13, 2014 at 3:48 am | Permalink

      Jerry mentioned in passing a week or so ago that he was nearing retirement.

      • Diane G.
        Posted April 13, 2014 at 10:52 am | Permalink

        Well, “emeritus” has a distinguished ring to it. And we’ll still keep him busy here!

        Isn’t Dawkins also officially retired? Just more time for everything else on their full plates.

  7. Posted April 11, 2014 at 8:55 am | Permalink

    Jerry, you like d-gs races? :D

  8. cornbread_r2
    Posted April 11, 2014 at 9:11 am | Permalink

    We had a mini dachshund and that little bugger was absolutely fearless — about what you’d expect from a d*g bred to crawl into tunnels to attack *badgers* — IN THEIR OWN HOMES!

    Watching him leap over mighty three inch high mounds of dirt was always a highlight of any walk with Willie.


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 28,638 other followers

